We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit if you have the cash”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Anno 1900

Anno 1900
Ranked #3 of 4 Dessert in Weimar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Charmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if you have the cash”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Last day here in Weimar and went for a special occasion meal to the Anno 1900. Well the service was very good, only two waiters who were under pressure but perfect service. The menue and food was different but above what I'd normally pay, but we new that before we arrived. There was a hiccup with my wife's meal, but they cooked a new meal which was great but just a little behind the rest of the party. Now let's sum up the evening. My three day trip to Weimar was nice but the city is a one off and two days visit not three. The restaurants in general are all overrated compared with a normal german city, but it's a different city. I went to Erfurt for a trip and that's where I would go and stay and have a day trip to Weimar, but we all learn lessons in life. However a nice restaurant to finish our trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HarryHornet09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    49
    23
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheney, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“creative and delicious!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

a friend took us to his favourite place in weimar and he sure didn't promise too much. the menu promised a lot and the meal we got certainly could live up to it. my buddy chose salad, my german friend and i shared a plate of carpaccio and all three of us had steak as main couse. haven't had a steak as good as this since my stop in texas a couple years ago! it might have been a lucky punch, but it sure was a delicious one...
for dessert i had a variety of cheese, the other two had an exotic version of creme brule and chocolate mousse - each of us was more than satisfied with his choice.
we barely had to wait for our meal and the wine we were recommended went along just fabulously. This evening was as close to perfect as i could think.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crazykonzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect...”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Went with friends - their second time - and it was delightful. Cozy interior, intriguing menu - some new dishes, and some traditional - great wine list - friendly, helpful server - could have stayed there for hours, in fact I think we did!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gogirlIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warmond NL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our favourite for the late hours...”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

After all the cultural work, you need a quiet glass of wine and some late snacks : here you have all and more , even on an old-fashioned sofa. Young staff, intellectual-looking public ( not just the eager retiree-tourist, but also good locals...)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travellady_Heidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome little restaurant with delicious food.”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My work group had dinner here after getting a late tour of Weimar. Amazing town with some great history, but that's another review. Anyway, this is such a cool little restaurant! Very nice atmosphere - non-pretentious, just a place to relax and enjoy a great beer and wonderful meal. I had the ostrich steak - excellent. My soup, avocado-lime as I remember, was an excellent blend of flavors. The two desserts enjoyed at the table were delicious, too.

All in all, the food was great across the board, and I think that we all enjoyed the meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GT_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anno 1900 also viewed

 

Been to Anno 1900? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing