We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Does what it says on the tin' hotel ideal for sightseeing in Cordoba”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hospederia Luis de Gongora
Ranked #9 of 39 Cordoba B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 26, 2012

'Does what it says on the tin' hotel ideal for sightseeing in Cordoba. Plain decor but all you need, very clean and comfortable, in old town, but very quiet (apart from the brief but unignorable alarm call at 9 am from the local church calling the faithful to worship!). Easy walking distance from the station and all the many sights of old Cordoba (and the frolicking horses show if that is your choice of entertainment). Ample choice of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_A_Bristow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 313 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

We absolutely loved Hospederia Luis de Gongora. It was a lovely, typically Spanish guesthouse and we were made to feel at home as soon as we arrived. The staff were so friendly and helpful and they helped us to find free parking and advised us about what to visit and when (priceless information!). Room was really nice and clean and the air con really kept the room cool when it was over 40 degrees outside. We did book a double room but we were moved into a twin room because it was larger (we were told that we could push the beds together if we so wished). Room was certainly spacious and we had a nice view of the patio below. No complaints whatsoever, exactly what we wanted and Hospederia Luis de Gongora definitely delivered.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We booked knowing this would be small from previous reviews. We also knew it would be a great location and price.

We had booked a superior room but on arrival were given a very small room (but clean and nicely decorated) and small bathroom, but with a cute terrace on the 3rd floor. Lovely comfortable bed but bathroom just too small particularly for my husband to manoevre around the loo! Much more suited to a single person. Albert however gave us the choice of a larger room with no terrace but overlooking the internal patio which we took next day. Much bigger - the bathroom was twice the size, we had 2 single beds put together which again were extremely comfortable. This was on the ground floor.

Albert was a great guy, made us welcome and gave us a list of suggestions for tapas which was a great way to explore the city and this helped us explore some areas we may have missed.Albert is a great asset to the hotel (not sure if he owns it or is the manager) there was also another pleasant man on duty next day but our Spanish is non existent other than civilities and 2 beers please, and his English was limited.

Location excellent not too far from Musqueta or the newer part of town.
We heard no street noise. Could hear some comings and goings up the stairs in our second room but what do you expect in a small hotel !

Yes the bells do sound at 8.30 am but my husband slept through it on the first day but we had expected to get up around this time anyway because if you go to the Alcazar or Mosqueta before 10 am it is free!
All in all a great stay and we'd certainly use this hotel again- for the price location and helpful Albert it couldnt be beaten. You could stay in a larger hotel with swimming pool right in the centre but youd be paying silly prices and probably not have such a helpful pleasant host.

We stayed during Feria time and really enjoyed dancing with the locals at the Fair ground. A local family saw our jiving and encouraged us to dance Sevillas with them great fun.
The Musqueta, and Alcazar gardens are stunning and we also did the touristy thing and went for the son et lumiere show in the Alcazar gardens at night which was strangely impressive .It helped that there were just a small group of people who'd turned up so it was a lovely atmosphere.
One tip pack your swimsuit because you could experience a session in the Arab baths and pool in the Juderia area. We wish we had..

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jivegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and thanks to Albert(o) the staff member on duty, we were able to find safe parking for our car within a couple of blocks of the hotel. Our room was small with a small bathroom attached and it was at the back, looking down on the internal patio, so it was quiet. The location was excellent, easy walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go and although breakfast was not included in the price, there was a cafe just diagonally across the square from the hotel where you could get a very cheap and nice breakfast. We loved Cordoba and enjoyed our stay at this hotel We had a room on the top floor and there was no lift, so although this was not a problem for us, it could be for others. WiFi was free and worked well in the public areas.

Room Tip: Our double room was quiet because it faced the back, not the street, and was on the top floor. Make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlienKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

First of all - the location is great and the staff is very nice and helpful. The single room is quite small, but nice and clean. The only part that bothered my - the noise from the street all night and early in the morning and then the church bells at 8:30, sudden and pretty loud.
Other than the noise - I recommend it and maybe would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YuMin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We (couple) stayed in a single room as there wasn't other choice and agreed it would be smaller than usual, anyway the furniture and overall decoration could be improved. The staff was SUPER helpful and provided us with a brand new queen size bed, they also helped us to take our luggage up to the third floor and gave us lots of information. The biggest downside is the lack of elevator as it is not a tiny hotel and it got quite tiring to climb three stairs everytime we went it, but I guess its OK considering the price and location which is excellent. It has a parking some two blocks away and it can be a bit hard to find, the best option is always to ask locals.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mauricio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I stayed here as part of a trip around Andalucia. The staff at the pension were very welcoming and helpful. Our room whilst on the small side, was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included, however, was at a local cafe across the square. It was good.
The location of this pension is located on the edge of the Jewish quarter, 10 minutes from the Mezquita. Ideal location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globetreka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.4 mi away
Maestre
Maestre
#25 of 65 in Cordoba
736 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Carpe Diem
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Palace
Eurostars Palace
#10 of 65 in Cordoba
2,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tryp Cordoba
Tryp Cordoba
#18 of 65 in Cordoba
1,151 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ayre Hotel Cordoba
Ayre Hotel Cordoba
#28 of 65 in Cordoba
1,005 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Conquistador
Eurostars Conquistador
#17 of 65 in Cordoba
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospederia Luis de Gongora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospederia Luis de Gongora

Address: Calle Horno de La Trinidad N 07, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cordoba
Price Range: $28 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hospederia Luis de Gongora 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospederia Luis de Gongora is located in the historic area of the city. The property is in a callejita next to beautiful Trinity Church and School of Fine Arts of Cordoba, just in the city center of Cordoba, joining the commercial area and the famous Jewish Quarter. This area is declared by UNESCO as World Heritage section. The Hospederia takes its name from adjacent house where he lived and died the poet and playwright Luis de Gongora , maximum exponent of the literary movement known as culteranismo in the Spanish Golden Century. Thanks to its location, customers have all the main tourist attractions and monuments of city like the Mosque-Cathedral, Alcazar of Christian Kings, Synagogue or the Roman Bridge, all of them are 2 minutes walking distance around the property. There are also bars, restaurants and shops next to la Hospederia. The property has 19 rooms, all with private bathroom, TV, radio, air-conditioning, heater system and free Internet access. It also has a nice patio and lounge for its clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hospederia Luis de Gongora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing