We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice room”
Review of Hostal Azahar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Azahar
Ranked #3 of 39 Cordoba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We arrived in Cordoba after a scenic and long drive from Madrid with stops in Toledo and Consuegra. The center of the city by the mezquita is blocked off to cars. To add to the confusion you need to realize that the cathedral and mezquita are the same building and sometimes directional signs would say one or the other. Also the Roman bridge was under construction so it took us a little while to find our hotel. The staff was good but a little hit or miss. Some of them were really friendly while others were blank in their expressions. The location is amazing and the rooms are great. We spent 2 nights and only spent $118 for two nights but $40 additional to store our car for two nights. It was great seeing a rainstorm pour water off the mezquita and this was another great stop in Spain.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jandtpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Azahar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 284 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at Hostal Posada los Alcazares for one night with my husband and three of our children (ages 16, 14, 11). We had two rooms, a double and triple (additional bed brought in that crowded the room but worked well enough for the children). Our room was large with a private terrace, the bathroom was huge with a great shower and AC worked well in both rooms. The staff was very nice and helpful. The wifi worked very well and was free. There is a wonderful place for breakfast just across the street from the hostal and the woman at the cafe was very tolerant of our poor attempts to speak Spanish. The location is fantastic, very central next to the Mosque. This was my favorite hotel of our entire trip and we stayed at some very lovely places.
We were very happy with our stay at Hostal Posada los Alcazares and we would highly recommend this hostal to anyone planning to visit Cordoba.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank JRMTR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I am on my second week of travel in Spain with my wife and two daughters. It is hot here 45C or 113 deg F. We arrived in Cordoba hot and tired and a little grouchy. But when arrived at the hotel everything changed. The location is great - right next to th cathedral and the roman bridge. We have great rooms; one has a private patio where I am writing this review with free wifi. The owner is so friendlynand gives the best advice as to where to go, where to eat, and the best times to visit things. I feel like I am visiting a friends family.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KingofLoyalty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

This hotel is simply fantastic. I gave it 5 stars for the following reasons: 1. Location. There is no better location in Cordoba, period! 2. Cleaningness. Spotless. 3. Staff. Really nice and helpfull. 4. Rooms. Comphy, clean, large, tv, air conditioning, good shower, quiet and with internet wireless access. 5. Price. 50 Euro for a couple. 6. Hotel. It's a little gem, right in the heart of the old city, across the street from the Cathedral, 2 minutes from the bridge, 1 minute from the cafes and restaurants, beautifully decorated with flowers and paintings, clean, comphy, quiet and spacefull. What else can you ask for! Take my word: Book it now!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank celsocg87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Posada, but wished we had not worried about street noise when booking our room. After reading several reviews here which mentioned street noise from the nicer rooms which have views toward the Mesquita, we booked one of the inside rooms. Boy, was that ever a mistake! Our room was about the size of a normal walk-in closet! Barely big enough for the double bed, a bedside table and a 12 inch wide wardrobe. The bath was very nicely decorated, but barely big enough to enter, turn around and close the door. Thank heavens, my husband and I are small people. The one thing that was really ridiculous, that we have never seen anywhere else, was the use of a "uni-pillow", that is, there was only one pillow the width of the double bed for both of us to share. Now really, who wants to share a pillow with anyone and try to toss and turn at the same time?!

Other than having basically no room to unpack anything, we found the Posada a nice place to stay; the hospitality of the staff was genuine (even though the woman speaks no English, we could communicate with use of our phrase book). The courtyards are very lovely, very Spanish, and the location can't be beat. Great places to pop out for a quick breakfast right across the street.

Just remember to ask for the large rooms with a view and you will be happy!

Room Tip: Do not ask for an inside room!
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanapapa-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

If one is to go Cordoba, why bother staying in a large hotel when one can stay in a genuine hostal, right opposite one of the most amazing buildings in the world! The rooms are neat, functional and have lovely little courtyards outside of them. They are also well airconditioned and everything is neat and tidy too. For 40 euros a night for a singles room, it is a bargain! It also has free wi-fi, although connection seemed a little inconsistent.

It is also right next to some nice little tapas bars as well as the most amazing Hammam. For 49 Euros, it is certainly the best experience once can have, especially to escape the heat of the day. Would have no hesitation returning to Hostal Posada Los Alcazares.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottyr1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this great Hostal for 2 nights.
It was perfect, across the road from the famous Mesquita.
We had the "Special Room" which has an enormous verandah looking staight over the Mesquita. It was very clean and had an extremely comfortable king size bed. No luxuries but everything we wanted. Very helpful staff, they speak a little english, (far more than I speak Spanish!).
Although it is on a busyish corner, noise was never an issue.
If I came to Cordoba I would definately book this Hostal again great value.

Room Tip: Book the 'Special Room
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winelover55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Carpe Diem
0.2 mi away
Las Casas de La Juderia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eurostars Conquistador
Eurostars Conquistador
#18 of 65 in Cordoba
1,687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Maimonides
Eurostars Maimonides
#21 of 65 in Cordoba
1,308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hacienda Posada de Vallina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Azahar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Azahar

Address: Calle Corregidor Luis de La Cerda 68, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cordoba
Price Range: $50 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Azahar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Azahar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing