We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“With air conditioning would be 5 star for us”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Elephant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elephant
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Weimar
Certificate of Excellence
Fullerton, Ca, USA
Level Contributor
433 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“With air conditioning would be 5 star for us”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night during our drive around this particular area of the former GDR. The hotel fronts the Market square, but we entered into the parking lot which is around the corner on the north side of the hotel. Check in was very quick, the clerk spoke excellent English and was very friendly and pleasant. Due to our SGP platinum status, we were upgraded to a suite at the back of the hotel - # 218 (thank you very much). It was very nice, clean and spacious. The Art Deco or Bauhaus style may appeal to some people more than others. However, upon entry, the room was very stuffy and warm. I asked our accompanying staff member about the A/C. Here was my big surprise - she said that there was no air conditioning, but that she would immediately go get a fan. I was a little shocked, as I had briefly checked out the hotel before booking. Since it is a member of the luxury group and in it's own web site states: " Naturally all rooms incorporate modern technology, such as cable TV, pay-per-view channels, and ISDN connections. Most of the rooms also feature access to our wireless LAN." I assumed it had A/C. I just did not do enough research to find out that there is NO AIR CONDITIONING. We have stayed at Historic boutique hotels (Venice and Istanbul among many others) whose architecture or cost of incorporating central A/C is prohibitive - but they have wonderful, modern, very powerful, self contained units (the likes of which I have never seen in the US) mounted over the doors or in the upper wall corners --- or have a great portable A/C unit (like in Lake Ohrid, Macedonia) that would have been a blessing to have here. Anyhow, we left the windows open and it eventually got down to a tolerable temperature. Other positives - (1) The hotel is in a wonderful location that fronts the market square. From other reviews, it seems that the rooms that face the square have a great view, especially in the Christmas season, but can also be quite noisy. (2) as SPG platinum, we received a complimentary buffet breakfast - thank you again! (3) Very comfortable bed (4) At night, quiet and peaceful in our room (5) Self parking lot very convenient and was 15 euros ( which is below average for what we were charged on our trip for hotel parking). (6) I enjoyed the historic tradition and ambiance of the hotel while some people may think certain aspects are a little outdated. Besides the lack of air conditioning, I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. However, I would not return in the summer or at any other time when there are expected high temperatures until they have some sort of air conditioning available. I remember many years ago, on our trips to Europe, many of the hotels only had A/C available in some rooms, which also were more expensive to book. You had to make certain that you got one of those rooms if you wanted A/C - and sometimes there was even an extra surcharge for the extra electricity used in those rooms with A/C. I would have gladly paid that for a portable A/C unit at the Elephant this time! But I would return at Christmas time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreadietrich, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elephant, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest, dear Jack,
Thank you very much for your positive and detailed review of our hotel and taking the time to post your comments. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. I do apologize for the lack of air condition in your room. Unfortunately it is very difficult to find the best way for air condition in every room because of the historic architecture. But we hope to improve the situation in connection with a restyling of the rooms.
We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Hotel Elephant Weimar, A Luxury Collection Hotel and we hope to see you again for your next stay at Christmas here in Weimar!
Sincerely,
Andrea Dietrich
Assistant to the General Manager / PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    129
    50
    12
    2
See reviews for
61
165
29
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunkirk, France
Level Contributor
103 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great hotel. Not cheap. No swimming pool. Fantastic breakfast. Good beds. Worth a visit because of a detailed exhibit about the history of the hotel. 400 years and they're very honest about the more delicate years, such as the construction of a new hotel in retro style, ordered by Hitler, and the period of the DDR when it was an Intertour Hotel. Elaborated texts in German and English. Use both marble staircases to see lots of contemporary graphic art, a Lyonel Feininger painting (probably a copy?), a nude female sculpture by another favourite of Hitler and of course to experiment the bad taste of Hitler and his adepts in the decoration of the library, the dining rooms and the fake Elephant Keller. Acoustics in that place were terrible!

Something completely different. The staff of this hotel consists of people from all ages. Some chambermaids are 40+ and 50+. That's good. Quite often do hotels have a very young staff to cut loan costs and fire people when getting older.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Veleiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreadietrich, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elephant, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Veleiro,
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast, the room, the art and especially our little exhibition about the history of the hotel. We will forward your compliments to the respective departments including the housekeeping. But also your suggestions have reached us. Many thanks for the remarks.
We would be very glad to welcome you at our Hotel and remain
With best regards from Weimar,
Andrea Dietrich
Assistant to the General Manager / PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This is quite an old hotel which has survived wars and been refurbished tastefully. Located right at the town centre within walking distance to all historic buildings, parking is €15 at the back of the building, room is furnished with Bauhaus style furniture, bed is very comfortable and all common rooms are so elegantly furnished. We missed dinner as the fine dining restaurant was closed on Mondays and the other restaurant was fully booked. Breakfast €20 pp, good quality food in an beautiful surrounding. Will come back for more nights for sure.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Warwick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreadietrich, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elephant, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Warwick,
Thank you so much for your friendly feedback while staying with us in Weimar, at the Hotel Elephant, A Luxury Collection Hotel! Thanks for your kind and precise comments included the hints. Please except my apologies for the closed and fully booked restaurant.
We would be very glad to welcome you at our Hotel and remain
With best regards from Weimar,
Andrea Dietrich
Assistant to the General Manager / PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearny, New Jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Hotel Elephant is a relic from the old days. Located at the main square, it was used by the upper echelons of government during the 30' s and 40's. Close by are the homes of various music masters, as well as the palace of the local ruler in older times. It survived virtually unsacthed from the war and is a lovely place to wander around. The rooms are spacious and the food is very good. Very good service by the staff. There are many places to see and to eat nearby. Best of all, its a great place to stroll around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pacific1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreadietrich, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Elephant, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your stay in Hotel Elephant Weimar, A Luxury Collection Hotel! We are very happy, that you’ve enjoyed your time in Weimar and at the Hotel Elephant. We will forward your compliments to our team. We would be very glad to welcome you again at our Hotel and remain with best regards from Weimar,
Andrea Dietrich
Assistant to the General Manager / PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel which is part of the Sheraton luxury family is located in weimar in the main square. The hotel and square are just surreal to take in as its a very historical area.

Beds were comfty, they charge for internet, however the connections spotty. They charge over 20 euros for breakfast with a limited menu, plenty of cafes in the area to walk to to get a muffin and coffee. One of my fav places is the Anno 1900, great food and service.


The hotel is in the middle of the market area of Weimar. There are tons of locals shops to peruse in the area, and there are many restaurants options to choose from.

Keep in mind many restraurants, coffee shops and stores do not accept credit cards. I would double check before ordering! There are a few ATMS in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreadietrich, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Elephant, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Rob,
Thank you very much for your feedback while staying with us in Weimar, at the Hotel Elephant, A Luxury Collection Hotel! We are very happy, that you’ve enjoyed your time here.
We would be very glad to welcome you again at our Hotel and remain
with best regards from Weimar,
Andrea Dietrich
Assistant to the General Manager / PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Elephant is THE place to stay when visiting Weimar. Perfect location, room 228 is amazing and the team went above and beyond despite having a very full house due to a convention. Cannot wait to return again soon!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyTraveliciousLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreadietrich, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Elephant, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you so much for your stay in Hotel Elephant Weimar, A Luxury Collection Hotel!
Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. Wonderful!
We would be very glad to welcome you again at our Hotel and remain
with best regards from Weimar,
Andrea Dietrich
Assistant to the General Manager / PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The location of this hotel is second to none, right in the dead centre of town and walking distance to all the main attractions.

The rooms are modern, tastefully furnished and huge by european standards.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the restaurant is also well worth a visit.

Would definately stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katewitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreadietrich, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Elephant, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you so much for your stay with us in Weimar in the Hotel Elephant Weimar, A Luxury Collection Hotel! Thanks a lot also for your kind and precise comments.
We would be very glad to welcome you at our Hotel and remain
with best regards from Weimar,
Andrea Dietrich
Assistant to the General Manager / PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weimar hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Grand Hotel Russischer Hof
0.2 mi away
Dorint Am Goethepark Weimar
0.9 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Weimar
Leonardo Hotel Weimar
#5 of 22 in Weimar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Hotel Weimar
0.2 mi away
Amalienhof
Amalienhof
#6 of 22 in Weimar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
2.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Dorotheenhof Weimar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elephant

Property: Hotel Elephant
Address: Markt 19, 99423 Weimar, Thuringia, Germany
Location: Germany > Thuringia > Weimar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Weimar
#1 Family Hotel in Weimar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Weimar
#4 Romantic Hotel in Weimar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Elephant 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Goethe fittingly wrote in his Faust, "Here I am man, here dare it to be." A quote to perfectly describe the Hotel Elephant, Weimar: with an exclusive location right on the Marktplatz square, the hotel delivers a culture of well-being and refined service, as it has since 1696. All 99 luxurious rooms and suites connect culture and art in a fascinating way, characterized by uniquely designed furniture, attention to detail, and a history of famed visitors to this exclusive luxury hotel in Weimar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Elephant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Hotel Weimar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing