We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Bodegas”

Bodegas Mezquita Cespedes
Reserve with
Bodegas Mezquita Cespedes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 891 Restaurants in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $23
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Bodega Mezquita. Tavern- traditional restaurant located in the Jewish quarter, close to MEzquita Catedral of Cordoba. An exceptional place where you can taste the best plates and tapas of cordovan gastronomy. Family business which we initiated our path in the 60s, is one of the favourite establishments as people from Cordoba as visitor from our city, when they want enjoy of authentic cordovan tapeo and best wines from our land. Cuisine which is made with traditional method, is essence of Andalucian gastronomic culture, with the best products from the rich cordovan land: Iberian ham, sheep cheese and meat from Valle de Los Pedroches, olive oil virgin extra, fortified wine from Montilla Moriles... As could not be otherwise, our specialities are: the famous Salmorejo Cordobes, Berenjenas a la miel, Flamenquin and Rabo de Toro. Our quality is recognised for numerous prize and honours like SICTED among others and the best guides to national and international travels too.
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant Bodegas”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is a great find. It is up a little side street and you don't expect it to be there but the food is brilliant. I had the Iberico Pork Burger with curry mayonnaise. The rest of my family had tajine and Lamb in honey these were also both delicious. It may sound a bit weird but trust me it's not. All the staff were incredibly friendly and we were served by a really nice waiter Fran (our amigo.) Also try the Montilla Wine.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Oli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,738
    1,456
    290
    122
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Tapas and Service”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We have just had a really marvellous dinner at the Bodegas Mezquita Cespedes in Cordoba. Lovely Tapas and really helpful & friendly service from Fran, who took care to ensure we had an excellent evening! The entire team at the Bodegas were very friendly and we can recommend this restaurant without hesitation! Say hi to Fran if you go!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place and friendly staff, good food”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

A great place to have tapas with an extensive choice of tapas to choose from. The menu is in all languages as they use the internet version which was a great surprise for my Portuguese husband. Jose our waiter was friendly and fun. The restaurant is quite charming and suits a bodega atmosphere while playing with their digital media connected side. I was personally disappointed at a potato slices dish which did not seem fresh of the day, the rest: croquetas, fried aubergines and fried pork delicacy was good but I had better food in cordoba for the same price range

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chouquette41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, VT
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“So glad we gave Bodegas Mezquita a try”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised to find such a good restaurant in a part of town that could so easily be given over to more tourist oriented fare.

We had an excellent meal, some nice Rioja, and cafe con leche in a very comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. Our service was excellent; we appreciated the staff recommendations. Prices were in keeping with the quality. We actually bought a bottle of wine to carry out and enjoyed it when we got back to the US.

I highly recommend Bodegas Mezquita and hope to make a return visit.

Oh, and there's a great little shop specializing in Olive Oil quite nearby. Take the advice of the elderly proprietor and bring home a bottle of Finca Duernas as well!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SHB05403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

In the jewish quarter you'll find lots of places for tourists, so you do not expect a nice place such as this one.

You can choose between tapas, media racion and full racion. We had the patatas bravas (tapas), media racion lamb with couscous which was really delicious and media racion hamburguesa. The portions are not small and after this we were completely stuffed! José was very friendly and it was a nice surprise in the touristic jewish quarter.

We paid for bread, 2x media racion, 1x tapas and two drinks €23,00. A good price for wat you get!

Extra: They do not have an outside terrace. You can only sit indoors.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodegas Mezquita Cespedes also viewed

Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
 
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
 
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
 

Been to Bodegas Mezquita Cespedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing