We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Casa Rubio

Casa Rubio
Reserve a Table
2
Sun, 7/21
8:00 PM
Ranked #65 of 1,165 Restaurants in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $56
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: SELECTED BY GUIA MICHELIN 2017. Restaurant and tavern located since 1920 next to the Almodovar Gate, one of the medieval wall entrance. You can enjoy typical Andalusian as well as local food. Specialty in fried food. Amazing rooftop terrace next to the ancient wall.
Reviewed June 1, 2019

It’s recommended by the Michelin guide so we thought it was a safe bet. The interior is very pretty and it looks like a place for a better than average meal.

When ordering, the personnel insisted on us ordering fish or shellfish but we’d just spent 9 weeks in a coastal city and wanted meat. The dishes (suckling pig, salmorejo) ended up being not much better than in a simpler restaurant. The service was quite bad too. Waitress spilt water all over the table and didn’t mop it up, wine was carelessly poured, I felt as if once they realised we weren’t going to go full out on the expensive dishes they lost interest.

Also, having personnel doing (behind the scenes jobs) in front of your table takes away all the charm of an evening out.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank swissgirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 2,600 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2019 via mobile

We had ordered our meal and a bottle of wine and looked forward to a pleasant evening.
After tapas our main courses were delivered to the table. What was delivered to the table was not what we ordered and given the waiters enthusiasm we decided not to make a fuss.
We did ask whether the meal was for another table and he assured us that it was ours.
A few minutes later our cutlery and plates were scooped from us and disappeared back into the restaurant.
New dishes- the correct ones- and cutlery were put down in front of us and, rather amused we continued our meal.
Moments later our first meal was presented to the table next to us!
List in translation!
Both meals were very good and one mistake is easy to make.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank IanSawz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabezasRomero, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Casa Rubio, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2019

Thank you so much for your empathy! We are glad you liked both meals! Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2019

This is a large restaurant going from tables outside, on the ground and first floor and with a large roof terrace. We ate on the roof terrace for lunch. There was a good range of tapas - vegetarian, meat and fish. The wine list was good and reasonably priced. The staff were friendly and professional. Worth booking in advance particularly if you have a particular place you want to sit.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Sayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2019

We tried different types of tapas. All dishes were excellently prepared and served. Great wine list, very professional and friendly service. Fresh ingredients, home made cooking. We dined on the top floor terrace away from the crowds on the streets (open from 14.00). The waiters are very helpful and obviously highly trained.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Croatia4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

We noted this restaurant on passing in the afternoon, and it looked promising. We went back that evening, hoping for a table without a reservation. The downstairs area was buzzing and full. The couple in front of us were told that it was difficult but they would check, and were then told that they had the last table, disappearing off into the distance. We asked, told it was difficult to know when a table would come up, it could be some time and that we should have a drink at the bar while we waited. Almost immediately the Maitre d' said she would check, and disappeared. We moved to the bar, although there was no-one there to serve us. However, within a couple of minutes, the Maitre d' returned to say they had a table. We were shown upstairs to a table for two. There were empty tables all around us, with only one large group in the corner. We lingered over our meal, but no-one came to fill these tables. Very difficult to work out what game they were playing with customers. clearly the "last table" talk, and the "difficult to know when we might have a free table" talk were mythical. Oh, the food? Pretty standard for Spain, not bad, not anything to rush back for. The service? Pretty mediocre. The cost? Not wonderful, given the quality of the food, the poor service, and the strange game-playing. Not a place to rush back to. Especially given the vast range of choices nearby.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KCiscasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Rubio also viewed

Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
 
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
 

Been to Casa Rubio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing