We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, great location, we'd stay here again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel El Antiguo Convento
Ranked #35 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was a wonderful place to stay in Cordoba to get a feel for the style of the south of Spain. The lady who greeted us was very helpful and told us where to go and what to see in our one day in the city. She even gave us the tip that there is free entrance into the Mezquita before 10! We hustled over and got in just in time. They serve tea and coffee in the afternoon - perfect for post-siesta. Even though the windows of the room opened into the courtyard, everyone was very respectful and we weren't bothered at night.

My only complaints are very minor. The beds are a bit hard, on par with the rest of Europe, unfortunately. And because we were on the ground floor we didn't get any air movement in the room, so it was a bit hot and stuffy. Thankfully there was a table fan which helped a lot. Other than that, it was an fantastic stay.

Room Tip: Unless you have heavy luggage, a room upstairs might give you better air flow, which helps in the su...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandakay82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
There are newer reviews for Hostel El Antiguo Convento
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 281 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2011

This hostel is clean, light, well-decorated and has helpful staff. You get a place in a private garage nearby for free if you like, the rooms are air conditioned with nice bathrooms, the breakfast is very good and the location is perfect for exploring the beautiful winding streets of Cordoba.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

I had been looking for a 'hostel' when I stumbled upon this hotel. €25 for a single room was not much more than a dorm bed and with the added privacy so I decided to stay.

As the name suggests the building is an old convent. Quite atmospheric with ornaments scattered around. The couple who run it were friendly and helpful with local info. You can get breakfast but it's not included in the price of the room. I think it was €4 extra.

My first floor room (number 9 I think) was quite small but adequate. It was quite dusty. The bathroom was tiny and it was hard to stop the water from the shower from flowing all over the floor. I could not connect to the upstairs wi fi connection but could to the weaker downstairs signal. My window faced the courtyard which meant it was a bit noisey, especially around midnight when a geriatric American spent half an hour on the phone talking about his home improvements. I could also smell cigarette smoke which wafted up.

The location of the hotel is very good. Close to the mosque in the maze of small streets which surround it. It's also close to the bus stop of the bus which takes you to the bus and train stations. There's also a rooftop terrace with views across the city.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Supadappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Very central location in the middle of the old town. Nice rooms in an old adapted convent, around a beatiful patio. Impeccable cleanliness. About the best place you can find in this place range.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jozin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

The first night we were very cold and the heater was apparently not working well... they changed our room and gave us two heaters (which not everybody does). That room was pretty good. the beds were good. Marilo was very nice and helpful during our stay. We recommend the breakfast it was very good and helps you start the day. something that i really didnt like was that it was very noisy though my parents didnt really notice. overall i recommend this hostal. the hotels wifi was not working the first night we stayed but them it all got fixed.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

It was the BEST hostel I stayed in during my three week visit to Europe!
It´s a brand new hostel, the rooms and bathrooms are impecable, the owner serves a great breafast for 4.5 euros, including homemade bread and cake, fruit, ham, orange juice and coffee.
The common room is an indoor terrace where they have a CD player, and at night guests gather to share experiences and listen to nice music.
I would absolutly reccomend it to all travellers interested in having clean, nice and very welcoming accomodation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliciaYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadridAndrea, Gerente at Hostel El Antiguo Convento, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2010
Google Translation

Muchas gracias!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
Thank Paocas76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.1 mi away
Maestre
Maestre
#23 of 65 in Cordoba
717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mezquita
Hotel Mezquita
#29 of 65 in Cordoba
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Patios
Hotel Los Patios
#39 of 65 in Cordoba
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Carpe Diem
0.2 mi away
Hospederia del Atalia
Hospederia del Atalia
#34 of 65 in Cordoba
303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hospederia Alma Andalusi
Hospederia Alma Andalusi
#44 of 65 in Cordoba
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel El Antiguo Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel El Antiguo Convento

Address: Calle Rey Heredia 26, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Price Range: $42 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel El Antiguo Convento 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hostel El Antiguo Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing