We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for the station, but some drawbacks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Erfurt
York, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Convenient for the station, but some drawbacks”
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Our third visit to this hotel, and each visit seems not quite as good as the last. This time we had a problem with the room door which wouldn't lock from the outside. The reception staff were unable to fix the problem and the hotel was fully booked so we couldn't change rooms. The next day we packed our bags to change rooms, but the problem seemingly sorted itself out. All rather inconvenient, and all we were offered in return was 2 free drinks each in the bar. Our room faced onto the street and there were some issues with noise from shouty people. The breakfast offering consisted of a reasonably good range of hot and cold items, though the hot selection was a bit disappointing (scrambled egg with lots of green bits in it?!) As noted in my previous review, the hotel restaurant is not normally open on Saturday and Sunday, which means the bar isn't open either, and that's not really good enough. The best feature of this hotel is the convenient location close to the railway station.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dennis_Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    66
    22
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
38
7
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Ideally located for the main railway station. Our room was very large and comfortable, with free wi-fi Internet. Excellent breakfast included in the rate, which was very good value for money. Staff very helpful and friendly. Just one criticism - the bar and restaurant are only open Monday to Friday, so if you stay at the weekend, there is no bar. In my view, therefore, this is not a 4 star hotel at weekends! We ended up having to use the mini-bar in the room for our nightcap. Other than that, well recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis_Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Hotel is located along the main street around 500m from the railway station. It is a small friendly establishment and the staff were very helpful on arrival with places to eat, things to do etc. The rooms are small and slightly dated but fine and the morning breakfast buffet is well laid out and plentiful. A good location for the main attractions which are all within walking distance. The hotel gave an access card for internet access. I would recommend.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PQrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

Close to the train station and public transportation. Very quiet, clean room. Friendly service. Great Breakfast.

  • Liked — Great Resturant
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gzsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2006

I stayed here for 4 nights in May whilst on holiday with my friend. It worked out at around €72 (approx £50) per single room per night including an excellent buffet breakfast. It was the first time I had ever had smoked salmon at breakfast.

We had booked 2 single rooms. My friend was given a double room on the first floor and I was given a huge twin room on the fourth room, complete with a settee and 2 armchairs. The rooms were well-furnished and very comfortable. One slight downside was that my room overlooked the ring road, so with the window left open there was some traffic noise at night.

The hotel was well-situated. There were shops nearby including a small supermarket opposite. The hotel was a minute from the tram stop, 2/3 minutes walk to the Railway Station and a few minutes walk in the other direction to the main part of the town centre. The staff spoke some English, and there were English translations on the dishes at breakfast.

Erfurt is a charming small town. While there, I would thoroughly recommend a visit to Ega (a tram ride on the No 2 from Anger). It is much more than a garden, with greenhouses, a butterfly house, good garden history museum (with an English translation available from the desk) and various exhibitions. Well worth the €5 admission price (€4 with Erfurt Card).

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisTheSearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erfurt hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Erfurt Altstadt
0.8 mi away
Dorint Hotel am Dom Erfurt
0.3 mi away
Ibis Erfurt Altstadt
Ibis Erfurt Altstadt
#5 of 45 in Erfurt
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Erfurt
0.4 mi away
Hotel Am Kaisersaal
Hotel Am Kaisersaal
#4 of 45 in Erfurt
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kramerbrucke Erfurt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Excelsior

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel Excelsior
Address: Bahnhofstr. 35, 99084, Erfurt, Thuringia, Germany
Location: Germany > Thuringia > Erfurt
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Erfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HRS, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Erfurt
Erfurt Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing