We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply perfect, comfortable, and welcoming.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Anna Amalia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Anna Amalia
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Weimar
Certificate of Excellence
Sonoma County
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Simply perfect, comfortable, and welcoming.”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Fabulous location right at the edge of old town, beautiful building and comfortable, stylish rooms. Staff was very warm, welcoming and highly attentive. Can't think of a better place to stay at in Weimar, and all of it at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: They have small single rooms and upgraded me to a much larger room for just a nominal charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sequoialit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    55
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
55
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I enjoyed the warm cosiness of this German hotel. Wonderfully located, everything is within walking distance, very clean, friendly personnel, and all of this for a very decent price. Will be my go to place if I go back to Weimar.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROSENIEMAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
459 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Pleasant enough, clean hotel, but nothing special.

An easy walk to the attractions of the old town.

No room safe or minibar.

It was a nightmare to drive there in July 2013 as roadworks had shut several roads.

Have their own underground car park at 12 Euros a night.

Breakfast quite good.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Angu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brasil
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Anna Amalia the first time in Dec 2008 and returned in Oct 2012. the fact that we have returned indicates that our first experience was a pleasant one. The hotel enjoys very good location in Weimar, at walking distance to all the main attractions and the Thuringian restaurant nearby is very, very good. The rooms are comfortable: good size, good mattresses, good bed linens and towels. Bathrooms are not huge, but are functional (some have a shower/tub combo; others, only shower). Secured parking space is available. We have not tried the breakfast buffet. Price is very good. The only con, and the reason why I would not rate this hotel excellent, is the front desk. People at the reception sometimes seem trained not to be nice, mainly some of the ladies who work during the day. If you don´t mind a not so friendly face, however, you will not be disapointed.

Room Tip: The hotel as one elevator. However, at the third floor (if I´m not mistaken) you still have to climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klara_SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warmond NL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I can only join Stan W.'s opinion: excellent choice for our cultural trip to Weimar. The booked Amalia Suite ( 2 complete rooms, kitchenette ) at a very decent rate can be highly recommended for spaciousness and comfort if you stay for a number of days. Price included plenty of breakfast -choices. Advice: book also the hotel parking ,otherwise you will get parking problems in the historic centre.

Room Tip: Pamper yourself and go for one of the two available suites for not so much extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellady_Heidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
262 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Anna Amalia has a great location central to Alt Weimar. The hotel is modern, yet blends in with the old surroundings. The staff is friendly, the breakfasts are varied and served in a large cheery room with lost of windows. Reserved parking for a fee in the basement is available. I'd return, with no hesitancy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed here for two nights, arriving without a reservation. This hotel is friendly and quiet and right on the edge of Weimar's old town. I was originally given a room facing the street. Since it was warm enough that I needed to open the windows and I sleep best with dead silence, I asked for a room facing the back. The front desk staff were happy to change the room, and I was very satisfied with a room facing the back.
I paid 70 euros for one person with a king-size bed, including the usual full German breakfast buffet. It was a fair price.
For those arriving by car, the hotel does have a parking garage, but it was full when I arrived. I was directed to a public parking deck near the post office, a walk of 3-4 minutes from the door of the hotel. After first navigating the very narrow streets near the hotel with my car, I preferred the public parking deck, which was just outside the old city center and much easier to get in and out of. The price for the public deck (maximum of 15 euros/day) and the fee charged by the hotel for parking (posted as 12 euros/day) were comparable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weimar hotels
1.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Weimar
Leonardo Hotel Weimar
#5 of 22 in Weimar
431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dorint Am Goethepark Weimar
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Grand Hotel Russischer Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kaiserin Augusta
Hotel Kaiserin Augusta
#8 of 22 in Weimar
192 reviews
3.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Hotel Weimar
0.3 mi away
Amalienhof
Amalienhof
#6 of 22 in Weimar
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anna Amalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anna Amalia

Property: Hotel Anna Amalia
Address: Geleitstr. 8-12, 99423 Weimar, Thuringia, Germany
Location: Germany > Thuringia > Weimar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Weimar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Anna Amalia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gepflegtes und gemütliches Stadthotel im Herzen der Altstadt von Weimar. Das familiengeführte Haus ist im mediterranen Stil gehalten und lässt von Einrichtung und Farben nichts zu wünschen übrig. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Anna Amalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing