We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of timings, staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wartburg Castle

Wartburg Castle
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Eisenach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This imposing medieval fortress, which stands atop a mountain on the outskirts of Eisenach, is best known as the place where Martin Luther sought refuge following his excommunication in 1521 and serves as one of Germany's most prolific national symbols.
Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beware of timings, staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I came to Eisenach for no other reason than to visit the Wartburg, where Luther began translating the Bible. The castle is nice and very scenic, it offers a nice walk back to town through the woods and many surrounding trails and nice views. But timings are confusing. The last guided trip is at 5pm, and the castle gates close at 8pm. What people will not tell you at the tourism office downtown is that you can only see the Luther room - or any other room - if you take a tour. Also, not all tours take you to the Luther room, so if that's what brings you to the Wartburg, keep that in mind and ask before you go. These caveats noted, the Wartburg is definitely worth the visit and should not be missed. A final word: do not count on friendly staff. I had a very poor experience, people there seemed to hate their work and had no interest in making my visit enjoyable.

Helpful?
1 Thank padregerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    220
    35
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wartburg Castle Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Awesome experience! Good guided tour (check ahead of time for when English speaking tours occur!) Beautiful castle with much historical significance.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank teacher_from_Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
461 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Such a nice place to visit, the view on the top of the hill is stunning, and the castle is very well preserved. There are guided tours even in english, and for a few Euros you can visit this amazing castle inside. A very good option to spend a saturday or sunday with your family or friends. Dont forget to try the Thüringer rostbratwurst, a special sausage from the region.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Graziella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
196 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Lovely castle, great guide in English.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Very nice castle with loads to show. Obviously a gem to Germans. Got a great guide in English, helpful information, even suggested what else is there to see in the area. Very knowledgeable indeed. Staff nice. Went for a drink in the old pub in the castle and were really happy too. A must. Won't regret it.

Helpful?
Thank janab007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
1,014 reviews
443 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 832 helpful votes
“Castle 5, Tour 0”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was my third visit to the Wartburg Castle in the last 20 years and the least satisfying. The beauty and historical significance are still there. We took the guided tour again as we accompanied guests who had not been there before. The tour was virtually the same as that taken on two previous visits. The young lady who guided the tour was horrible and reminded me of a professor 50 years ago who so ruined one of the most interesting historical figures for me that I had not read anything by him until this year. First, there were too many of us to be herded efficiently from room to room. Despite her constant smile, she droned on with a recitation of facts, uninterrupted by a noisy baby or loud conversations among several visitors. There was no time for questions, no stories to engage the visitor. History is one of my passions, but even I did not know half the people of whom she spoke and I doubt that any in our group did. This ‘lecture’ was the wrong one for this group. How I wish we could have done the tour without this guide – or any for that matter.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DonPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wartburg Castle also viewed

Eisenach, Thuringia
Eisenach, Thuringia
 
Eisenach, Thuringia
 

Been to Wartburg Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing