We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We expected more...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lubeck Altstadt (Lubeck Oldtown)

Lubeck Altstadt (Lubeck Oldtown)
Book In Advance
More Info
$427.89*
and up
Private Full-Day Hamburg Countryside Tour in a Large SUV
Ranked #1 of 51 things to do in Lubeck
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Skala Kallonis, Greece
Level Contributor
98 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“We expected more...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were on a cruise, docked at Kiel port, and decided to spend our day in Lubeck, after having a simply beautiful day the day before in Warnemunde and spending a day in lovely Schwerin. Firstly, there was a long, long walk to the station from the port, and we almost didn't make our train. Lubeck is situated about 1.5 hours from Kiel, and then another 20min walk to the "old" city. I have put the " marks in old, because we expected to see a beautiful, unique, medieval city, but were confronted with a modern, full of stores and shops town(but hardly any tourist/souvenier shops) with a couple of old churches whose spires looked to be newly built, and the same goes with the two gates we went to. The town looked nothing like what we expected to see, and such a waste to our day that we could have been better spent in Hamburg or around the port area...oh well, maybe next time...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 100kittykat40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    768
    362
    43
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
640 reviews
204 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

e didn't know much about the history and architectural treasures of the area before going there but the discovery of Lubeck's old town has been an extremely pleasant one. Th old city is beautifully restored and there are many places to vist. W. Brandt Museum if among the nice ones as far as the more recent history os concerned, but almost all buildings are impressive! There is enough to see and enjoy even in the middle of winter and it must no doubt be even more pleasurable under the sun

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JMGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tea shop - Luebecker Tee Kontor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This tea shop sells own tea, teapots, treats, etc. They have around 30 kinds of own tea. You can smell them before buying any. I bought some and my friend living near Luebeck (she did not know this store!) bought some. They are so wonderful as to taste and fragrance. It would shock you once you find how German can produce such a lovely tea. Lubcker Tee Kontor is located at Breiten Straße 62.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhiaPhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
155 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Small and cosy place to travel and enjoy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I spent a week in Lûbeck to take part in the Nordische Filtage in beginning of November 2012. I stayed in a flat and had avery good time. The Lubeck Altstadt is very enjoyable with beautiful chuches and old houses. Lots of small and larger shops. Allso cafes and bars. Very friendly people. Hovewer not everyone understand English. Nice to stay in flat because then you can buy and prepare own food. I allso went for some restaurants and you get MUCH food for a nice price most places.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank halfdan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
194 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Lovely Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

We visited Lübeck as a day trip from Berlin. We were certainly impressed with the Old Town, especially the Christmas Market. The narrow streets, houses and churches are very lovely. Not to be missed is the Holstentor, which is the entrance to the Old Town. Definitely worth a visit with manx opportunities for nice fotos!

Helpful?
2 Thank dannychan_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lubeck Altstadt (Lubeck Oldtown) also viewed

Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
 
Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
 

Been to Lubeck Altstadt (Lubeck Oldtown)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing