We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 5 Star Gem”
Review of Hotel Don Paula

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Don Paula
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A 5 Star Gem”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We decided to book the DP after reading the reviews on TA. It was a good decision. This family run hotel is in a good location, close to the bus/train station, the Mesquita, plaza de las tendillas, shops and restaurants, but in a quiet side street. I requested and was allocated room 4, a quiet room overlooking a small courtyard. The modest sized room was clean with very comfortable beds and pillows, a small silent fridge containing water and juice - replenished daily - an en suite shower room with SOFT towels and low level central heating, needed on chilly January evenings and mornings. The family were charming, friendly and helpful. I would recommend the DP without question.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank maureen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    186
    23
    2
    1
See reviews for
104
420
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is a small, family-run hotel in an old-world style. Everything is spotless.simple, and straight-forward. There is no useless extravagance -- it has almost an ascetic feel to it. The beds are firm (which I like), the bathrooms are modern with plenty of hot water, and the wi-fi connection was the best we found in Spain. (It seems that there are separate routers on each floor.) The location is also great -- in a quiet neighborhood close to everything. 15-minute walk from the train station. The hosts were very helpful.
If you need a hotel room that is "cushy," this is probably not for you. However, if you want a hotel room that is convenient, clean, and excellent value, I highly recommend the Don Paula.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a bad room here -- the hotel is on a quiet little square without much traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank espaustx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were very impressed with this lovely little hotel and the family who ran it. Our room was fairly spacious, immaculately clean and quiet. It was wonderful to be so centrally located so we could go out and sight-see but pop back into the hotel if needed without getting too far away from the main attractions. We absolutely loved Cordoba...except for being caught off guard the evening of New Year's Eve when everything shut down (except for rather expensive all evening, all inclusive and rather dressy New Year's parties at a few select restaurants). We finally gave up looking for a place to eat dinner at about 10pm and wandered back to the hotel. When the manager's son found out we hadn't eaten...he delivered a wonderful (gratis) dinner to our room (a platter of cheese, ham, shrimp bread, crackers and two delicious hot meat dishes). We were blown away!!! I will chose the memory of meeting wonderful people like this over the elegance of a 5 star hotel any day!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seattlerph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Very helpful (and essential!) video managed to get us to this tiny hidden hotel once we had navigated the auto via exits several times! The welcome at the hotel from the family was friendly and very helpful with recommendations of sites and restaurants. The lunch recommendation was spot on with Bodegas mezquita but the dinner at taberna del rio very disappointing as it was the day after the fiesta so everything we wanted was off and we suspect the chef was too. Anyway back to the hotel. Basic but spotlessly clean rooms, minimal toiletries so bring shampoo. Excellent location right in the heart of the old part of Cordoba. Helpful valet parking and excellent directions on departure. A lovely stay just too short!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahajtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
155 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked a room at Don Paula after reading the reviews here and we are very satisfied with the hotel. Clean, quiet, near everything. Run by a family who really makes you feel at home and who are always ready to help you. The bed was excellent with two extra pillows in the wardrobe so you don´t need to " beg " for them as in other hotels; the bathroom has a stool ! ( you can´t find that in many places either ) and the water pressure and temperature in the shower are just excellent.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marga2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The hosts were wonderful and although the parents could not speak English we were still able to communicate with them. Check in was easy, although we had to wait for another couple who wanted to check out a room before deciding. The room is basic, but spotlessly clean. Beds were singles and very comfortable. Air conditioner worked very well. Rooms were quiet. The location could not be faulted and it was lovely to wander around the narrow cobbled streets and find delightful little plazas with their water running. We used taxis to get to and from the station (getting older) and it was interesting how they navigated the narrow streets.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TARDIS4956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Hotel Don Paula is very conveniently located in the charming old part of the city, in or next to the Jewish quarter. It is about 15-20 minutes walk from the train station, 10 minutes walk from major attractions of Cordoba, including the Great Cathedral and Mosque. It's so convenient that we went back to the Cathedral/Mosque next morning when it's free to enter between 8:30 am and 9:30 am. The minibar has two bottles of water and four packs of drinks--all complimentary, which is unusually nice. The wi-fi connection is good. The room is bright, clean, and well appointed, and it has a safe for valuables. The hotel is run by the father and three sons; they speak English and are helpful. The room rate is very reasonable, making Hotel Don Paul an excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Carpe Diem
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
0.3 mi away
Las Casas de La Juderia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Palace
Eurostars Palace
#8 of 66 in Cordoba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Patios De Cordoba
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viento 10
Hotel Viento 10
#2 of 66 in Cordoba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Paula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Paula

Property: Hotel Don Paula
Address: Plaza Pineda n 2, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Paula 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Don Paula, you will benefit from an exclusive location in the extraordinary city of Cordoba, right on the old town. The hotel is located in a small square near the Iglesia de la Trinidad, properly situated between the shopping area and the famous neighbourhood called La Judería, where Jewish population used to live during the Muslim era. This neighbourhood is listed as a UNESCO World Heritage site. Thanks to its location, whoever is staying at the hotel may find everything that is interesting to visit in Cordoba really close, such the Mezquita Catedral, The Alcázar de los Reyes Cristianos, The Sinagogue or the main square Las Tendillas, and only five minutes walking from the hotel.You can also find several traditional restaurants as well as shops and businesses surrounding the hotel.The Hotel’s location is well-known as a quiet and familiar environment.The Hotel provides you with 10 rooms, all equipped with bathroom, TV, air condition. There are one public parking at 300 meters from Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Don Paula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing