We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Emotional”
Review of Casa de Sefarad

Casa de Sefarad
Ranked #15 of 137 things to do in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Emotional”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Cordoba plays a pivotal role in the history of Jewish life in the middle ages. In the tenth century it became the seat of Jewish learning, scholarship and culture and this small , intimate and beautiful museum gives you a remarkable insight on the Jewish history in Cordoba. Very interesting and well presented . Helpful and nice staff

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BonsteinG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    203
    65
    16
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Agoura, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Glimpse into the past”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I was moved and awed by the Casa de Sefarad Museum in Cordoba, across from one of the only 3 Jewish synagogues surviving in Spain from before the cruelties of the "Reconquest"
and Inquisition, when the rich Jewish culture and history of Spain were driven out -- or underground. Considering the times, the beautiful collection of devotional objects, clothing and household items was small but fully evocative of the life that had been lived there. The room on the Inquisition was moving, the room celebrating the Jewish women was inspiring. I would recommend this museum to anyone interested in Jewish or Spanish history.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank agouraserene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Accurate and interesting”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Not a lot has been left of the Jewish Sefarad culture in Cordoba, but the presentation is done with love and historical accuracy. I particularly appreciated the part about Maimonides

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LordLister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar, Europe
Level Contributor
121 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“You need to like reading”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was looking forward to what I knew was only a little museum but to be honest I was a little disappoiinted.

I did not really find out that much about the Jewish culture - and what was on offer in the rest of the rooms required too much reading for a vacation.

I think if there was an audio interpretation of the materials I would have enjoyed it more - and I would have been prepared to have paid more for the experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank gibraltarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wonderful museum!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

wonderful museum for jews and non-jews alike. gives great understanding of the history of spanish jewry and the whole era of the golden age. don't miss it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank debbyspero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa de Sefarad also viewed

 
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
 

Been to Casa de Sefarad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing