We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eurostars Conquistador
Ranked #19 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Driving to the hotel can be quite a challenge as the roads are very narrow but it is quite easy to find once you have negotiated the road barrier into the old city. The hotel underground car park is quite steep but staff will help you if required.
We stayed here with friends for one night and although the hotel was very busy the staff were very friendly and efficient.
The bedrooms have air-con and are very comfortable - our bedroom faced onto an inside plaza with a very pretty garden which was lovely. Breakfast choice was excellent.
Location for the Mosque/Cathedral couldn't be better. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    694
    300
    103
    41
See reviews for
362
828
53
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

First of all, from what i read and personally experienced, for the same level of hotel and same amount of money you spend, European hotels generally are worse than their counterparts in America and Asia. For example, many things don't come standard, such as AC, internet and Safe box, just to name a few. In my ignorant personal opinion, you really need to adjust your expectations and do your research. That is why i am writing reviews here for my European trips, because trip advisor's reviews helped me a lot as far as selecting the right hotels.

I stayed here for 1 night in June.

Good:
1. You can't ask for a better location, right next to the main attraction of the town: the cathedral/mosque

2. Room and bathroom are clean and nice. Some english channel for TV. Wireless internet and AC works well. There is a safe in the room.

3. Receptionists speak good english. Courtyard is lovely.

4. For a 4 star hotel, the price is amazing.

Just 1 little complain, somehow, there was a huge moth flied into my room, no clue how since we didn't open the window.... that is the only reason i didn't give a 5 star rating for this hotel.

Nevertheless, I would still recommend this place. And I would definitely come back to this hotel again if I ever come to Cordoba again. Excellent choice in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewJerseyUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed for one night only on our tour of Spain, doing our own thing.
I've only rated 4 stars as we didn't eat there, despite wanting to - where were the staff? Perhaps they had got time off as we visited just after the Guitar Festival finished ? see below.....

We picked the hotel for it's location directly opposite the Mesqita. It really was in the heart of Cordoba Old Town. Brilliant location.
Negotiating the narrow streets was hectic even though we had a small hire car, VW Polo. Our Satnav seemed to direct us along some very very narrow streets ! I'm sure we came in the wrong way.
However once we got there, most things were within easy walking distance which was a bonus as it was 34 degrees that day.
Our room was clean and neat with windows opening out onto views of the Mesquita.
Decent spotlessly clean bathroom and clean white fluffy towels.
The only down side was we booked a family room with an extra bed and the room we were given was quite small for 3. It was more a double room with an extra bed pushed in rather than a family room.
Our son' s extra bed was comfy but the room overall was very small for a family room. It was a bit of a squish, but as it was only 1 night it didn't really matter.
We had driven up from Marbella area so hot and tired when we got there.
Despite being in the centre of Cordoba it was surprisingly quiet, we woke to the sound of lovely church bells and chirping birds with occasional delivery lorry noise in the morning.

We had a drink in the courtyard area when we arrived served by pleasant bar staff. It's a lovely courtyard filled with flowers but too hot to eat there in the evening as temperature still quite high.
Plenty of sofas to sit and read or have a drink inside if the heat was too much.
We got a bit lost coming back from our room as it is a maze of corridors and ended up in the conference hall area with the old walls and mosaics which was fab. We knew it was quite old but seeing the excavations first hand was a bonus.

We wanted to eat in the restaurant as the taster menu of tapas looked great but sadly we couldn't find any staff to help us and reception was busy, so after hanging around 5 minutes and failing to find barman again, we gave up and went out to Cordoba instead. A shame as we wanted to try the menu.
We didn't try breakfast - we didn't want much to eat and breakfast was set price at 27 euros for 3 - good value if you wanted a hearty breakfast, but not if you just want a croissant and coffee, so we headed in Cordoba itself and had breakfast sitting in local cafe nearby.
Reception staff very helpful, efficient and polite.
Parking under hotel which was great as nowhere to park on the old streets, we had to pay extra for this (@. 12 euros a night) but it was secure and covered so we thought it was worth paying.
Would go back again if we come this way as location brilliant. We would definitely spend a few more days next time as lots to do and see in Cordoba.

Room Tip: Try to book a room opposite the Mesquita.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winstoncat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Best location for sightseeing, right next to the cathedral and in the middle of the old town. Walk to everything, The hotel is a friendly, helpful, well run establishment. The breakfast bar had everything we wanted and more. The view from our window was the stunning wall of the cathedral, where brides were coming for their photos. In the eve. we ate dinner in the hotel courtyard and had one of the best meals we had while touring Spain. Give it two thumbs up! Corbova is an amazing place, a must see. The Roman Bridge, Alacazar, and old Jewish Quarter are all within easy walking distance. Stunning. If driving they have parking (which is at a premium there) and you have to take the bollard out of the narrow street, pass then put it back! Police also man these and will let you pass if you are staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Nothing can beat the location! Hotel is centrally located just across the street from the main Cordoba attraction, the mosque. Everything is on a walking distance which is really handy if you get tired and want to go back to the hotel to rest for a while. They have a beautiful shaded patio where one can have a drink and cool down in a hot summer day.
Hotel is quiet and clean. The only minus, if I want to be picky is a bath tub which has signs of aging, but nothing major.
Hotel has an underground parking garage but it is on the first come - first serve basis so you should plan to come early. Public parking is across the river which is pretty far a way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drago_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This Hotel is ideally situated to see all the sights of Cordoba as it is situated right by the walls of the Mezquita and the Juderia is just around the corner also not to be missed are the Alcazar Gardens. We did not eat in the hotel as you are spoilt for choice for good quality restaurants.
There is a modern city centre just a short walk away through the Juderia with good quality shops and al fresco dining. We would recommend a visit to Cordoba to anybody as the Mesquita is mind blowing and not to be missed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Itis hard to believe this place has an underground car park, next door to such an historic site !! We booked last minute and did not read the directions to the hotel, spent an hour driving up and down the tiny streets...our mistake.

Spotlessly clean, friendly staff. Not worth paying the extra to get a room overlooking the cathedral..a wall. Our room overlooked the hotel patio which was lovely. Beds a bit hard but comfy. Pillows.....pathetic specimens, sort of rectangular flat sausage. Requested another one but never got it.

Relaxing place to stay. Turtles in the water fountain seemed happy but got up speed if there were any kids about. Who can blame them!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank gliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Palace
Eurostars Palace
#9 of 65 in Cordoba
2,352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Patios De Cordoba
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Maimonides
Eurostars Maimonides
#21 of 65 in Cordoba
1,265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Casas de La Juderia
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Center
Hotel Cordoba Center
#12 of 65 in Cordoba
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Conquistador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Conquistador

Property: Eurostars Conquistador
Address: Calle Magistral Gonzalez Frances 15-17 | 14003 Cordova, Spain, 14003 Cordoba, Spain (Formerly Hotel El Conquistador)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cordoba
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cordoba
#25 Family Hotel in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Conquistador 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented Hotel with old Cordoba styled architectural features; located in the center of the old Jewish quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Eurostars Conquistador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Conquistador Hotel
El Conquistador córdoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing