We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel shame about the Restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aire Hotel & Ancient Baths
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Almeria
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Hotel shame about the Restaurant.”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

A very modern hotel set in an old building on the side of a plaza in the historical part of Almeria boasting a view of the Alcazaba on the hill. We had a junior suite overlooking the square and with an Alcazaba view. The outlook was very nice although the square is somewhat rundown. The suite was large, clean, with an open plan bathroom and a mix of modern and traditional fittings. While the overall look was great some of the ideas were probably better on paper as they were not that practical. While we like minimalist houses and rooms we felt that there could have been a few more items in the suite to make the stay a bit more comfortable e.g tea and coffee making, larger towels. A directory of services would also have been a help. The bed was large and very comfortable.
The suite price came with access to the hot Arabian type baths situated below the hotel and this is a great way to spend a couple of relaxing hours after a day’s sightseeing. You can also have a massage and treatments. While the baths are a must the hotel restaurant is a something to miss quite how it got to number two on Tripadvisor is a mystery to me and is the one area that has let the hotel down. The service was at best mediocre (which is a shame as the hotel staff are very helpful) and the food was poor. We did not go back a second time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Plaza as this should have a view of the Alcazaba.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bunnyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    61
    29
    8
    3
See reviews for
19
141
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were there for the start of the festival and got to watch two concerts in the old square -one from the restaurant (which is fabulous) and the second from the roof whilst drinking fine wines and eating excellent tapas. What a treat! The Arabic baths were a perfect way to recover the next day. Staff and service were excellent and so was the room. The decor is a splendid mix of new and old as is the town. Well worth a visit and the hotel is up there with any boutique hotel we have visited around the world.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
142 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a hotel located on a square in Almeria. While we were at the hotel there was a free concert taking place on the square which added to the atmosphere.

The hotel is in a refurbished building and reflects the style of similar hotels where they have blended old with new.

Ambience in the hotel is definitely "chilled" and the rooms are comfortable and clean. One observation is that the sink is located outside the bathroom next to the bed and this isn't always too convenient.

The staff are friendly and helpful and have a good knowledge of the local area.

The restaurant is very good but make sure you book as it is popular.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerecosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel was lovely , with a beautiful atmosphere, BUT, as we checked in we were alerted to the fact that both the bar and restaurant were closed since it was a Sunday. I really don't consider it unreasonable to expect that a venue that bills itself as a hotel and lounge should have an operating bar and restaurant seven days a week.The en suite bathroom also needed walls ,not glass, to afford privacy and there should have been a hairdrier and mirror in the bedroom , not the bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reids19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

It is very rare for me to give straight fives but this hotel warrants it. Terrific location tucked away in the corner of an old square within a short wall of the centre and the harbour. The room was probably the best we stayed in on our tour of the coast, ultra modern with some quirky twists (check out the WC). We booked a junior suite for our stay which is more expensive than a standard room but worth it because it includes a session in the Arab baths below the hotel. Next door is a very chic bar where breakfast is served. Thoroughly recoend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fordanglia69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a beautifully restored, characterful and boutique hotel in the centre of a bustling city, close to the old quarter with the Alcazaba, Cathedral, parking and shops, etc within a very short distance. Our Junior Suite (room 102) was a brilliant choise as this overlooked the lovely Spanish square and monument with views to the castle beyond, and two balconies! The baths were brilliant - we did them twice during our two-day stay and had a relaxing massage on the first evening.
After a hot arrival and walking round the city, castle, etc, the baths were heaven with differing water temperatures, Jacuzzi and water/spiced tea all adding to the invigorating, yet highly relaxing experience.
Food was brilliant and good value, with half or full portions available, plus a great selection of tapas dishes. Good quality wines were a reasonable price for a top quality hotel.
Staff were friendly, polite, efficient and attentive - we could not fault their service at all. The hotel was one of the best we have come across while travelling around Spain - thank you to the staff for making our stay an extremely enjoyable one.
Note: Getting to the hotel through narrow one-way streets was an adventure, even with the address plugged into the Satnav. Best solution is to park in the San Pedro underground car park literally a minute's walk away. Show your ticket to reception as they have an agreed 16 euro a day charge agreed with this car park. Car park is spacious and easy to park in.
Also handy is to have a detailed printed street map so you can get your bearings as one-way system is challenging, to say the least!! A cool beer on arrival under the hotel's cooling arches was most welcome!

Room Tip: Upgrading to the Junior Suite (Room 102) on the first floor was well worth it and really enhanced ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravensthorpe
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had a wonderfully relaxing time at the Plaza Vieja on route to our holiday further down the coast, and would heartily recommend it as a very warm and special place.

A wonderful location on a very typically Spanish square, very close to the castle, the cathedral, and the heart of the town. The baths in the basement were also wonderfully relaxing and atmospheric, particularly if checking in after a flight to start your holiday, a was the lovely hot spiced tea in reception.

Any minor problems or questions we we raised with reception were dealt with incredibly generously and promptly, the staff seemed to love their job and serving customers well, and genuinely went the extra mile to ensure you had a wonderful stay.

The warm welcome certainly extended to our toddler too, who was made a real fuss of by the staff, and had the most beautifully made up cot in our room I have ever seen, she thought it was just wonderful!

Only suggestions I would make would to be clearer on the online booking site which rooms are double/twin etc, (as there was some confusion about the concept of a twin room when we arrived, enhanced by the language gap!) and also to put clear instructions about how to find the square (via the very complex one way system in the very narrow and busy streets of the city, which stressed us out a bit on arrival!) on the website.

Thankyou for a great start to the holiday!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kierenandalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almeria hotels
0.7 mi away
NH Ciudad de Almeria
NH Ciudad de Almeria
#1 of 34 in Almeria
763 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catedral Almeria
Hotel Catedral Almeria
#13 of 34 in Almeria
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nuevo Torreluz
Hotel Nuevo Torreluz
#4 of 34 in Almeria
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Almeria
AC Hotel Almeria
#9 of 34 in Almeria
504 reviews
8.4 mi away
Vincci Hotel Envia Almeria Wellness & Golf
1.2 mi away
Tryp Indalo Almeria
Tryp Indalo Almeria
#3 of 34 in Almeria
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aire Hotel & Ancient Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aire Hotel & Ancient Baths

Property: Aire Hotel & Ancient Baths
Address: Plaza Constitucion 4, 04003 Almeria, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Almeria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Almeria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aire Hotel & Ancient Baths 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel embodies the perfect mix between tradition and modernity in an exceptional building. An 19th Century work refurbished by Alonso Balaguer, the famous architecture studio from Barcelona. The hotel makes us appreciate the harmonious merging of forms, textures and colors where the modest gives life to new attitudes and sensations. Plaza Vieja Hotel & Lounge is the perfect place to ease your senses, have a cocktail or enjoy a good book. And it's also the right place to live a unique experience: the Arabian Baths Aire de Almeria. A millenarian tradition that all our guests will be able to delight themselves with. Experience through their senses with water therms at different degrees or choose the most appealing massage in our special relax room. Even if the guest prefers so, the massage can be in its own room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aire Hotel & Ancient Baths reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing