We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful! Abysmal service. Avoid this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel Luebeck
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Lubeck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2011

In many years of travel we've never experienced anything like this place!
We checked in late in the evening, and paid for room and garage. When we had unloaded our luggage and tried to park our car, someone else had taken our garage spot.

Hotel staff unresponsive to complaint that we'd PAID for in-house garage, and offered garage across town in public garage instead. We refused, and demanded charge-back on Amex card.

This was refused on the grounds that "they didn't know how to do that"! We found another hotel, but we now have to contact Amex to make fraud complaint. Not a nice experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Phlashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
There are newer reviews for Excelsior Hotel Luebeck
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 295 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2011

This hotel is well placed and immaculately clean. The breakfast was lovely, as was the room. The staff were wonderful, cheerful and friendly from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. When a member of our party was taken ill on our last day they couldn't have been more helpful. We would have no problem booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsproms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Located in close proximity to the main train station - perfect for us as we were only staying for 1 night before going off to Berlin. A pleasant 5mins walk to the old town. I suggest to take the alternative bridge instead main bridge to beautiful view of the oldtown skyline (right side frpm the tourist office). Reception was friendly, helpful and fluent in English - very important for non-German speaking tourists like ourselves. Breakfast was the standard fare of bread, ham and cheese.

The room itself was basic, reasonable size, very clean toilet and had English speaking channels (BBC,CNN and CNBC)! After 1 week of German only channels - this was a treat!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stayed at this hotel with my husband and friends, It is situated very close to the railway station, although you don't get disturb of that at all. The great thing about this hotel is that you can walk to the center of Lübeck in 5 minutes. If you arrive in the afternoon, as we did, you can take a walk in the city in the afternoon and then go back to the hotel for a rest before gooing out for dinner in the evening. The breakfast was also very nice. A lot of everything, even bacon and scrumbled eggs. The hotel has a carparking outside the hotel (for free) but you have to arrive early. They also have a garage under the hotel for a smaller charge. The city of Lübeck is very genuin, with old houses and the canals. We found the city and the hotel worth going back too.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gun_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

I use to stay at this hotel a week every year, and I have never been disapointed!

Room Tip: Close to the railwaystation and to the Old Town
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed for one night from 16. july 2010. We was lucky to have car park in the basement. Outside the hotel it could be some problem with parking. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very quiet and cleen. Very good aircon. To connect to internet you get a connectionkit in the reseption. The breakfast was very good. About 10 min, walk to the old part of Lübeck.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Touran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

This is a smallish hotel over the street from the main railway station, and about half a mile from the town centre. An attractive building, nicely furnished and absolutely spotlessly clean. Bedrooms are spacious with very nice beds and bedding and a good shower room-- maybe too minimalist for some, but to my taste.
The breakfast room is large and attractive and the food was very good.
The lady on reception was very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English.
Parking out front is a bit limited, and we had to pay 6 euro for parking under the hotel.

All in all enjoyed it a lot and a refreshing change from the often cheaply built, busy and tired 4 star chain hotel alternatives.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpanishTinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lubeck hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Luebeck
Holiday Inn Luebeck
#4 of 56 in Lubeck
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
H+ Hotel Lubeck
H+ Hotel Lubeck
#9 of 56 in Lubeck
240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Senator Hotel, Lubeck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Atlantic Hotel Lubeck
Atlantic Hotel Lubeck
#1 of 56 in Lubeck
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Lubeck Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Luebeck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel Luebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel Luebeck

Address: Hansestr. 3, 23558 Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Lubeck
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lubeck
#8 Business Hotel in Lubeck
Price Range: $109 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Excelsior Hotel Luebeck 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Excelsior Hotel Luebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel lübeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing