We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, very good located”
Review of Hotel Elephant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Elephant
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Weimar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is located at Markt in the middle of Weimar very close to all places you want to visist when you are in Weimar. The Junior Suite we had was very comfortable with a separate sleeping romm with to queen size beds, large bath room with both a shower and a tube. There are two flat screen TV's. The beds were very comfortable. We did not reserve a table in the restaurant by misstake so we had to eat at another place.

Room Tip: We book the room with SPG points and paid the additional 20 EUR to get an upgrade. To my promise we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NilsW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreadietrich, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Nils W.,
I would like to thank you for your good feedback while staying with us in Weimar, at the Hotel Elephant, A Luxury Collection Hotel! We are very happy, that you’ve enjoyed your time here.
Thanks for your kind and precise comments included the hints. We would be very glad to welcome you again at our Hotel and remain
with best regards from Weimar,
Andrea Dietrich
Assistant to the General Manager / PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 424 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

A lovely property. Great bathrooms with make up mirrors. Also a Starwood Resorts member. Kind and helpful desk attendants. Located on the square (a strange driving experience!) We would go back to Weimar to stay at this hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruiserillinois11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreadietrich, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback while staying with us in Weimar, at the Hotel Elephant, A Luxury Collection Hotel! We are very happy, that you’ve enjoyed your time here.
We would be very glad to welcome you again at our Hotel and remain
with best regards from Weimar,
Andrea Dietrich
Assistant to the General Manager / PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I just spent two pleasant evenings in Weimar at the Elephant hotel and want to add my comments to the chain. The historic hotel merits all the praise it has received and offers an excellent central location in the heart of the old city, steps away from most of the attractions visitors will want to see. The rooms are comfortable if a bit limited; the public spaces are outstanding, and the small hotel bar is convenient. I would second the comments of those who note some shortcomings: rooms are not air-conditioned, although except for the hottest nights in summer I can't imagine this is much of a problem. My room cooled off quickly once the sun went down. The business center consists of one computer and a printer but it was never busy while I was there; the staff was helpful, although one desk clerk -- who couldn't have been more friendly and eager to help -- was severely challenged in map reading and directions, sending me off on a wild goose chase to the wrong square or street in search of a particular restaurant. But the night clerks always came through and on my last morning had a taxi waiting for me when I checked out.

Other reviewers have mentioned the breakfast but they are too restrained: this is the buffet to trump all buffets, not so much by quantity but by quality. I counted ten separate hams and innumerable cheeses. And the chef will make you an omelette or, in my case, perfect fried eggs served with delicious local sausages. The back garden is lovely and a great spot to relax with breakfast or dinner. The main restaurant boasts one Michelin star -- reserve in advance.

So while this hotel does have some limits or flaws, it maintains its distinctive character and still easily fits the luxury class model. If the price I paid is any indication, it offers something of a bargain for this class of hotel. Not cheap but far from expensive by American standards. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: No fitness center or pool but guests can get complimentary access to a local fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolm r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreadietrich, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Guest, dear Malcolm R,
I would like to thank you very much for your positive and detailed review of our hotel and taking the time to post your comments. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get.
We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Hotel Elephant Weimar, A Luxury Collection Hotel and we hope to see you again here in Weimar!
Sincerely,
Andrea Dietrich
Assistant to the General Manager / PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Beautifully designed and historic building with comfortable rooms, great showers, friendly and attentive staff. No aircon (though the windows opened) no coffee making facilities in the room, and single mattresses combined to make a double bed, however, excellent bathroom. The staff was consistently friendly and helpful which makes up for what seems to be a regional specialty in surly for most of those who inhabit Weimar.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreadietrich, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Guest, dear James H.,
Thank you so much for your stay in our Hotel Elephant Weimar, A Luxury Collection Hotel!
I also want to thank you for taking time to give this feedback. Thanks for your kind and precise comments included the hints. I will forward your compliments to the departments and would be very happy to see you again at The Hotel Elephant!
With best regards from Weimar
Andrea Dietrich
Assistant to the General Manager / PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night during our drive around this particular area of the former GDR. The hotel fronts the Market square, but we entered into the parking lot which is around the corner on the north side of the hotel. Check in was very quick, the clerk spoke excellent English and was very friendly and pleasant. Due to our SGP platinum status, we were upgraded to a suite at the back of the hotel - # 218 (thank you very much). It was very nice, clean and spacious. The Art Deco or Bauhaus style may appeal to some people more than others. However, upon entry, the room was very stuffy and warm. I asked our accompanying staff member about the A/C. Here was my big surprise - she said that there was no air conditioning, but that she would immediately go get a fan. I was a little shocked, as I had briefly checked out the hotel before booking. Since it is a member of the luxury group and in it's own web site states: " Naturally all rooms incorporate modern technology, such as cable TV, pay-per-view channels, and ISDN connections. Most of the rooms also feature access to our wireless LAN." I assumed it had A/C. I just did not do enough research to find out that there is NO AIR CONDITIONING. We have stayed at Historic boutique hotels (Venice and Istanbul among many others) whose architecture or cost of incorporating central A/C is prohibitive - but they have wonderful, modern, very powerful, self contained units (the likes of which I have never seen in the US) mounted over the doors or in the upper wall corners --- or have a great portable A/C unit (like in Lake Ohrid, Macedonia) that would have been a blessing to have here. Anyhow, we left the windows open and it eventually got down to a tolerable temperature. Other positives - (1) The hotel is in a wonderful location that fronts the market square. From other reviews, it seems that the rooms that face the square have a great view, especially in the Christmas season, but can also be quite noisy. (2) as SPG platinum, we received a complimentary buffet breakfast - thank you again! (3) Very comfortable bed (4) At night, quiet and peaceful in our room (5) Self parking lot very convenient and was 15 euros ( which is below average for what we were charged on our trip for hotel parking). (6) I enjoyed the historic tradition and ambiance of the hotel while some people may think certain aspects are a little outdated. Besides the lack of air conditioning, I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. However, I would not return in the summer or at any other time when there are expected high temperatures until they have some sort of air conditioning available. I remember many years ago, on our trips to Europe, many of the hotels only had A/C available in some rooms, which also were more expensive to book. You had to make certain that you got one of those rooms if you wanted A/C - and sometimes there was even an extra surcharge for the extra electricity used in those rooms with A/C. I would have gladly paid that for a portable A/C unit at the Elephant this time! But I would return at Christmas time!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreadietrich, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest, dear Jack,
Thank you very much for your positive and detailed review of our hotel and taking the time to post your comments. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. I do apologize for the lack of air condition in your room. Unfortunately it is very difficult to find the best way for air condition in every room because of the historic architecture. But we hope to improve the situation in connection with a restyling of the rooms.
We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Hotel Elephant Weimar, A Luxury Collection Hotel and we hope to see you again for your next stay at Christmas here in Weimar!
Sincerely,
Andrea Dietrich
Assistant to the General Manager / PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great hotel. Not cheap. No swimming pool. Fantastic breakfast. Good beds. Worth a visit because of a detailed exhibit about the history of the hotel. 400 years and they're very honest about the more delicate years, such as the construction of a new hotel in retro style, ordered by Hitler, and the period of the DDR when it was an Intertour Hotel. Elaborated texts in German and English. Use both marble staircases to see lots of contemporary graphic art, a Lyonel Feininger painting (probably a copy?), a nude female sculpture by another favourite of Hitler and of course to experiment the bad taste of Hitler and his adepts in the decoration of the library, the dining rooms and the fake Elephant Keller. Acoustics in that place were terrible!

Something completely different. The staff of this hotel consists of people from all ages. Some chambermaids are 40+ and 50+. That's good. Quite often do hotels have a very young staff to cut loan costs and fire people when getting older.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Veleiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreadietrich, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Veleiro,
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast, the room, the art and especially our little exhibition about the history of the hotel. We will forward your compliments to the respective departments including the housekeeping. But also your suggestions have reached us. Many thanks for the remarks.
We would be very glad to welcome you at our Hotel and remain
With best regards from Weimar,
Andrea Dietrich
Assistant to the General Manager / PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is quite an old hotel which has survived wars and been refurbished tastefully. Located right at the town centre within walking distance to all historic buildings, parking is €15 at the back of the building, room is furnished with Bauhaus style furniture, bed is very comfortable and all common rooms are so elegantly furnished. We missed dinner as the fine dining restaurant was closed on Mondays and the other restaurant was fully booked. Breakfast €20 pp, good quality food in an beautiful surrounding. Will come back for more nights for sure.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Warwick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreadietrich, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Warwick,
Thank you so much for your friendly feedback while staying with us in Weimar, at the Hotel Elephant, A Luxury Collection Hotel! Thanks for your kind and precise comments included the hints. Please except my apologies for the closed and fully booked restaurant.
We would be very glad to welcome you at our Hotel and remain
With best regards from Weimar,
Andrea Dietrich
Assistant to the General Manager / PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weimar hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Hotel Russischer Hof
0.2 mi away
Dorint Am Goethepark Weimar
0.9 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Weimar
Leonardo Hotel Weimar
#3 of 22 in Weimar
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Hotel Weimar
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kaiserin Augusta
Hotel Kaiserin Augusta
#8 of 22 in Weimar
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amalienhof
Amalienhof
#5 of 22 in Weimar
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elephant

Address: Markt 19, 99423 Weimar, Thuringia, Germany
Location: Germany > Thuringia > Weimar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Weimar
#1 Family Hotel in Weimar
#4 Romantic Hotel in Weimar
#5 Luxury Hotel in Weimar
Price Range: $155 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Elephant 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Goethe fittingly wrote in his Faust, "Here I am man, here dare it to be." A quote to perfectly describe the Hotel Elephant, Weimar: with an exclusive location right on the Marktplatz square, the hotel delivers a culture of well-being and refined service, as it has since 1696. All 99 luxurious rooms and suites connect culture and art in a fascinating way, characterized by uniquely designed furniture, attention to detail, and a history of famed visitors to this exclusive luxury hotel in Weimar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Elephant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Hotel Weimar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing