We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Value in a Budget Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Don Paula

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Don Paula
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An Excellent Value in a Budget Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed at the Don Paula between Christmas and New Years recently and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. In all my many years of travel I cannot recall a hotel that had better value - whether budget or luxury.

The Positives:

Rooms were spacious, clean, comfortable, and adequately appointed. There was plenty of closet room, a mini refer with complementary water and juice and french doors to a juliette balcony. Beds (twin) and pillows were comfortable and spacious.

The hotel is family run - the son speaks excellent English whereas mom and pop are very helpful but speak only Spanish. Upon arrival, Manuel (the son) gave us a map, highlighting all places of interest. Upon departure, mom called us a taxi that came within three minutes.

The location is excellent - being within a few blocks of the Mezquita one way and many restaurants and a large plaza the other. It was located in a small placita that was very quiet.

The hotel had been recently re-done with high quality doors, closets, trim, etc several steps above what one would expect from a budget hotel.

Complimentary WiFi was available everywhere in the hotel and fast.

The rate my friend and I had was very low (55 E) making this a fantastic deal. Rates listed within the room were more in the 80-100 E range depending upon time of year. At any of these, this hotel would be highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColoradoFranceLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    182
    23
    2
    1
See reviews for
103
414
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Puerto de Santa María, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We lucked out when choosing this place for an impromptu stay in Córdoba. The location is awesome, with everything within walking distance. The hotel is the family's converted house, and so is not old or quaint, but they had the most comfortable beds I've slept in anywhere in Spain! Rocio, the owner, was marvelous, incredibly warm and welcoming, and both she and her son made us feel very much at home, showing us the quickest ways to beautiful things to see in the short 30 hours we spent in Córdoba. We will definitely come back! As other reviews said, a great value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

A cozy small family run place. Room was basic but very clean, neat and comfortable. Free water and juice in from the mini bar was added value besides the free wi-fi. Location was simply superb as it was just few minutes walk to the attaractions. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynd_anwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

We chose this hotel on the basis of its excellent reviews here, and we weren’t disappointed. It’s located a few minutes’ walk to the north of the main tourist area in a quiet little square. The room was clean and had character; there is free wifi throughout, free water and juice in the minibar, and a safe in the wardrobe. Breakfast isn’t offered, but there are various inexpensive options very close by. The staff (all members of the same family) were charming and helpful, and we’d have no hesitation in going back. The only downside: the city council seems to be rather prone to emptying the glass recycling bin outside the hotel at unlikely hours of the night!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amgriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

We spent 1 night in Cordoba and we stayed in this little family run hotel. It was clean, centrally located, has a lift and run by Manuel's parent. We followed directions given by the hotel in a Youtube video and found the place easily. Parking is on the street or the hotel can arrange for a paid secured parking in one of the nearby building basement. We paid for the secured parking, Manuel's brother brought our car to the parking area and return it to us on the day we were leaving, great service. The city centre and The Mezquita are just a few minutes away, just ask Manuel for direction. He speaks English. On the day that we were leaving, Manuel's father gave us a tour of the hotel's basement which actually still has some Roman ruins and was an archaeological site before the hotel was built. He showed us records and photos of the investigation and digs by the archaeological team. It was an interesting experience. Great little hotel, friendly and helpful, no breakfast but many cafes nearby.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SingaporeTravelduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

Highly recommended. Clean.
Well located. Comfortable. Good value. Wonderful service by the very nice family that owns it. We had no complaints at all. Okay, it would be improved with breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1969Gator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

Accommodation at Hotel Don Paula was very comfortable & provided everything we needed. The room was well-designed and spacious, very clean, nice size bathroom with huge hairdryer. Very comfy pillows. Run by nice family (don't speak much English but very helpful nonetheless).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Carpe Diem
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
0.3 mi away
Las Casas de La Juderia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Palace
Eurostars Palace
#9 of 70 in Cordoba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Patios De Cordoba
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viento 10
Hotel Viento 10
#2 of 70 in Cordoba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Paula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Paula

Property: Hotel Don Paula
Address: Plaza Pineda n 2, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Paula 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Don Paula, you will benefit from an exclusive location in the extraordinary city of Cordoba, right on the old town. The hotel is located in a small square near the Iglesia de la Trinidad, properly situated between the shopping area and the famous neighbourhood called La Judería, where Jewish population used to live during the Muslim era. This neighbourhood is listed as a UNESCO World Heritage site. Thanks to its location, whoever is staying at the hotel may find everything that is interesting to visit in Cordoba really close, such the Mezquita Catedral, The Alcázar de los Reyes Cristianos, The Sinagogue or the main square Las Tendillas, and only five minutes walking from the hotel.You can also find several traditional restaurants as well as shops and businesses surrounding the hotel.The Hotel’s location is well-known as a quiet and familiar environment.The Hotel provides you with 10 rooms, all equipped with bathroom, TV, air condition. There are one public parking at 300 meters from Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Don Paula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing