We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's worth your time to be here...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mezquita Cathedral de Cordoba

Mezquita Cathedral de Cordoba
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.53*
and up
Historical Cordoba Guided Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 134 things to do in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Roman Catholic church that was once a mosque. Blending many architectural styles, the structure evolved over the centuries.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It's worth your time to be here...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

As I was based in Seville and time was limited, I got to spend only one day in Cordoba. I arrived here a little after 10am and there was already a long queue. But the stunning cathedral and mosque was worth the (pleasant) train ride from Seville. As this is a place of worship, I think one should be dressed appropriately. Like, maybe no short shorts? :p

Once you're inside the cathedral/mosque, take a slow walk but do spare some thought for the ppl who are there to offer prayers. It can get a little crowded especially at the mihrab area, therefore hold on tight to your cameras as everyone will be jostling to take a shot. Don't forget to go out to the garden where you'll find many orange trees and an area where the Muslims used to do their ablution before their prayers. Take a look at (what used to be) the drainage system in the garden - cool. If you're tired, there are benches for you to rest, drink and eat your sandwiches. You can enjoy the sun here too. Well, only if it's summer.

I personally think one's trip to Cordoba is incomplete until you've visited this place.

(Note to Muslim visitors: you are not allowed to pray in the cathedral/mosque. For food, there is a halal kebab stall outside the compounds of the building. It's along one of the small lanes. Do ask around)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank safelyours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16,773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14,427
    1,940
    307
    52
    47
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Get to Cordoba's Mezquita early”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

The Mezquita in Cordoba is truly beautiful - both inside and out. We got there at 8.30am during morning mass (before 10am it is free for individuals; after 10 I believe it's 8 euros). To visit before the crowds and during the choir service added to the experience. The interior is dimly lit - making photography challenging - but again I felt this added to the ambience. Cordoba itself is a stunning little town. Definitely recommend visiting it for at least one day/one night to see the Mezquita, stroll across the bridge in the evening with the rest of the locals - and if you have time, pop into the Medina Azahara - smallish ruins just outside of the town. We took the slight detour to Cordoba from Granada to Seville and we're so glad we made the choice to visit it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rach_444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Not only stunning in size but also has an interesting history of this mosque/cathedral. The wealth displayed in the traesures within it is amazing too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank villager51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“One of the kind Mosque / Cathedral in the world”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

After seeing Hagia Sophia in Istanbul , you tend to wonder the parallel very much.. If are into photography, and like to take photos inside the Mosque, make sure you take a tripod with you . Inside of the mosque is dark.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank OrlandoAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Main sight at Cordoba”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We spent a day at Cordoba on our way to Seville from Madrid. (You can leave your luggage at the train station lockers.) We found the Mesquite more impressive from the outside than the inside. There seemed to be quite a bit of ongoing restoration on the inside and the arches are really the only wow factor. Light was dim throughout the entire space. Cost around 8 euros per person for entry and an additional 3.50 euros for the audio guide which was not useful at all. Though they give you a map with the numbers marked for the audio guide sequence there is no physical marker at the location so it does get a bit confusing whether you are at the right spot for the audio. Eventually we just played the entire audio continuously while walking through the space.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mezquita Cathedral de Cordoba also viewed

Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
 
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
 

Been to Mezquita Cathedral de Cordoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing