We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Archealogy”

Museo Arqueologico de Cordoba
Ranked #11 of 135 things to do in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: September 16 to June 15: Tuesday to Saturday: from 9,00 to 20,30 hours. Sundays and festive of opening: from 9,00 to 15,30 hours. Monday closed (excluded holidays). June 16 to September 15: Tuesday to Sunday and festive: from 9,00 to 15,30 hours. Monday closed (excluded holidays).
California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing Archealogy”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

In September 2012, my husband and I were meandering in the old section of Cordoba, using our guide book to locate places of interest to us. We stopped in a plaza for beverages and noticed the amazing Archaeological Museum of Cordoba. Because of the time, we couldn't visit. Instead, we came back another day and were pleased that we did. The museum has many artifacts, which are arranged in a way that visitors can understand the way the city changed and learn about people who inhabited it over time. Beneath street level is a must-see. Not only more artifacts but a walk-through of a partially excavated amphitheater. Our visit to the museum was enlightening.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tapbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco187430, conservador at Museo Arqueologico de Cordoba, responded to this review, April 8, 2015
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión, todas ellas nos permiten mejorar; estamos en una instalación provisional pero muy bien organizada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    169
    45
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very interesting”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Really informative and interesting insight into cordoba and Andalusian history. At a price of nil a must do after the mosque.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank smoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco187430, conservador at Museo Arqueologico de Cordoba, responded to this review, May 11, 2015
Google Translation
gracias por su amable respuesta, le esperemos en próximas fechas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a very interesting museum built above Roman remains which you can also visit. Exhibits cover all periods from prehistoric through Roman and Moorish history on later with all exhibits labelled multilingual lay.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank womaninseat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco187430, conservador at Museo Arqueologico de Cordoba, responded to this review, May 24, 2015
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión, buen viaje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
105 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great museum”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

For my fellow barefooters: it was really cold at the time I was there, so I wore socks, and shoes to protect my socks. So I can’t say anything about that. And, the usual sentence: free entrance for EU-citizens like me while charging 1,50 € for non-EU citizens is not comprehensible and unfair.

I really enjoyed this museum, both the artifacts itself and the way they were presented. There are also some video screens providing some information about the artifacts. I would definitely recommend a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco187430, conservador at Museo Arqueologico de Cordoba, responded to this review, May 31, 2015
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión, todas nos interesan para ofrecerles los mejores servicios.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Extraodinary place”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Small museum, but lots of fascinating exhibits, and discovered to be on the site of the the Roman theatre.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Difusion187430, conservador at Museo Arqueologico de Cordoba, responded to this review, June 4, 2015
Google Translation
Así es de momento respondemos con este espacio mientras se rehabilita el palacio anexo. Un saludo y buen viaje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Arqueologico de Cordoba also viewed

 
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
 

Been to Museo Arqueologico de Cordoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing