We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you have a car. Chill out on a hot day!”
Review of Ayre Hotel Cordoba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ayre Hotel Cordoba
Ranked #26 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Fresno
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great if you have a car. Chill out on a hot day!”
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Cordoba in August is hot. REALLY HOT! It is therefore wonderful to have a hotel up on the hill, with a nice breeze, nice view, and a refreshing pool. And this is exactly what the Occidental offers.
The hotel is located about five minutes (by car) north of Cordoba’s center. Not a problem, because parking in Cordoba is much less of a challenge than in many other Spanish cities. So you can enjoy town, and then drive the short distance and enjoy a quick dip in the pool and the view from the large, well shaded, lawn at the hotel. Come evening, drive back to town for further exploration. Sure beats staying in a tiny, stifling room in downtown Cordoba.
Alas, don’t even thing about staying at the Occidental if you don’t have a car. There is nothing within walking distance, except for an affluent residential neighborhood.
The parking at the hotel is plentiful and free. The food, as many or the reviewers stated, is completely overpriced. But who cares – it’s five minutes to all the restaurants in town.
The rooms are large in European standards (quite small compared to American hotels) and the air conditioning effective. The lobby is impressive, and very clean.
The area and the hotel are very quite. A prefect venue for a good night sleep.
Bottom line: a perfect place if you have wheels. I will return if I am ever back in Cordoba.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FresnoSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    419
    160
    47
    20
See reviews for
229
451
16
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carvoeiro, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

not anylonger a 4 star Hotel.
The room was clean, good and comfortable. We were there for 1 night, I won´t stay no longer. Parking the car on Hotelarea was good. We took the bus Line 10 downtown.
Dinner at the Hotel o.k. Pipes from the bathrooms are loud, so we awake early in the morning when somebody took his shower. Not our neighbour, one of the other rooms in the area.
We had no breakfast next day in the Hotel, we went downtown and got a preety good breakfast for reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Algavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2008

Enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Occidental in Cordoba. Stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. Good breakfast, plenty of choice. Hotel quite busy with tours and conferences but no problem with amount of food on offer.

Helpful and friendly staff. Only problem appears to be that there is no soundproofing in the rooms.

The hotel is out of town but there is no problem if you don't want to use a car, there is a bus service three minutes walk from the hotel which comes every half hour or so and is 1 euro each way. We used the bus service while we were looking around Cordoba and left the car at the hotel.

I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff and cleanliness of hotel
  • Disliked — The tiny lifts and the lack of soundproofing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggst56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, VA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2008

Very poor service. All staff acted snobbish and like they were doing you a favor to permit you to stay there. Room airconditioning did not work and they said that was no problem because they thought it was not hot outside. Could not keep windows open because of equipment noise outside. Table in room was broken which they replaced promptly. Only one luggage rack in room and no place to put a second suitcase except on the floor, which is difficult for a 70+ lady. They said sorry and would not get another when requested. Staff spoke little English. Dining room menu in Spanish. Poor service for a late luncheon with poor quality food at high prices. Frankly, this is a place to avoid.

  • Liked — pretty
  • Disliked — snobbish, poor service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfmc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

The best thing about it was only £45 a night, but problems started as soon as we booked in.

We were given a card key to an already occupied room. Then a smaller room substituted. The guy on the desk just shrugged his shoulders.

The pool was freezing - even in 40C heat. The prices for food in the hotel are extortionate. They think £8 for a continental breakfast is a 'special offer'. The lunch and evening meal prices would not leave you any change out of £100 for two.

The hotel is at the farthest point from the motorway and involves negotiating the full venom of Cordoba's nightmarish and brutal one way system without signposts, which the Spanish seem to think unneccessary in cities.

Oh, on the last day free porn appeared on the TV..and they accused us of using their gold plated mini bar.

Avoid this place like the plague!

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank FamilyGuy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ex1
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

i've read some mixed reviews on this hotel, and after reading the one from an australian contributor was slightly apprehensive as to what to expect. however, my 3 night stay was a thoroughly enjoyable experience and i would gladly return here.
as has been said already the hotel is situated in a really good residential area of northern cordoba. the grounds are lovely, landscaped and quiet and with plenty free car parking.
the big draw for me when booking was the fact that the occidental had a swimming pool, i stayed here with my 3 year old daughter and knew that the temperatures in cordoba would be very high-they were in the 40s-and the large pool provided lots of cooling fun for all.
the room itself was massive, certainly the largest room i have stayed in with a huge double bed and a bathroom area comprising separate bath, shower and toilet.
the one thing that i did find disappointing was the restaurant. the hotel seemed to make a big thing of their outdoor restaurant "the paradillo" (i think it's called). i found the quality of the food to be no more than ordinary but very expensive indeed. we ate out in the city and had much much better food for a great deal less than we paid in the hotel.
regarding the distance from the centre of cordoba, well to be honest i found that one of the qualities of this place. we were in a peaceful and quiet location yet a 6 euro taxi ride would take you to the city, in fact we never waited more than 3 or 4 minutes after asking reception to get us a taxi, that was something i was pleasantly surprised at.

if you are happy using your hotel for relaxing by the pool during the day and then going out for dinner or visiting the city then you can do a lot worse than stay here.

  • Liked — the massive room and excellent pool and garden
  • Disliked — i wouldn't bother with dinner-eat out
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank freyas_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

The rooms have recently been renovated and are large and comfortable. The rest of the hotel's services are poor value and quality. I'd only select this hotel if all you plan on doing is sleep there.

There are absolutely no facilities for the handicapped, which is odd considering the recent renovation and that this is a chain of hotels.

The buffet breakfast at 12 Euros is a terrible deal. The scrambled eggs glisten, the bacon looks like it was boiled, and bored staff are slow to refill anything. I picked an orange off the fruit tray and it was so rotten it disintegrated in my hands. In the end our 12 Euros got us some coffee, toast and granola.

Internet access in the "Business Centre" (2 computers in a hallway) is expensive at 5 Euros for 30 minutes, laundry service costs more than the clothes cost (2.50 to wash a pair of socks!!!) They will not supply an iron, in fact they forbid the use of them but they will iron your clothes for you for an outrageous fee.

We liked the location of the hotel, up on the hill in a residential area, away from the hustle and bustle of downtown, but if you don't have a car it's a 7 Euro taxi ride downtown. If you do have a car, drive to the viewpoint at the top of the hill in the evening!

The hotel hosts lots of tour buses and conferences.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
2.5 mi away
Eurostars Palace
Eurostars Palace
#9 of 65 in Cordoba
2,352 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tryp Cordoba
Tryp Cordoba
#17 of 65 in Cordoba
1,059 reviews
2.7 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Las Adelfas
Eurostars Las Adelfas
#39 of 65 in Cordoba
515 reviews
2.6 mi away
Eurostars Patios De Cordoba
3.6 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#27 of 65 in Cordoba
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayre Hotel Cordoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayre Hotel Cordoba

Property: Ayre Hotel Cordoba
Address: Calle Poeta Alonso de Bonilla 3, 14012 Cordoba, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cordoba
#15 Family Hotel in Cordoba
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayre Hotel Cordoba 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel set in former Seminary in peaceful setting with landscaped, parklike grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Ayre Hotel Cordoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Cordoba córdoba
Occidental Cordoba Hotel córdoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing