We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveler rating
20
17
3
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
20
17
3
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews martin luther guest house monastery monk receptionist euro
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 45 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2018

Visiting the St. Augustine's Monastery in Erfurt in central Germany was a very nice experience This is a former church and monastery complex dating from the 13th century. It was built by Augustinian monks and it is most well known as the former home of Martin Luther (1483-1546), the father of the Reformation, who lived there as a monk from 1505 until 1511.

There are a number of original features that are still there to give you a glimpse of what it must have been like to be a monk living there.

There is also a guest house attached to the monastery where you can stay at a very reasonable price. The place is beautiful and it disconnect you from the hustle and bustle of the world.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gureni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2018 via mobile

I highly recommend the Augustinerkloster as a one of a kind experience in the very charming city of Erfurt. If you are interested in learning the in depth history of one of history's most significant "change agents" Martin Luther then you HAVE TO STAY HERE.
The rooms are spotlessly clean, quiet, and provide all "necessaries." The price is great, the breakfast more than adequate, and the location perfect for walking the delightful old town of ErFurt. The Martin Luther Museum is a MUST. No need for tour. Just buy ticket for Museum only. Explanations are in both English and German so read away. That being said, here are points that I hope someone at Augustinerkloster will read. Our reservation Email advised that we had to arrive before 6, so we were their promptly at 5:30. The receptionist literally "threw" the keys across desk to me, had me sign a paper, and then hurriedly drew a rough map showing me the way to find our room. When asked about parking, again she drew a very rough map directing us to a garage, with no idea of the cost. ( We had asked about parking via email prior to arrival, but no one indicated it would be a problem. ) parking cost was 9.50 Euro overnight. She told us nothing about wifi which we discovered the next morning would have been available ( I guess I should have asked BEFORE she locked the reception door promptly at 6!!!) . Her directions to the room were poor at best and thankfully we encountered a nice man near the kitchen who redirected us. Oh yes, there were two keys on the ring, but we had to figure out on our own what they opened. One was to an outer gate which led right to the courtyard where our room was located. Sure would gave Been nice to KNOW!! The reason I make this point is that as American tourism increases in Erfurt, and as this will become a destination for those interested in the roots of the Reformation, it would be great if this most amazing spot would just make a tiny bit more effort to offer courtesy as well as a comfortable accommodation.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 916virginiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2017

Definitely a must see in Erfurt. It was like stepping back in time to walk in the footsteps of ones who dedicated their lives to reform Christianity. Make sure to see the Martin Luther exhibit while here.

Date of stay: September 2017
1  Thank SuperwonderPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2017 via mobile

The Lutheran Augustinian Monastery offers very reasonable, comfortable, well appointed rooms in an historic setting within walking distance of all other "must see" sites . This is an opportunity to stay where Martin Luther lived and served as a monk. The double rooms all have twin beds because the former monastery is used to house religious groups who come for retreats and conferences. All rooms have private baths, and the monastery has a wonderful buffet breakfast included in the price of the room. Private and group tours of the monastery are available.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank BnCrXplorerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017

We stayed one night in the Monastery area dedicated to housing mostly groups who are in Erfurt to devote time to seeing Luther sites and studying his impact on the world. That said, my husband and I were warmly welcomed at the reception desk and given a key for the outside door as the reception closes at 6:00 p.m. An employee gave us a short tour of the chapel in English before we went to our room. We were free to come and go at any time and were able to use the area available for group relaxation with coffee/tee service. Our room was more spacious than I expected and looked into the inner courtyard. We were very comfortable there although note that there is no TV nor are there extra "comforts" of a hotel. This facility is more like a dorm setting for groups. The breakfast area was very pleasant with plenty of options-even pancakes and syrup, which we never saw at any hotel or guesthouse in our travels in Germany. All in all, this was an excellent choice for us as we were in Erfurt to absorb the Luther "atmosphere" and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the small and pretty city.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews