We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location close to old town and harbour but sleeping was difficult!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alter Kreisbahnhof
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Schleswig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We booked 3 nights at this hotel, having come from Australia to trace our ancestors. The front of the Hotel Alter Kreisbahnhof is right on a busy intersection with traffic lights. The small room we were given looked directly onto the lights and had curtains that did not filter out much light. The traffic was too noisy to open the windows and the room was hot without fan or air conditioner. The sun was up by 5.30am and came right through the curtains. We asked to change rooms and were given a room at the back of the hotel the next day. This was quieter and a little bigger, but with the same tiny bathroom. It also had some venetian blinds which helped the light problem in the mornings and we were able to open the windows to sleep. The view was better, overlooking a car park, and we could see the spire of the Dom. Staff spoke English well and were polite and helpful. Breakfast was good. This hotel is popular with German business conventions and older German couples. The dining room is a little old fashioned; we did not eat dinner there. Umbrellas, outdoor tables and chairs make a nice spot to sit in the late afternoon out the back of the hotel, but the car park surroundings are not pretty! There are plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. If you
arrive by train you must get a bus or a taxi to the hotel. The bus service is very good and the central bus depot is opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pghms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 63 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2009

The Alter Kreisbahnhof is very well located for Schleswig's cathedral and old town. Our room was fairly spacious, light and airy; straightforward but nothing fancy. My only real quibble with the room would that the bathroom was a bit of a tight squeeze. Breakfast was very good, with a nicely presented selection of cold meats and cheese.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2008

We had a wonderful three night visit to Schleswig and stayed at the
Hotel Alter Kreisbahnhof
The hotel was really delightful and the staff friendly and helpful - the room was light and airy and the beds were most comfortable . . We would certainly stay t here again
The situation of the Hotel was fantastic for exploring Schleswig within walking distance of almost everywhere.
Car parking was also good
Overall a brilliant Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dustydaisy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Søren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Setzepfandt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mesiebusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Vivipigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schleswig
1.9 mi away
Hotel Waldschloesschen
Hotel Waldschloesschen
#1 of 9 in Schleswig
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Strandhalle
Hotel Strandhalle
#4 of 9 in Schleswig
74 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Zollhaus
Hotel Zollhaus
#2 of 9 in Schleswig
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schleiblick
Hotel Schleiblick
#6 of 9 in Schleswig
12 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel an der Schlei
Hotel an der Schlei
#1 of 1 in Fahrdorf
27 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Deutscher Hof
Hotel Deutscher Hof
#9 of 9 in Schleswig
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alter Kreisbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alter Kreisbahnhof

Address: Koenigstr. 9, 24837 Schleswig, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Location: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Schleswig
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Schleswig
Price Range: $120 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alter Kreisbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alter Kreisbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing