We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay ....great help from hotel with illness”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maestre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maestre
Ranked #19 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
cincinnati ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay ....great help from hotel with illness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Good location. Very close to major sights.....In the old part of town. Easy walk to everything you want to see in Cordoba.
Wi Fi didn't work in room. Had to go to lobby to connect but not that big of a deal. We were there for 4 days. Staff was extremely helpful...we needed some things printed out and they were happy to help us out.
Breakfast was good, lots of variety of things to select from.
I was sick with tonsillitis and decided I needed to see a Dr. Had no idea how I was going to do this in a foreign country. Went to the front desk. Receptionist said, "Oh, we will call the Dr for you. He will come to your room in 20 minutes. " Being from the States, I was overwhelmed. I then asked how I should pay and she said, "Oh the hotel has insurance, we pay for it". Again, Overwhelmed. She said, "Go back to your room and rest, he'll be here in 20 mins.". Sure enough in 20 mins a Dr knocked at the door, examined my throat, wrote a script! WOW.
I don't know if ALL hotels do this, but this was very nice for someone who felt ill and was in a strange country.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pato9779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    325
    95
    14
    21
See reviews for
160
291
47
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

My wife, daughter and I stayed at the Hostal Maestro, the next-door budget sister of the Hotel Maestro. The person who checked us in was professional if a little distracted. Parking was full, which could easily have been a nightmare had we not lucked out on a tiny street slot into which we could barely fit our tiny Seat sedan. The room was large and clean but very dark. Breakfast was poor, we ended up going out for breakfast. However, the price was low and the location was fantastic, just a block from the river and within five minutes of hundreds of shops and eateries and the fantastic Mezquita Mosque-Cathedral (a must-see). All in all, I would recommend this place and I would probably stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pcumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Hotel Maestre is a budget hotel. As we were travelling as a family we had used TripAdvisor for our choice. The room we choose was an apartment with enought beds to sleep 7-8 people. It had a small bathroom and kitchen. The lounge area was also the dining area. It was modest but clean and certainly met our requirements. We were fortunatie to be in Apt 7 which has an outside patio with a light well in the centre. If you want luxury accommodation choose a different hotel. It is however charming with its internal courtyards and rustic Spanish flavour plus aircontitioned. The WIFI is limited but we found that early morning and late evening were best for our emails! The Hotel Maestre is on the corner and down the Barros lane is the Hostal where breakfast is served. For the really budget minded this would be ideal with its authentic courtyard and tiling. I did not see the rooms but there was a large American school group staying here so I presumed it was adequate! Breakfast is limited. But it was only 5 euro. More of a Spanish breakfast with small portions of omelette and jamon, toast and yoghurt plus a few cheeses. Coffee and Tea on request! If you enjoy a large breakfast I would venture down to one of the numerous cafe's in the square or down near the river. For location it was amazing. We had travelled to see the Mezquita and the Patio Feria. We only had to walk 5 mins to the old mosque and the Patio's openings were just around the corner. The Fesitival of the Patios in May is a must for any traveller. The inner courtyards of Cordoba are opened to the public for only 2 weeks and are exceptional. There is a map with the districts and the Judia Quarter is dynamite!! Overall we were pleased with the Hotel Maestre, for location, budget accommodation and staff. The carpark is a little hairy but this is a very very old town and to have a carpark is just wonderful. Cost is 10 euro per night.

Room Tip: Driving to Hotel Maestre is a little bit of a nightmare due to all the one way streets but we got th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerrywithaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Just spent one night at Maestre. Our room (number 4) was large but rather dark and had no outside windows. The car park is a nightmare. The breakfast was poor quality. Not really very impressive.
The coffee was awful, the orange juice watered down and the wifi did not work.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davestat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here as part of an Explore group. Excellent quiet position and choice of hotel, characterful hostal or well appointed apartments. Friendly, helpful staff and reasonable breakfast. We enjoyed a very comfortable stay in the spacious well equipped apartments and breakfasted in the quaint hostal overlooking the inner courtyard.
Ten minutes max to old shopping Mesquita,Alcazar and scenic bridge over the river.
Loved Cordoba.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camper6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

I had 2 good nights here. My room was not in a noisy area. It had an individual A/C and a nice en-suite bathroom which was very clean. The hotel has a nice lounge space and patio. Wi-fi was free but dropped out occasionally. Breakfast for the hotel is next door in the hostel (be careful here as the hotel and hostel are both jointly owned and named the same) and has a reasonable selection. The hotel was easy to find and is near the river in the old town. Price was excellent value for money. I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We ended up in an apartment facing a little square, and loved the two nights we spent here. Nice and roomy, and it didn't cost much more than the usual hostal or hotel elsewhere in the city or in much of Spain. It was really pleasant to have the sitting room as opposed to just having a bedroom! We could actually sit comfortably and relax :-)

Service was decent but not spectacular, but that was fine with us. We had a car and ended up having to park it at a lot a couple of blocks away, and ferrying the lot key back and forth was a little awkward, but the parking rate at 10E/day was reasonable compared to other places.

Only minor gripe was that the bed was a little old and we could feel the springs a bit. We would definitely stay here again, and I highly recommend the apartment option over the hotel or hostal rooms!

Room Tip: Pick an apartment instead of a room in the hostal or hotel. Try for a higher floor for more quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ModusOperandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Patios De Cordoba
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Carpe Diem
0.4 mi away
Las Casas de La Juderia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
0.5 mi away
Hesperia Cordoba
Hesperia Cordoba
#13 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mezquita
Hotel Mezquita
#30 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maestre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maestre

Property: Maestre
Address: Calle Romero Barros 4-6, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cordoba
#11 Family Hotel in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Maestre 1*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maestre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maestre Hotel Cordoba
Maestre Hotel córdoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing