We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious cakes and coffee - highly recommended for tourists ”
Review of Engelsbaeckerei

Engelsbaeckerei
Ranked #3 of 14 Coffee & Tea in Lubeck
Price range: $2 - $5
Description: At our café, we offer freshly baked cakes and goodies as well as delicious coffee and tea. We specialise in French and American pastries and always have something to offer for people with food intolerances (gluten, lactose etc.). We are children-friendly and have a play area for your little ones.
Restaurant details
Description: At our café, we offer freshly baked cakes and goodies as well as delicious coffee and tea. We specialise in French and American pastries and always have something to offer for people with food intolerances (gluten, lactose etc.). We are children-friendly and have a play area for your little ones.
Reviewed March 16, 2019 via mobile

My father and I dropped into Engelsbackerei for a quick coffee and sugar break. The first thing that hit us is how heavenly the place smelled. We had a cinnamon roll and apple strudel, and the lady behind the counter was very friendly and totally fluent in English. We had a lovely time.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank ruhickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 28 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2018 via mobile

We’d had a great day in Lübeck. I stayed on to take some night photos. And what a delight to find Engelsbäckerei. Brownies, cookies, cakes, tartes and more on offer. I had a lovely piece of apple and cinnamon cake, and a cup of loose-leaf Darjeeling tea. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank GlennS249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2017

This is a special place to have your tea or coffee. Situated in a narrow building there are not a lot of seats, mostly on bar stools. If you go up the corkscrew stairs there are some nicer places to sit on regular chairs with a special "lofty" atmosphere. The café offers several cold and warm drinks, very good lemonades and nice cakes.

Not recommended for physically challenged people.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Slawophilist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2016 via mobile

This tiny bakery offers a wide range of different cakes and cookies you usually don't get in a "normal" bakery. The also serve breakfast and everything is home-made.

There are special prices for students.

A perfect spot for a shopping-break in the city :)

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Gartenbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2015

This little cafe is very cute. It is located on a lovely cobbled street which you can look out on to through the big windows at the front. The owner was very friendly and happy to explain to us the numerous cake and pastry options. The variety was great and between 5 of us we tried a number of different cakes on 2 visits and everything we had was exceptional. If I were to particularly recommend one thing it would be the pecan and maple slice - we all agreed it was a stand out option. Also serving lovely loose leaf teas. All at very good value.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Engelsbaeckerei also viewed

Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
 
Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
 
Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
 

Been to Engelsbaeckerei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing