We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Romantik Hotel auf der Wartburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Romantik Hotel auf der Wartburg
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Eisenach
Certificate of Excellence
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Easily the best hotel experience of this holiday - and possibly several others!
We were ferried from the car park to the castle almost immediately on arrival, and led to the reception desk to be offered cold drinks and a seat whilst we booked in. This set the scene for the excellent service we had during our regrettably short stay. We (husband & self plus a friend) had booked a DBB package combined with a tour of the castle which we had to do on the arrival day rather than the day of departure due to a state visit - fortunately I noticed this on the castle website and we arrived a bit earlier than originally planned, no problems at the hotel with the early arrival. Luggage was carried upstairs for us to our room with a glorious view. The only slight niggles I had with our (double) room were a faint (characterful!) drain aroma and it was very warm (no air-con in the hotel) but my request for a fan to help with both problems was met promptly and cheerfully, and the view meant the windows were open for the whole of our stay!
The dining room was delightful and our four-course set meal (plus additional offerings) excellent including a super cured venison; service throughout was attentive and pleasant. Do eat in the restaurant rather than the courtyard and enjoy the sunset...it's lovely.
There is a charming guest lounge/reading room. All staff were very accommodating and helpful. We didn't get round to using the spa facilities available to us so can't comment except to say do book treatments in advance if you want them.
Breakfast was plentiful and leisurely despite the preparations for two weddings going on unobtrusively in the background. Sekt offered along with the orange juice sets a celebratory tone to the day!
Memorable - watching distant lightning from the dining room terrace and our bedroom, listening to the owls in the silence of the night, and watching from our bed as the early morning mist parted like a sea over the Thuringian forest...

Room Tip: Just ask the hotel staff if you have particular requirements - they are immensely helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roobee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    57
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
30
100
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
235 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Arriving rather late after an awful drive, it was wonderful to be met with such courtesy.
The receptionist came out into the rain to meet me and (upon previous notification) made it possible to dine at the late hour.
The restaurant offers good value for money. The venison was very tasty and Thüringer Klösse should be tried by all.
After dinner I found the luggage had been transported to my room - a pleasing service since the hotel has no elevator.
The room was spacious and offered any comfort which can be expected of a house of this category.
Breakfast was ample, there was a vast variety of foods available from cake to muesli to sausages and cheeses and four different egg dishes were procurable.
Outstanding, and extremely rare to be found today, is the luxury of a reading room. I would recommend retiring there for a quiet hour of relaxation.
The professionalism and friendlyness of the staff deserves special mention.
The experience alltogether reminds of a stay at one of the good old family run grand houses.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blauemadeleine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
281 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a two-night stay at the Hotel Auf Der Wartburg, and we couldn't speak higher of it.
The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating, the room was immaculately clean and comfortable, and the restaurant was especially warm and romantic.
The included breakfast was the best that I have seen in Europe. In addition to a large buffet of breads, cheeses, meats, fish, vegetables, fruits, yogurts, cereals, teas, juices and sekt, you could request eggs made to order, a selection of hot meats (the best bacon I've found in Europe!), and pancakes with fresh fruit.
We dined two nights at the restaurant, and both evenings we were throughly pleased. I especially recommend the quail and deer dishes; both were fantastic.
We didn't use the sauna area, but it looked wonderful, as well.
We were able to make this trip work because of a Travelzoo voucher: 2 nights, a bottle of sekt, and breakfasts included for 330 euros. I've been known to be a penny-pincher, and even I would say it was well worth it!

Room Tip: We had a basic room and it was just fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mollyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

Great location. Very good food. Outstanding service

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bdcotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

From the moment of your beginning assent up the winding tree lined road, you get the feeling you are in for something special... and you are! The hotel shuttle picks you up from the car park and takes you the remaining few hundred yards.
You arrive in the inner courtyard which looks like it must have for the past several hundred years.
The service from the shuttle porter to the concierge, the wait staff in restaurant and at breakfast to the last help with your luggage back at the park is outstanding!
The hotel rooms are well appointed, charming comfortable and include all the amenities one expects in a deluxe hotel. We were totally pleased with our room's east view facing over the forested valley..
The restaurant, also with a panoramic view, is high standard, good variety and a very good wine collection. It is a romantic setting for dinner by candlelight..
It is truly one of the finest and complete castle / chateau / palace hotel experiences we have had in the 30 trips to Europe we have made in the last 25 years. Be sure to check out the guest only "living room" for afternoon coffee. Hopefully you can be there in a season when the fireplace is needed,
Our stay was such a wonderful experience, we will stay here in the future as a destination instead of just being a hotel on our itinerary, If it is in your budget, even as a splurge we cannot imagine being disappointed!

Room Tip: We stayed in an Elizabeth Zimmer which would have been classified a junior suite in dozens of other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTCBear19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

The service was really 5 star. The room was rather small, and the bathroom was tiny, but did include a tub and lots of soaps and other amenities. Everything was super clean. Dinner in the restaurant was elegant, but still family friendly. The buffet was extravagent and extensive, with lots of fresh fruits, vegetables, meats, yogurts, etc. The view was extraordinary and the ambience with the medieval Christmas market right outside was simply magical. We toured the castle, where Luther translated the bible into German in the morning before our checkout and it was pretty neat. Although this was the most expensive place we stayed, we will definitely be back next Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BetsySteinhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

Following in the footsteps of Martin Luther we decided to visit the Wartburg from our base in Leipzig. Arriving at the castle at mid-day we thought that we were in for a tourist-riddled snack somewhere.

Climbing up to the castle we found this gem - lunch was not overly expensive and the surroundings, staff and the view were all lovely. Lunch was good too and the staff suitably refined and attentively invisible.

If we were to return - then a night here would probably be on the cards - though not too sure about parking arrangements - as it would seem that you have to park in the large tourist park below.

So ignore the ratings for rooms and sleep - we experienced neither on this trip but definitely thought the hotel worth commenting upon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomasatatamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eisenach hotels
1.0 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Thuringer Hof
2.2 mi away
pentahotel Eisenach
pentahotel Eisenach
#1 of 39 in Eisenach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Haus Hainstein Eisenach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Berghotel Eisenach
Berghotel Eisenach
#12 of 39 in Eisenach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ibis Hotel Eisenach
Ibis Hotel Eisenach
#5 of 39 in Eisenach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Glockenhof Eisenach
Hotel Glockenhof Eisenach
#8 of 39 in Eisenach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel auf der Wartburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel auf der Wartburg

Property: Romantik Hotel auf der Wartburg
Address: Auf der Wartburg 2, 99817 Eisenach, Thuringia, Germany
Location: Germany > Thuringia > Eisenach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Eisenach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Romantik Hotel auf der Wartburg 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wartburg has retained its friendly hospitality, since the times of the first pilgrims that knocked on its doors. Welcome, service and a good night's lodging have always been - and still are - a well-kept tradition at the Romantik Hotel auf der Wartburg. Now, after more than hundred years as the "Gasthof fur frohliche Leut'" (guesthouse for merry people) the Romantik Hotel auf der Wartburg presents itself once again as a place of comfort, of calm and merriment. As a guest, to feel comfortable and secure as if at home might have become a rare thing - but it is not impossible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Romantik Hotel auf der Wartburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing