We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luck was on our side” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taberna Luque

Taberna Luque
Ranked #1 of 846 Restaurants in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Luck was on our side”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were lucky enough to stumble across this wonderful little restaurant while strolling the streets of Cordoba. Call us snobs but we try to avoid places that have numerous pictures of their meals or menus in a dozen languages.
As many of the reviews mention Antonio is wonderful helping with the menu even though he doesn't speak English. The food was tasty and the wine Antonio suggested was excellent. All in all a very enjoyable night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank richmondfontaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,836
    294
    38
    13
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Do not miss this restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is one of those great dining experiences that puts British "Pub Grub," fancy and overcomplicated "fusion" recipes firmly in their place! Only when I came to write this review did I realise that I had already seen the reviews on Trip Advisor but not written down the name of the restaurant. We walked by the restaurant at 8.30 p.m. and all the tables were full but the owner offered to reserve us a table for fifteen minutes time - he spoke in Spanish, we in English but we seemed to communicate very well. We wandered around town for twenty minutes and decided to wait a further fifteen as the tables were still full and no-one seemed to want to leave. It was worth the wait.....
The sheer charm of Tony (or Luque as we referred to him until reading the reviews......) is an example that should be demonstrated on all sales training courses. The man is a genius at making you feel welcome without being intrusive. After superb complimentary olives and cheese (substituted for the salami which we don't eat) we shared a gazpacho which was light on the garlic and refreshing to the palate. For the main course I had the fried cod (arguably the best fried fish since that which my mother used to make.....) with peppers and my wife had the veal - cooked medium but looked rather rare - degrees of cooking meat tend to get lost in translation between countries. No matter, she happily cleaned the plate. Dessert was another shared experience - a chocolate cake that melted in the mouth without being over sweet. Throw in a couple of cups of tea and two glasses of wine and the bill didn't even make it to 40 Euros. Muchos Gracias!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nativelondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Gracias Antonio y Maria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I found this restaurant on the web, Tripadvisor. We had breakfast and supper on the same day. Firstly, there may be other places that would cook as good as or better than this place, however there seems to be nobody to beat Antonio's enthusiasm. For breakfast, we had potato omelet and scrambled egg with spinach, mushroom, salmon and pine nuts. Both of them were well done. Bread was fresh from oven. For dinner, we had gazpacho, a cordoba special made with dough and hamon iberico and a veal meal (i don't remember the name). We drank rose wine and sangria. Everything was tasteful. We finished meal with cordoba cake and liqor (probably made from or treated with fig). Check was 39 euro. I put Cafe Taberna el Chef to the top of my restaurant list.
PS: i strongly suggest you to make reservation for supper, especially for outside table.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank erkanyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The food is excellent but it's all about Tony”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

The food is excellent and a good value. The place is small so make a reservation for dinner to avoid disappointment. When we scoped the place out--when it was closed--before we returned the next day, we thought the restaurant had moved because the sign says Luque--Tony will explain how that works [in Spanish]. Speaking of Tony, he's got to be one of the sweetest, most charming waiters I have ever met. It's worth going just to meet Tony.

We preferred to sit outside where the people-watching is excellent. Between that and the food, it all made for a memorable evening.

Location is a one minute walk from the Mezquita.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tuscaneed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The service here was superb. Señor Luque brought us complimentary tastings of olives, local olive oil and biscuits. The food we ate (tapas - salmojero highly recommended) was delicious and the bathrooms spotless! A pleasant place to sit on a quiet street.
So walk a little way from the Mezquita and stop here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diaper72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna Luque also viewed

Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
 
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
 

Been to Taberna Luque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing