We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern hotel with appallingly designed bathrooms”
Review of Eurostars Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eurostars Palace
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Very modern hotel with appallingly designed bathrooms”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel is just to the north of the walled city and is either new or newly refurbished. Smart modern lobby, elegant bar, nice restaurant for breakfast which is pricey at 18.95 euros. Big bedrooms, but the bathroom facilities are truly terrible. Our toilet was in a room with smoked glass doors that do not fit well, so completely lacked privacy. The bath and shower were in a wet room opposite the toilet room, and the wet room floor had a perforated steel floor that was very unkind to the feet. There was a monsoon shower whose control was under the shower head, so when you switched to monsoon you got a cold dose from last night’s shower. Our monsoon needed de-calcifying – it sprayed in all direction. The handbasins (two) were quite impractical – no plug – and there was nowhere to put the golf-ball soap, except back on the cardboard box it came in. Our room was very cold when we arrived, and it took 24 hours to warm up. Be warned that the aircon/heating seems to turn off if you take the key out of the light switch, so make sure you get enough keys to leave it on when you go out. If you stay here, that is. I wouldn’t, not again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricky3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,182
    773
    241
    62
    42
See reviews for
483
1,324
51
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Spend one night at hotel which is located across the street from the Puerta de Almodovar in the old city. Easy walk to all sites and shopping, as well as new city center. Modern hotel, all glass and chrome, with underground parking for an addition fee. Very nice and clean. Staff a little stuffy. Would recommend a high floor as the hotel is at a very large intersection and you can get traffic noise on lower floors.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanny18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel was across from the old town and made an ideal base for visiting the breathtaking Mesquita, Alcazabr, various museums, bars and restaurants.
The rooms were bright, clean, shiny glass and stainless steel. His and hers showers along with a spa tub, king size bed and good views from the 4th floor. If, like us you are not as mobile as you used to be the bathroom area does need some extra care. The spa tub whilst luxurious when you are in it, is a bit high from the stainless steel draining grids on getting out....
There was a conference going on and staff were very efficient in catering for ALL customers not just the conference delegates. The latter had their own areas so did not encroach on those of us who just wanted a quiet time in the bar and at breakfast. The staff were helpful, especially the breakfast room manager. This is a large modern hotel so if you are looking for a quiet and intimate experience, this is probably not the place for you. It suited my needs though and made an excellent base for striking out each day. Checking in and out were fast.

Room Tip: If incapacitated in any way, do ask for specific details about the wet room and toilet/bidet rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a wonderful find and a terrific location right by the old city. The very modern rooms with unusual bathroom facilities might be to everyones liking but are interesting! Secure underground parking can be accessed from your room floor. Very helpful staff. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMEfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is well located being only a short walk from the old centre. Parking in the street was convenient and the staff were all extremely helpful. Our room on the 4th floor was well-appointed although the postion of the toilet left much to be desired. However the breakfast was very good with plenty of choice to suit all tastes and lunches and drinks were reasonably priced. A free minibar was a welcome bonus. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff was extremely helpful with numerous inquiries, and is located conveniently adjacent to historic district. Marriott acquired this property after it was built- as if a graduate design school class was given free reign, but no one checked to see if the designs were actually practical for travelers. The structure is wrapped in a rusted metal grid with 6" portholes...interesting from the outside, but it's almost impossible to see out of the random 6" portholes to check on the beautiful park setting or tell whether it's raining. Double sinks, double shower and tub, but faucets so sleek there is no customary dot telling which way to turn on the hot water. Of the 5 faucets, after much experimentation, there are 3 different places to find the hot. In the shower you stand on a stainless steel shiny slippery and sharp-edged grid...impossible to stay in there for the discomfort on feet. Worst of all is motion-sensor that turns on a very bright bright halogen beam if you tiptoe out of bed in the middle of the night, waking everyone. The key cards are a tasteful black with a dark gray directional arrow - so it's impossible to see it...people were always fumbling at their doors in the dark hallways. In 3 days, our key card malfunctioned 5 times,, meaning another trip back down to the desk - they think it has to do with police communications equipment nearby. On tv, there are only channels from Spain. There's no reliable wifi available in the rooms, so people sit around the lobby and lounge instead. The fitness room was very dark in the basement with a couple pieces of machines,and a set of small handweights..pretty good for Spain.

Room Tip: It takes at least 24 hours to become acquainted with all the unique design attributes of your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kab0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
182 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This modern hotel has one of the ugliest exteriors I have ever seen. It does have three things going for it: a great location, a fairly spacious room by European standards, and a chaise lounge in the room. Other than that, we were terribly disappointed with our stay here. This hotel has been fairly recently refurbished, but the features are ultra modern, impractical, and cold. It is a shame they spent so much money and didn't think walk through what it would be like for a person staying in the room.

The sinks in the bathroom were rectangular and totally flat on the bottom so water goes everywhere, and doesn't drain away. Lots of water ends up on the counter and you have to sop it up with a towel. They don't provide you with any tissues or a place to put the round soap, so it sits on the counter absorbing water. The make-up mirror is needed because the wall mirror is pretty far away. But it sits on the counter, a good height for someone 4' tall. Mounting the make up mirror on the side wall at a reasonable height, as it is done in most hotels, is better than bending down and squinting at it.

Also, the shower area is separate from the toilet area, and the glass door is totally clear, so that anyone can see in. My husband had left the room prior to my going in the shower but returned while I was in the shower. When he opened the door to the room, anyone in the hall could see me taking a shower. This just doesn't seem like a great idea for anyone! Even if they fixed that (opening the door in the other direction would help, but would face the toilet area with the dark glass), Marriott should not assume that you always travel with someone that you want to see you in the shower.

Another negative was the light sensor that turns on the lights in the bath area whenever it senses motion. A good idea in the daytime, not so much in the middle of the night. We ended up blocking the light sensor with a pad of paper, which worked, but left the room pitch black at night, since the wall you face is black, and the glass doors in the toilet area are also black. Something between bright lights and total darkness would be nice.

Lastly, the staff overall spoke very limited to no English. They do not have a concierge, which is ok, though odd for such a large hotel by Marriott. It would not have been a problem if the reception desk could help, but we were unable to get any suggestions for dinner and they failed to mention that the Mezquita (the major attraction in Cordoba) would not be opening until 1:30pm the next day because it was a special local holiday. I expect better from a Marriott hotel.

I did mention all of these things to Suzanne, the manager, when we checked out. She listened and said that all of my complaints had been voiced many times before. She was nice and said that she would call ahead to the AC Palacio in Toledo, our next stop, to make sure that we had a better stay. When I asked if Suzanne had called, the desk said no. By the way, we really enjoyed our stay in Toledo. It was a more standard, practical hotel and very efficiently run.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfslw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Patios De Cordoba
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
0.3 mi away
Las Casas de La Juderia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Conquistador
Eurostars Conquistador
#16 of 66 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hospes Palacio del Bailio
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Center
Hotel Cordoba Center
#10 of 66 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Palace

Property: Eurostars Palace
Address: Paseo Victoria s/n 2, 14004 Cordoba, Spain (Formerly AC Hotel Cordoba Palacio by Marriott)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cordoba
#6 Family Hotel in Cordoba
#6 Business Hotel in Cordoba
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Eurostars Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Eurostars Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels córdoba
Ac Cordoba Palacio córdoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing