We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good middle-up hotel close to main places”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Macia Alfaros
Ranked #29 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“good middle-up hotel close to main places”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

summary: within walk range to main place of the city, parking available for 17 EUR/day, good middle-up for correct price. SEE MY TIPS BELOW TO SAVE MONEY FOR VISITING!

things to know: we stayed 1 night for 52 EUR

plus:
+ : within walk range to many public places where you can eat well
+ : good hotel, clean, modern, nice bathroom
+ : for this price, it is good quality/price
=> it's a good and convenient hotel in city centre. I will stay there again

minus:
- : swimming pool but close early (20:30 p.m) when in June light and warm is available until late
- : parking is expensive (17 EUR/day but is safe)
- : staff is unpersonnal => nothing to complain but not warm

Take care with your car in Cordoba, it's terrible!

Room Tip: if you arrive before 9 am (minus 10 minutes => 8h50 latest, better arrive earlier), you can visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ehlstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    492
    242
    76
    36
See reviews for
226
515
28
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
167 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile



The hotel is older and not too attractive from the outside. However, the lobby is spacious, Spartan in appearance but nicely furnished. The rooms are comfortable, clean with very good A/C perhaps too good, the blankets in the closet were needed. I found the tub slippery the first time I showered but eventually found a paper tub mat hanging on the towel bar which helped. Shower water temp fluctuated from my preferred temp then run very hot or very cold. Water leaked under the shower partition onto the floor which would not have been a problem except that the floor drain was slightly raised and the water sat on the floor.
The pool area was very nice but small. Pool towels were not readily available when we visited.
WiFi available throughout the hotel; usually had two bars of signal. The corridors are a maze and very difficult to navigate if you lose your way. Elevators are very small and accommodate only two people at a time with luggage or four without.
Reception was very friendly and helpful. Price was excellent and included breakfast. The breakfast buffet was attractive, well stocked with typical Spanish food; meats, cheeses, breads, eggs, cereal, fruits and yogurts. The attendant was available if needed and she kept the buffet clean and replenished. Hot milk and tea were available as was coffee, which was self serve from a machine but of good quality.

The location is convenient to the old town, about a 10 minute walk to the Mosque and other attractions, i.e. the Roman bridge, Jewish Quarter. Due to the location of the hotel the price of the rooms are quite attractive. The walk is interesting as you can see much of the old town section. Lots of restaurants along the way as well as churches, museums etc.

I do not think I would book again, not because it is a bad place but because I feel we could do better next time.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezuela
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I thought this hotel was over priced. Rooms were not that clean and a bit old. I wouldn´t stay here again. The lobby service was great. They gave us a map, helped us with a cab, etc. Note that the hotel is in the center but the center is not the historical part. It´s not far but it´s different. It is a 15 -20 min walk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The bed is hard-soft so you should get any back problems while staying at the hotel. Our room was generally clean and nice but 1) no new shampoo except for the first day, 2) very limited toilet paper availble, 3) cleaning lady forgot to take the trash makes me want to give a low score. The rooms do not have a water boiler for boiling water for formula milk. The staff was very helpful about us bringing a baby and offered a baby cot. When we had a problem with getting to the hotel they refused to offer us any help nor call the police as "it was our mistake" and even they said "it is not the first time this happens". The location requires you to walk 15 min every time you want to get downtown to e.g., mosque but if you want to shop e.g., shooes then it is good located as it is in the opposite direction of downtown. Breakfast is very good - go for cafe largo

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lrni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here with my friends during August. The rooms were large and spacious, the hotel was quiet, and the pool area was quite nice. Staff were very helpful and offered to call a chiropractor for us & speak in Spanish. Good stay, would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgermain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very clean hotel and ideally located in the heart of the city, a few minutes walk from all attractions and the old city. We had a family room with my 7 year old daughter and there was plenty of space and the room was very clean. The picture of the pool makes it look bigger than it actually was but we didnt go to the city for a pool break so not a problem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worthygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just come back( 25 August )from this hotel, staff were excellent. Brilliant selection of food for breakfast. rooms were very clean unfortunately no tea or coffee facility in the room. Ideally situated in the centre of town.

Room Tip: Would use this hotel again
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendydibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Patios De Cordoba
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Center
Hotel Cordoba Center
#11 of 65 in Cordoba
1,623 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Cordoba
NH Cordoba
#12 of 65 in Cordoba
2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Palace
Eurostars Palace
#9 of 65 in Cordoba
2,327 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Conquistador
Eurostars Conquistador
#16 of 65 in Cordoba
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macia Alfaros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macia Alfaros

Property: Hotel Macia Alfaros
Address: Calle Alfaros 18, 14001 Cordoba, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Macia Alfaros 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Macia Alfaros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macia Alfaros Hotel
Macia Alfaros córdoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing