We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eurostars Conquistador
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely staff”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed one night in May during the Patio Competition. Found our way to the hotel fine using satnav. Car park is a bit hair raising, but our Renault Laguna made it! We phoned ahead to be told there were spaces. 12 euros a day for parking isn't bad for the location. Location was great, opp the Mezquita, perfect. Room was fine, if small, mini fridge, toiletries, wifi, but when we got back to our room after a late dinner, we found the a/c didn't work so we left window open. This would have been a real prob in high summer. On check out the receptionist told us they had been having problems with the a/c and apologised but as only staying one night.....! Breakfast was fine but at 9 euros a bit exp. there are lots of eating places close by. I left my earrings behind. Fortunately a friend was passing through and called in at the hotel who had found them!!!! Unbelievable but fantastic luck!!

Room Tip: Check a/c working!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    657
    289
    95
    38
See reviews for
340
782
49
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Superb location right across from the Mezquita, but very low staffing levels. We waited a long time to check in and out and to make enquiries, we were given scant information about the Patios Festival - simply a badly photocopied map. Reception staff were constantly distracted by telephone calls whilst dealing with guests who were standing in front of them!. Staffing at breakfast woefully inadequate, with tables not cleared and reset, glasses and crockery not restocked for self-service. Air conditioning couldn't cope with the heat; admittedly it was an unseasonal 35 degrees but this level of temperature is quite normal in summer months.
The hotel has such potential: its location cannot be bettered, it is clean and comfortable and it has a lovely open-air patio garden where meals can be enjoyed. It needs to invest in staffing and staff training. We found a booking at a very good price but if we'd paid full price we'd have been extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinnodaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for five nights during our third trip to Andalusia and can honestly say it was the worst hotel we've stayed in in Spain. The location is great, but there are far better hotels fewer than 5 minutes walk from the Mezquita. Patio was pretty, but because the hotel hosts weddings we were unable to use it for 2 of the evenings, and there is no other space for guests to use. When you are able to use the patio it's virtually impossible to get service. The air conditioning is only effective for a couple of hours each day - the rest of the time it was hotter indoors than outside (not fun at 35 degrees). Decor is dated for a 4* hotel. But worst of all was during our first evening another guest gained entry to our room and we were subsequently locked out. Fortunately we were in the room at the time but staff offered no explanation as to how this happened or how we came to be locked out a second time several days later. In short, the only thing this place has in it's favour is the location - everything else is poor.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent for the Mesquita as it's directly opposite and indeed the balcony in our room overlooked it. Staff were helpful and friendly, the rooms were compact but clean with good facilities including wifi. We especially liked the interior courtyard with fountain and turtle which was a haven of coolness from the temperatures outside and we enjoyed a very good meal there at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard if you want tranquility or overlooking the Mesquita if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had read the reviews good and bad of this hotel but we needed parking and wanted to be in the centre within walking distance of everything. It is right next door to the Mezquita and we had a small balcony that looked down it. The balcony was a great spot to watch the procession as it came by. We saw a night one with the candles and float which was great.
I had heard the rooms were small and so asked for a big room when we checked in. We ended up with two twin beds, which was not as originally requested but I am sure this is because they provided more space. The room was not huge but was OK. They had one rack for one of our large pieces of luggage and there was room for the other in the large closet so it all worked out quite well. The air conditioning worked OK which was great as it was really hot when we were there and we weren't conscious of the smell of smoke in our rooms but it sure was in the lobby and in the halls.
The beds were the most uncomfortable that we encountered in Spain and the wifi did not work very well. We were there for two days and mentioned this the young lady at the desk and she indicated that they never had any complaints about it before.
The desk staff were OK, not overly helpful but nothing to complain about. The staff in the restaurant appeared quite unfriendly. They gave the impression that we were ruining their day when we ordered lunch. We sat for quite a long time before they indicated that they saw us even though they were buzzing around us. I have to say this was pretty general for most places we stayed in Spain. It seemed however that we went for breakfast or stopped in for a drink late at night that the same people were always working and so perhaps that is why they didn't seem friendlier. Very long days at work it appeared.
The outside seating for breakfast and other meals in the garden areas was really beautiful and that and the location truly made this hotel a good choice. A little expensive for what we got I think but none the less a great location and a beautiful garden.

Room Tip: Rooms with two twin beds might provide a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spriglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I stayed for one night with my family and it was the worst experience. This is a 2 star hotel with 4 star prices. The staff is slow I wanted to ask a question and had to wait for 20 minutes for it to be answered. We got to our rooms and they were boiling hot and there was no possibility for a/c it smelt like cigarrette even though it was a non smoking room and when we complaint they sprayed a eucaliptus air freshner wich made everything worst. The sheets were dirty and had hairs and so did the shower. We were planning to stat an extra bught in cordoba but when we sae the conditions we decided to leave. We paid 150 euros a night for sleeping in dirty sheets and choking with cigarrete smoke. I would recomend you strongly not to book it, there are more hotels within the same well located area that even if they are the same they might cost less

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neltaschner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The hotel just next to the Mezquita and all other major spots. We went this April during semana santa and was given a room with balcony to view the procession. The staffs are friendly and willing to answer any question on travel. Rooms are clean, not very large but adequate.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Patios De Cordoba
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Palace
Eurostars Palace
#9 of 70 in Cordoba
2,261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eurostars Maimonides
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
0.2 mi away
Las Casas de La Juderia
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Center
Hotel Cordoba Center
#10 of 70 in Cordoba
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Conquistador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Conquistador

Property: Eurostars Conquistador
Address: Calle Magistral Gonzalez Frances 15-17 | 14003 Cordova, Spain, 14003 Cordoba, Spain (Formerly Hotel El Conquistador)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cordoba
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cordoba
#25 Family Hotel in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Conquistador 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented Hotel with old Cordoba styled architectural features; located in the center of the old Jewish quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Conquistador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Conquistador Hotel
El Conquistador córdoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing