We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly-OK place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Jena
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Jena
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Highly-OK place to stay”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Have stayed in this revamped Communist housing complex many times. It is somewhat in the suburbs of Jena and a little bit of a walk from the tram terminus, but I haven't been disappointed on any occasions and can commend both the buffet breakfasts provided and the diligence and helpfulness of the staff, who once went so far as calling-up a tame taxi driver to convey self and an unwell colleague to the Jena town centre emergency doctors and then to the 'Apotek' - all at no cost - that was exceedingly kind, as it all took nearly two hours of taxi time.

I believe a lot of coach tours now stop off here on their way to and fro the East, and personally would look forward to a stopover here.

The Zur Weitraube Gasthof is not far away, towards the tram terminus, and is a good alternative place to go for a meal and a few drinks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    48
    45
    11
    1
See reviews for
11
27
12
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Papendrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I've stayed one night at this hotel, early December 2012.
The rooms are looking as a mix of a bit outdated with the doorlock you need to open with a kind of plastic punchcard, but there is a modern flatscreen TV in the room.
You need to push that card really deep into the lock, otherwise the door will not open.

The room itself.
Most important: It was clean !
A balcony with a nice view. I did had a front viewing room.
The bed was nice, I did sleep well.
About the TV, as said is OK.
Although the bathroom was a bit crampy, everything worked as it should do.
There was no place for the wassing bassin in the bathroom, so the bassin was in the room itself.
Interresting concept.
Excuse me for the poor photo quality of my mobile phone. But it will give an idea of the room.

Diner.
Since it took a while before the ordered food was delivered, I assume it is fresh cooked.
The only minor detail, I did recieve other food than I ordered.
OK, I did not mind, as this was also nice food, but be aware you get what you ordered.

Breakfast.
German style breakfast, everything ok for me.

Staff, very, very friendly.

So summary:
Hotel is worth the money, although you need to keep an eye on the food you ordered is the food served.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pa3ddg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed several nights while on a business trip to Jena. Generally I don't choose western chains but this was selected by our business partners from among the few options available in Jena.

Overall, this appears to be a hotel in need of remodelling. The carpets are worn and the color scheme is dated. The rooms were decent, the breakfast was very good, the hotel staff was helpful. Laundry service is expensive, 2x for overnight service. In summary, the BW Jena met our needs but wasn't particularly nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chasam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is far from being a 4 star hotel, it reminds me of the Post House hotels of about 20 years ago. Solid, did the job business hotels but each one was completely unmemorable. The bar area was one of the most depressing I have come across in years and having recently stayed in a couple of other German hotels the lack of imagination going on here is almost unforgivable
Positives the hotel was clean, beds were comfortable and rooms generally quite. The breakfast buffet was plentiful with all the usual choices: cold meats, smoked salmon, pickled fish and hot items such as scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages all well prepared. The usual selection of excellent German bread and rolls with lots of jams was also ample.
I would not stay here again, its not cheap and unless you really want to stay in Jena there has to be better options.

The hotel is about 5Km outside Jena at the end of a the 5 tram line and looks across to another Jena suburb Lobida. this translates into a 10/15 minute minute drive into the town.
Jena is a big science and technology centre with a big and prestigious university that dates back to 1550 formally the home of Carl Ziess now Jena Optik.

Room Tip: Don't bother unless you really have no alternative
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMagicDougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Stayed at this hotel as part of a coach tour and only stayed the one night. However the hotel was very clean although the room was a little cramped. It was unusual to find the wash hand basin in the bedroom and fixed squeegee soaps are not my favourite, but was not a great inconvenience. Good choice of breakfast buffet and the service was prompt and efficient. Wi-fi worked well and the passwords were in the room and the system worked well. Had our evening meal there and the buffet was plentiful and the choice excellent and well cooked. The staff were friendly and spoke excellent English, as my German is very poor. All round a good clean hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

One of the best hotels I ever been to. Exellent service, beautiful rooms and superb breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2005

lovely hotel, nice friendly staff, good food, couldnt ask for more

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WeWantAnotherHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jena hotels
1.0 mi away
Steigenberger Maxx Hotel
2.6 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Esplanade
2.6 mi away
Ibis Jena City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Haus Orchideental
0.4 mi away
Jembo Park
Jembo Park
#13 of 14 in Jena
26 reviews
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
Akademiehotel Jena
#8 of 14 in Jena
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Jena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Jena

Property: Best Western Hotel Jena
Address: Rudolstaedter Strasse 82, 07745 Jena, Thuringia, Germany
Location: Germany > Thuringia > Jena
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Jena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Jena 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Hotel Jena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Jena
Jena Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing