We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monumental”

Conjunto Monumental de La Alcazaba
Ranked #2 of 77 things to do in Almeria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Monday Closed
Vera, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Monumental”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A great place to visit. Lots of history clearly explained and great views. Well worth walking from the town to the Alcazaba and sampling some very fine tapas bars along the narrow streets.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank muchacho_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    738
    538
    110
    13
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely visit for the healthy”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Really enjoyed this. Very hot day crystal clear sky's and free admission.the place itself is beautifully maintained with lovely views however the walking is fairly steep so if you have health issues be aware. If you are fit enough don't miss it .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“La Alcazaba - worth the trip”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Definitely worth a visit - plenty to see and some great views. Not sure if this is the case always but there was no charge!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SoulSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardingstone
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fab castle”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Went in August 2012 on a baking hot day. Parked for free outside. Free to get in as we were from the UK. It is in a good condition with great views from the walls. Lots of flowing water in the gardens. Some excavation going on but it didn't spoil the visit. Took about half a day to go round and would recommend it to any one who likes visiting castles. Take drinks though if you visit in summer.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank clawfinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“To the top”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Staying in Retamar the wife and two friends took the bus for the princely some of 4 euros 20 cents eachway . We had been to the cathedral and made our way to the fortress, entry was free to EU citizens. Our friends had their passports, I had my driving licence and my wife nothing but we were all allowed through. the initial steps were steep but it got easier as the steps were more shallow. The wife and friends stopped about half way up but I continued on up looking for my final goal. three quarters of the way up there was a café and toilets and a model of the fortress in a glass cabinet difficult to photograph. Going on up my first goal was reached; the sunken garden.

Still going up I reached my final goal; the upper courtyard. The courtyard was used in the first episode "Destiny" of the TV series Queen of Swords when it was dressed as if Madrid for a sword training sequence and the sunken garden used in the episode "The Pact". Views from each level were spectacular and a bit unnerving when you looked over the various walls.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conjunto Monumental de La Alcazaba also viewed

Almeria, Province of Almeria
 
Almeria, Province of Almeria
 

Been to Conjunto Monumental de La Alcazaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing