We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big, flashy and expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dorint Hotel am Dom Erfurt
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Erfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big, flashy and expensive”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a big new flashy hotel between the Cathedral and the Opera House, though in a soulless modern development. It has the advantages and disadvantages of a chain hotel aimed mainly at the business market. Erfurt is not a cheap place to stay and this is at the luxury end, with enormous rooms/suites, if you want that sort of thing - and at appropriate prices. Staff efficient but not particularly friendly. The Accorhotels booking system is a nightmare. I got what I thought was the best two-day package and then found that I could have paid less on a different part of their website. On this package you get one breakfast 'free' and the other you have to pay 19 euro for, but you get a voucher for the bar or meals in the restaurant for 15 euro - though I had to stand my ground and argue that 'meals in the restaurant' included breakfast, as the desk clerk tried to insist that this did was not included! Also, check what has been debited from your credit card as pre-payment, as the confirmation I received by email did not tally with what the hotel thought I still had to pay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    243
    70
    21
    9
See reviews for
59
279
46
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My mother, who is in a wheelchair and stayed at this Pullman hotel, could not stop raving about how wonderful this hotel is! Her room was spacious, and the bathroom was large and perfect for people in wheelchairs. We were all impressed. Also, the staff are very friendly and accommodating. The breakfasts were tasty and there was a wide selection. The only set back to this hotel was the bar food. It was subpar and expensive to say the least. We were convinced it was just frozen food heated up and then ridiculously overpriced. The hotel generously gave her a 15 Euro voucher, however that didn't even cover my mother's hamburger!
Overall, a very, very good hotel - especially for the less able-bodied. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone; however, just avoid the food from the bar!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OmiMayet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights and booked a few days ahead of time which lead to a reasonable room rate. The rooms are like a mini suite. So you have a living room and bedroom. both with flat screen TVS and very comfortable.
Very quiet rooms

Parking is 13.50 Euro a day
Service is very good so I do not understand the complaints some people wrote.

Breakfast is also very good. big selection and freshly prepared omelets, freshly squeezed OJ etc.

So i would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelRaoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Traveling on business, I actually had no idea what to expect in Erfurt. My colleagues and I were so taken with the city, that we decided to stay an extra night.

The hotel itself is big, new and modern, with a huge atrium that runs through the center. The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet (mine faced the atrium). The staff was particularly helpful, and seemed to remember our names when we came by the desk to extend the reservation. The highlights were free wi-fi, which I always appreciate, the attached underground parking and a surprisingly generous breakfast buffet. Because the weather was nice, we also enjoyed the small outdoor deck for breakfast and afternoon drinks.

I think this property bills itself as a 5-star, but by American standards, it's not really what I think of at that level. I picture something like a St. Regis or Conrad. I'd say this feels more like a 4-star Sheraton, but a nice Sheraton in any case.

If you do stay here, try to find the Spanish tapas place down an alley, just off the square (called Catalana). I don't know if it's authentic, but it was delicious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed two nights at this modern well-designed hotel and were taken aback by the unfailing friendliness and helpfulness of the staff - not always what you get in 4/5* hotels, although the well-designed, quiet and clean rooms and availability of the usual features (spa, good dining, underground parking, free wifi) were certainly as expected. Excellent breakfast and (after outdoor opera) late night bar snacks.

Room Tip: Quieter facing the atrium. Many German visitors still smoke, so make sure to ask for non-smoking if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biblioswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skoedstrup, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The main problem with sleep quality was that the airconditioning system was under dimensioned from the responsable consulting engineers or it was malfunctioning. In the period we staid with the hotel the day temperature was about 29 degrees C in the day an cooler in the night. The room temperature was too high about 25 or more. Ambient of 29 C is design conditions and not "Force Major" conditions.
Otherwise everything else was pleasant and nice. The people were friendly and kind and food was nice

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Alex_8541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erfurt hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Hotel Erfurt Altstadt
0.5 mi away
Ibis Erfurt Altstadt
Ibis Erfurt Altstadt
#5 of 45 in Erfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kramerbrucke Erfurt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Erfurt
1.3 mi away
Victor's Residenz-Hotel Erfurt
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Hotel am Dom Erfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Hotel am Dom Erfurt

Property: Dorint Hotel am Dom Erfurt
Address: Theaterplatz 2, 99084, Erfurt, Thuringia, Germany (Formerly Arcadia Grand Hotel Am Dom)
Location: Germany > Thuringia > Erfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Erfurt
#1 Spa Hotel in Erfurt
#1 Business Hotel in Erfurt
#2 Luxury Hotel in Erfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorint Hotel am Dom Erfurt 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! The Dorint Hotel am Dom Erfurt is located in Thuringia's state capital, in the middle of Germany. Thanks to its This phenomenal hotel with personal service offers the perfect place to discover Erfurt with its places of interest: the famous Mariendom, the Severie Church and the oldest inhabited bridge north of the Alps named Krämerbrücke. Opened in 2004, the modern style of the Dorint Hotel am Dom Erfurt, with its wide, light structures, is everything a stylish hotel should be. Contentment and harmonious As soon as you enter the lobby, you have an appointment with an atrium flooded with light. This transparency, design, functionality and comfort you will also find in the 160 stylishly furnished rooms and suites. The spacious rooms in modern colors create an atmosphere of amenity and reach the highest possible standards with their elegant marble baths, air conditioning, minibar and individual safes. With a high-speed Internet connection, the rooms also offer every technical comfort necessary. Delightful food and kindness Experience a variety of regional and international specialities in our restaurant "Gloriosa". Our restaurant "Gloriosa" owns an excellent reputation. Our lobby bar invites you to enjoy our excellent cocktails and drinks. The conference concept The conference concept offers the latest communication and presentation technology, extensively equipped conference rooms and creative break ideas. A selection of highprofile presenters, entertainers and speakers - are available to add to the appeal of your event. Wellness Peace and quietness you will find in our exclusive wellness are. Equipped with a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, solarium and fitness area. Enjoy a little taste of the Caribbean over 320 sq m and spoil yourself with various massages like hot stone. For those who love sports, you can have a nice workout in the fitness room and on the jogging routes of various nearby parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Dorint Hotel am Dom Erfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Erfurt Am Dom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing