We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk the Way”
Review of Camino de Santiago

Camino de Santiago
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.12*
and up
Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián
Ranked #145 of 13,614 things to do in Spain
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A network of paths leading to a church holding the remains of St. James (Santo Iago), the patron saint of Spain...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Walk the Way”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Camino De Santiago is one of the most enjoyable experiences I have had in my entire life. I walked it in October 2012, from St Jean Pied De Port to Santiago Compostela, about 500 miles.

You quickly become very happy walking every day and very soon begin to think about not wanting it to end. You meet fantastic people, have amazing days, walking through beautiful scenery, eating great food and wine and overall have an experience that you will probably never experience again.

If you're looking for a break, a time to reflect, a time to reevaluate, to forget work and think about what's truly important, then this is a journey you will never forget, where you will meet people who will forever remain in your thoughts.

Truly inspiring!

Rory Keene

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
24 Thank RoryKeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    62
    6
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lugo, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“On my Way... a first timers experience.”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

At last after many months of discussion, myself and a friend walked 2 etapas of the Way. Starting from Sarria and walking 40 kms to Ligonde on Saturday. The mornings walk was excellent with beautiful scenery. We stopped at a spot just outside Portomarin to share an empanada which had been kindly baked for us by Montse´s brother in his bakery in Sarria. The shelter had been created by Susanna who left out coffee in a thermos as well as fruit. Many thanks! We had originally intented to stay in Portomarin in a pension, the idea being we thought as first timers we would prefer an individual room, but as we both felt full of energy and it was extremely wet and hardly any other peregrinos, we continued on to Ligonde a further 16 kms. We passed by many interesting Auberges but our minds were set. The afternoon & evening became progressively worse weather wise and the steep road climb out of Portomarin was not the most pleasant experience of the trip. Extremely tired & cold we organised sleeping accomadation. A new experience for me as it was a room with 16 bunk beds, very close together and the only thing provided by the establishment was a protective sheet & pillowcase. As we had planned on sharing a room, we hadn´t any blankets, so we made do with what we had. The room was extremely warm and for the one night not too bad. The next time we´ll be wiser! Overall the Auberge was extremely clean, separate showers for men & women and a kitchen downstairs, all for 5 euros! The Manager was extremely helpful, welcoming and understanding. There was a bar literally over the road where we had a bowl of delicious caldo. After a really hot , efficient shower we retired weary but happy with the days walking. Sunday morning bright & early saw us on the second part to Melide, passing through Palas du Rei & Furelos and finally Melide. Only a short walk as we´d arranged a lift at 1.30. So after some tapas and recalling our walk and planning our next phase we left to return to Freixedo. A fantastic experience and we look forward to the next "trozo".

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Terri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“walk the Way”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

if i have any advice to give to anyone considering walking the camino is "Go for it! Walk your Way".
if you want to exprience some of the fun, the tears, the laughter, the pains and even the blisters check out my blog
pennymilecamino.wordpress.com
i walked and completed the 500miles in 24days last June and found it a fantastic experience and the people i meet priceless.
i left St Jean with strangers i arrived in Santiago with friends X

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
19 Thank solowalker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Camino de Santiago”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Walked the Camino Frances from Saint Jean Pied de Port to Santiago de compostela and from Santiago to Fistera. Great experience. Check out my blog at 'Shellshock Nells big walk"

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Nellpilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Camino de Santiago”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hi, I have ridden and walked the camino and can honestly say it was the hardest but one of the most rewarding adventures in my life. Don't go with a touring company, just get to the start and walk. Gather together what you think is the barest of essentials and then throw half out. Make time your only luxury. Let life slow to your pace. Visit every church and say a prayer even if you don't believe anymore. Ignore all that I say and do it how it suits you but do it before you are too old.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
51 Thank hamma32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camino de Santiago also viewed

Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
 
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
 

Been to Camino de Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing