We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic tapas with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Puga

Casa Puga
Ranked #9 of 505 Restaurants in Almeria
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Authentic tapas with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We chose this tapas bar based in a review in Lonely Planet and were delighted with our choice. The bar was lively but we didn't fancy standing so chose a table in the back (not free but that was fine). The seafood (prawns, baby squid and octopus were awesome (esp the octopus which was the best we have had so far)) and the setting and atmosphere were perfect. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    349
    160
    43
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isla Plana, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A taste of the real Spanish tapa culture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was the most authentic and oldest tapa bar we visited. It looks like it has not changed since its inception and is highly recommended for a visit. Always busy and the tapas are made in front of you on an old fashioned grill/burner. Full of atmosphere but gets packed later on. Great value for money and fantastic food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank margsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Authentic tapas experience in a very Spanish city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We went to this tapas bar based on other tripadvisor recommendations and we were so happy we went there. Standing at the bar our barman Adolfo was just great, spoke very little English but loved our attempts at speaking Spanish, he even recognised us then next night made us feel welcome. The tapas themselves were a million times better than any others we had in Almeria, or Spain to be honest ! Fresh good tasting food. Other reviews say they were pricey, I totally disagree. Basically you come Almeria, you must come to Casa Puga say hi to Adolfo and enjoy the true Spanish tapas experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Logan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“No change since the 50,s”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Popped in on a night out in centre of Almeria. A must visit for all.Food was top class drink was whatever you wanted to make it. Busy place at weekends all ages

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keithdane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
239 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Authentic but expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Had Pimentos, Jamon Iberico and Queso Viejo. The old Manchego was very good. The only Jerez they had was a Manzanilla that turned out to be satisfactory. I also had some water. The bill ended at 35 € for one person which would be fine for the lunch of my life but a bit pricy given the mediocre wine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lars B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Puga also viewed

Almeria, Province of Almeria
Almeria, Province of Almeria
 
Almeria, Province of Almeria
Almeria, Province of Almeria
 
Almeria, Province of Almeria
Almeria, Province of Almeria
 

Been to Casa Puga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing