We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value-not si great isolation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal El Antiguo Convento
Ranked #35 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent value-not si great isolation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Live the place, the people, the tastefully decorated rooms and the nice location in the heart of tge city. We were on a family holiday with grandmas and young children, everybody was happy.
Apart from the thin walls, this place is the type of hostal with character that I was looking for our Spanish trip!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    113
    30
    11
    11
See reviews for
49
115
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in this hostel. De rooms are small, but clean. It can be a bit noisy, but we had no problem with that. Breakfast is cheap en very good: for €4,5 you get yoghurt, fruit, toast, coffee/tea and juice. Enough to get you started for a day sightseeing. The staff is very friendly and willing to help! We would return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hostal is situated in an old convent!! So, the rooms are not ordinary hotel rooms. Nevertheless, the conversion to a hostal was well done and the rooms are comfortable. The staff is very friendly, speak excellent English and are very helpful. The room includes breakfast which is served family-style and is very generous and tasty. It is located on a small street in the old city, so those arriving by car may have to find a place to park across the river. However, one does not want to have a car while exploring the old city, so it is a minor inconvenience. Having a base for exploration within the old city (5 minutes walking to the Mesquita) more than makes up for the remote parking.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so you will have to carry your suitcase up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill_G_Belmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthEast UK
Level Contributor
191 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Lovely historic building. Our room ,tho' quite compact, had a superb timbered ceiling, and was very clean and well maintained with sufficient facilities for a comfortable stay. The staff are certainly welcoming. We hadn't been able to download the directions for driving to it and after circling around for about an hour eventually phoned and were given great directions. Basically you drive along the river on the 'Old town' side until you have to turn left and in about a hundred metres where the sign shows 'No Right Turn' you DO turn right as it allows you access to the hotels etc in the historic centre. There is a security bollard in the road so you press the button on the silver post and tell the person who answers which hotel/hostal you are going to and they buzz the bollard down. The route to the hostal involves some very narrow streets and sharp turns..we had a Citroen C3 and I wouldn't have wanted anything bigger to manoeuvre round here!! Once we got to the Hostal we quickly left the luggage in the lobby and then drove over the river to the free parking area. There are usually a few guys in this area who will direct you to a parking spot for a small tip of 2-3 Euros. Then it's only a 10 minute walk back to the Hostal, and all our bags had been put in our room for us. The breakfast is well worth the money and we were given plenty of recommendations for restaurants etc and a town map. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeemerF650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great location for exploring Cordoba. The staff couldn't be friendlier. They go out of their way to make sure that you're comfortable. Don't miss the breakfast. It's worth the extra cost and delicious. They provide free wi-fi, although the signal isn't great in the rooms.

The rooms are grad-student chic. They have the basic amenities. Everything is clean and comfortable, but the tile floor is cold in winter. The towels are rather thin, so you might want to pack an extra one. They also provide free parking at a remote site about 10 minutes from the hostal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passionflora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

It has a strategic position, Mezquita, juderia, alcazar, all actraction are 5/10 minutes walk far, but It is not easy to find, and if you have a car you must park on the other side of the river than you have to take your luggage and go to the hostal by foot. In the hostal description they have a free park, but it means that you must find a park your self (any other hotel could give the same service...)
We were there in december during windy cold days :(, the rooms have only a small electric heater, that didn't work properly, that means that we slept in 11 degrees room.
I also found my room dirty and noisy.
Another information is about towels: they are very small and they are changed every 2 day, but, if you need, you can pay 1€ for each cleaned and dried one.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank IT2World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

A delightful hotel within easy walking distance of the centre. A great breakfast of fruit and home made cakes. Free coffee/tea in the afternoon and a seating out area with cushions on the roof. The staff provided maps and told us the best places to see and eat.
Rooms were very clean with an up to date bathroom.

I would definately stay here again. It is very reasonable price so dont expect a TV or lift but who needs those in a place like Cordoba?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swanjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mezquita
Hotel Mezquita
#30 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Carpe Diem
0.1 mi away
Maestre
Maestre
#18 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Patios
Hotel Los Patios
#39 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gonzalez
Hotel Gonzalez
#41 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hospederia Alma Andalusi
Hospederia Alma Andalusi
#42 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Antiguo Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Antiguo Convento

Property: Hostal El Antiguo Convento
Address: Calle Rey Heredia 26, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal El Antiguo Convento 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal El Antiguo Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing