We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Tradition”
Review of Heinrich Boll

Heinrich Boll
Ranked #214 of 441 Restaurants in Lubeck
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 13, 2016

I love this place.You feel like you are sitting in a very warm and comfortable lounge room.The menu is great,filled with traditional german dishes. My favourite is Bollpfanne consisting of steak strips, mushrooms and onions all smothered in gooey melted cheese and served with delicious farmhouse bread.The restaurant is situated on the right hand side of beckergrube Strasse which is a main road running up from the pedestrian bridge over the river. Staff are very friendly and you would not be disappointed about anything here while visiting Lubeck.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank dennissU1613AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 51 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2015

The you are done with fine dining or döner kebab then try this place out. Wide menu and good service. Portions are huge but meet over cooked. Decent prices.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Birgere88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2015

Lubeck is a wonderful old town in northern germany.Almost like a mini Manhatten surrounded by water.It has it's own version of the leaning tower of pisa.The magnificent Holstentor,a medeval city gate with twin towers slowly leaning in on themselvesl The town is peppered with a number of intriguing copper spired churches which are truly beautiful.A town stroll is absolutely essential.On a recent trip i visited this marvellous restaurant,Heinrich Boll, whilst on an evening out with friends.They promised me traditional german dishes in an old fashioned atmosphere and i was not disappointed.We were served by a beautiful friendly girl in traditional costume,She looked better than the menu but that's only an old man's dream.My friends helped me with translation.God knows what i would have ended up ordering if they hadn't.I settled for this wonderful hot-pot type dish.A mix of tender steak strips with mushrooms and onions in a creamy sauce topped with a crumble like cheese topping.Like a german style stroganoff. Really tasty.This was accompanied by some amazing bread which was ideal for dipping in the creamy sauce.A veritable feast. Thanks to my friends for helping me choose wisely.A wide range of great beers were on offer. My preference is the dark and inviting Duckstein.I couldn't possibly have eaten anymore,so sorry no dessert to review.There followed a terrific pub crawl most of which i don't remember except for singing in an irish bar called Finnegans.I must have been ok cos the manageress invited me back next saturday. Only problem was i was flying back to Edinburgh the following day,surprisingly with no hangover.Heinrich Boll, do try it if in this part of the world.Oh......and get your own waitress.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dennissU1613AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Date of visit: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heinrich Boll also viewed

Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
 
Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
 
Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
 

Been to Heinrich Boll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing