We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly frayed round the edges!”
Review of Parador de Cordoba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador de Cordoba
Ranked #11 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here for three nights as two couples on a nine day trip round Andalucía. This Parador is quite a long way out of Cordoba and is situated high above the town in pleasant gardens with plenty of parking, some covered.
First impressions were good, reception staff were efficient and we were shown to rooms at the front of the hotel, (which we had reserved at extra cost) with balconies overlooking Cordoba. The views were beautiful, starting at the gardens and pool area and spreading out of the modern and then the older areas and finally to the country beyond. The pool was very welcoming and we found there to be more than enough sun chairs catering for the number of guests, with plenty of shade available under the trees and surrounding tall hedges. The pool itself is irregular in shape, a change from the rectangular versions normally found.
The rooms were fine, plenty of storage, large bathrooms, free safes, large comfortable beds with a choice of pillows and bed coverings. The hotel's public rooms are large and bright with the usual collection of huge sofas.
We had two meals in the restaurant, both on the external balcony adjoining the restaurant and all four of us commented on the quality of the food and the service by the maître d' and his colleagues. We have found Parador meals to vary in quality from place to place but these were some of the best we have had. We had a good variation of selections off both the menus between us and all were beautifully cooked and presented with aplomb. It was an excellent advertisement for Parador cuisine at it's best.
Unfortunately, the same could not be said for breakfast, usually a strong point at Paradores. It was as if the staff were surprised to see guests in the restaurant, with dishes running out and not being replaced, too few staff available for good service, and on one occasion cold coffee presented. It was a strange contrast to the excellent dinner and, to be fair to the general Parador experience, unusual. On closer inspection, the Parador is a little tired. Some of the furnishings need replacing, the decoration in the public areas needs updating, the sun shades in the pool area are falling to bits as are some of the sun beds and these points, combined with our breakfast experience, introduce a note of caution.
Cordoba however, is a great place to visit and the Parador is a good place to do it from. Whatever you do, do NOT miss the Mezquita. Any description you may have read cannot do this spectacular site justice. You have to go there. However, don't go in your car. The old town is a nightmare to drive round, (we tried, but only the once!) but access is easy by bus, 1 euro 50 from just outside the Parador, and taxi back, 9 euros for four.
Sort the breakfast out, (which may have been a problem only over our three days), have an updating programme put in place and this would be worth 5 on the ratings. It's just a bit frayed round the edges.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pansantander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (951)
There are newer reviews for Parador de Cordoba
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 951 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We managed to get a good deal for this hotel which made it fantastic value for money. I am not sure what regular rates would be but even so I really can't fault the hotel. Rooms were comfortable, clean and nice, staff were were very pleasant and accommodating, restaurant and bar prices reasonable, the gardens are beautiful and the pool and pool area are excellent, and the hotel in general has a relaxed feel. It isn't city centre but that's only a 15 minute ride and there is a regular bus service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MCGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Located just out of historic centre of city with a short 10 minute drive. Free hotel parking not the same for hotels in the city centre around the Mosque which was a good advantage. Pool large and very clean with plenty of beds. Rooms with good AC which is essential at this time of year in Cordoba. Breakfast excellent with a good choice. Would recommend as the place to stay if visiting Cordoba.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 776Michael1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We also had a bit of difficulty finding the parador but it was as we expected, a modern hotel with spectacular views. I use a rolling walker and at the entrance to the hotel required assistance as there is a lift instead of a ramp. We rejected the disabled access room because my wife wanted a bath and I wanted a room with a view. Unfortunately while we were at this parador my wife developed acute low back pain and we had to call the manager to help us arrange for a doctor to visit her in the room. We cannot speak highly enough of the help we were given. The manager, Juan, was extremely kind and the doctor he arranged came quickly and Juan helped with communication as we have a little Spanish but the doctor had no English. Our memories of the parador are therefore not usual, but we did find the room and views lovely and the staff extremely helpful at a time of our need.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jakmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel is in the North West of Cordoba but took us several wasted hours to find because it was not signposted on the road from Granada and our rented car did not have satnav. Nor was the hotel website at all helpful on what routes to take to circumnavigate the city to find the hotel.The attitude seemed to be "We are a Parador hotel - you find us, if you want to or don't bother, that's ok too.".
Reception was pleasant and efficient though not particularly welcoming. Room was spacious but overlooked the front car park area rather than the very nice gardens at the rear facing the town - only the more expensive rooms with balconies seemed to have the scenic view.
Breakfast choice was excellent if expensive but staff seemed unhelpful and appeared to speak no English at all.
There is a very pleasant orangery at the back worth a stroll around. The outdoor swimming pool seemed to be closed when we visited in May.
Taxi to the centre of the city cost about €10 and came quickly.

All in all, quite a nice hotel with large spacious public areas and gardens.

Room Tip: The best rooms overlooking the gardens and the town are the more expensive ones with balconies. Ther...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HarryOrden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

A very disappointing Parador, with little or no charm other than the view from the terrace. It also lacks proper customer service and attention to detail, no one helps with luggage, take long to answer calls at reception and take up to 30min to provide a charger. Slippers have to be requested, only one toothbrush in a double room and no kettle nor complimentary water, which should be a standard in 4* hotels.
Breakfast is excellent and well charged for. Would not recommend with the choice of hotels in the old city.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gullivertravels75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a disappointing parador beng neither ultra modern nor of architectural interest. The service was good at reception but the restaurant staff were not very friendly or helpful. The breakfast however is magnificent and people with special dietary problems are catered for.
The location is good because it is within a 10 minute bus ride of the centre a nightmare to park in. The bus stop is a few yards from the hotel ( bus number13) get off at the El Corte Ingles department store and walk the 150-200 metres to the Mesquita, river etc. Fare in May 2013 1 euro 20. The pool was not in operation while we were there and the grounds hardly worth mentioning. There is a supermarket nearby for picnic fare.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186262Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
2.1 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
0.6 mi away
Ayre Hotel Cordoba
Ayre Hotel Cordoba
#27 of 65 in Cordoba
966 reviews
2.2 mi away
Las Casas de La Juderia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Eurostars Palace
Eurostars Palace
#10 of 65 in Cordoba
2,434 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hospes Palacio del Bailio
1.6 mi away
Tryp Cordoba
Tryp Cordoba
#18 of 65 in Cordoba
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Cordoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Cordoba

Address: Avenida Arruzafa S/N, 14012 Cordoba, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cordoba
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cordoba
Price Range: $72 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Cordoba 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Parador de Cordoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Cordoba Hotel Cordoba
Parador De Cordoba córdoba
Parador De Cordoba Hotel córdoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing