We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low security - theft of handbag in hotel restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Luebeck
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Lubeck
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericia, Denmark
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Low security - theft of handbag in hotel restaurant”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We were 4 couples having a nice weekend in Lubeck, staying on the Holiday Inn hotel.

Unfortunately the security of this hotel is on a very low level. We were 8 persons sitting in the hotel restaurant having breakfast. All the ladies has as usual brought their handbags and at least 4 persons was sitting at our table all the time. But somehow there was a very clever thief around, who managed to sneak pick my wives handbag and get away with it.

After discovering this, we approached the restaurant staff, who told us that they where aware of the problem, the week before 2 ladies also had their handbags stolen by sneak picking too. We immediately reported this to the hotel management, and they really did not take it that much serious, but asked if they shall report it to the local police...??? OF COURSE !!!

Everyone can just walk into the restaurant whit out any control and there is no security cams installed in there. There is a security cam in the lobby, but we where not allowed to watch the tape with the local police, enabling us to point out the criminal.

After coming home I wrote a complaint to the hotel manager, Frank Senger. I replied that he was sorry and he would contact the local police and return to us. This was early december and now close to end of january we have no news from the hotel manager....!!!

My wife lost value of more than 2.000 euros and we feel that the hotel management really don't care that much about there customers security. We travel a lot and have never experienced that low a level of customer care and care about security.

Having said that, the hotel was okay average and their restaurant was actually really good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Luebeck, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Peter Handberg,
First of all I would like to thank you for having stayed with us and your positive comments about our hotel and the restaurant. We really much appreciate your positive feedback.
We do understand that you are angry with this situation. We have of course a security control like you also mentioned but as I had written you before, we are not allowed to hand out our video to you, due to data protection law. The police, who had been informed from us immediately, got the video. We both had mail conversations where I tried to explain, that we are also not getting information from the police as they would come back to you directly, also due to data protection reasons. We are sorry that you left your handbag unattended on the armchair and none of your group with at least 4 persons on the table (as you wrote) recognized anything, so didn´t we.
We care about our guests and we would like you to understand that we cannot act against applicable laws.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    174
    49
    11
    6
See reviews for
119
97
6
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Not your typical "Holiday Inn" - really comfortable, spacious and nice rooms, felt like a much more expensive hotel than it was. Appreciated the staff, cleanliness, big rooms, quietness of rooms and view. Breakfast is well worth it.
Gym/pool are good, gym could do with some more weights but really this shouldn't be the reason not to stay there.

No negatives

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ACC132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Nice big newly renovated rooms, Hotel was kind of boring and could be a holiday inn anywhere in the world. Located beside a busstation so can be kind of noisy if yur room is in that direction. Just a 5 minutes walk to the old town. Beakfast was nice with a seceltion of bread etc.. The sauna and pool area was good, Not crowded and very fresh.
We recommend this hotel if you find Radisson Blu too expensive or fully booked.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MedelSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Luebeck, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear MedelSweden,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

I sincerely apologize for you did not find some aspects of our hotel to your liking. Nevertheless, it was real pleasure to learn that you had a pleasant overall experience with us.

Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for several nights for work. Not only is the location excellent, the room was beautiful, everything worked after a brief glitch with the room electrical fuses. The only issue we had was with the internet, but that was brief.
The food in the restaurant was good, though the menu was not particularly varied, as is typical in most hotels - and as in most hotels, it's expensive. Breakfast is in the restaurant, which is absolutely beautiful! We ate in the old town, literally up the road from the hotel, in a beautiful refurbished wine cellar, and also across the street in a traditional German restaurant, both were good.
The real star in our stay was Katia, who works in reception. A bus load of very drunk Swedes arrived at the hotel just before we did and were quite obnoxious, and though Katia is quite young, she handled them in a very firm, professional manner. She is very cheerful and helpful, and a real asset to the Holiday Inn team. That said, all of the employees we encountered were wonderful.
We have stayed in Lubeck several times, but this is a first in this hotel; we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
167 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Lovely hotel just outside the city walls. Easy walk into the town across the river, nice quiet location. Parking outside at the hotel is free but underground is charged for - we did not pay. Room, upgrade - very large, comfortable, modern amenities. Staff were all very friendly / helpful, especially the reception staff - some of the best we have come across. Breakfast was excellent, really good choice and good quality. Bar very comfortable, and general atmosphere and furnishings very nice. Only negative aspects - internet was really slow and the restaurant had a limited choice and quite expensive.
Would we stay again - definitely.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
753 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I chose this hotel as it had been refurbished. The refurbishment seems to have missed the mark. there is very little light overall, bot in the lobby and rooms. there is still a smell of glue in the rooms. the restaurant is not yet fully operational and thus some things on the menu are not available. The service at breakfast is poor. Self serve coffee only and little attention to cleaning up used plates. the location is far from the centre of town. The toilets in the pool area have rust on the walls. the fitness centre is very small with only 3 pieces of equipment. Recommend to look elsewhere when staying in Lubeck.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waiake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Luebeck, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear applejuice12,

We really appreciate that you have taken the time sharing your experiences during your stay with us.
Your opinions are helping us increasing our service.
Renovation is not a 100% finished and an additional light will be installed in the room.
We also would like to thank you for trying our restaurant "Kochwerk-Lübeck", which we will open next Thursday.
We are very sorry that the distance to city center had been to fare for you, but we are directly located in front of the historical "Burgtor", which is the entrance to city centre.
Hope we will be able to satisfy you when being next time in Lübeck.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We got a newly renovated room at 3 die floor toward the woods behind the hotel, nice quiet environment, but there was no fridge as advertised, otherwise the room was perfect. Breakfast is covered everyone's needs. Rastauranten other hand was lousy, starting with the menu card in the elevator and we were given did not show the same prices, it was almost a agrasiv point that I got it for the cheap price from the elevator and not with any kind of thanks, and the should of course be corrected. When we asked for dessert, we said that we wanted to have it with vanilla ice cream, and what got you so served, an old paper cup with a small plastic spade and a nondescript old ice cream with a darker surface and not the vanilla ice which was described on menu. In short, a very negative experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJMJCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Luebeck, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear NJMJCopenhagen,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our Holiday Inn Lübeck and for providing us your feedback.

Firstly I would like to apologize for any negative impression you may have had during your stay.
Constructive feedback enables us to target problems and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.
We are very sorry that the price in the elevator did not match which the wrong one in the menu, which of course shouldn´t happen.
We are very well known for the friendliness of our team members and you can be sure that we will follow up with the team on your comments.

Dear NJMJCopenhagen, we hope that we can satisfy you when you are again in Lübeck.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lubeck hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Senator Hotel, Lubeck
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Hotel Lubeck
Atlantic Hotel Lubeck
#1 of 56 in Lubeck
472 reviews
1.2 mi away
H+ Hotel Lubeck
H+ Hotel Lubeck
#9 of 56 in Lubeck
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Lubeck Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Luebeck
1.1 mi away
Excelsior Hotel Luebeck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Luebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Luebeck

Property: Holiday Inn Luebeck
Address: Travemuender Allee 3, 23568 Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Lubeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lubeck
#3 Family Hotel in Lubeck
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lubeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Luebeck 4.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Holiday Inn Lübeck. Located directly at historic Burgtor, not far from numerous sights (Holstentor, Buddenbrookhaus etc.), with us you will experience sincere hospitality that is so typical of our Hanseatic city! We welcome our guests in a new look, thanks to the extensive modernisation in 2013. Clear design with an atmosphere of wellness and the balanced interaction of exclusive materials also bring our motivation to the point optically: to create a “home away from home” for you.After a day with sightseeing or meetings our guests can relax in the spacious fitness and wellness area with heated pool, cardio devices and two saunas. You will find a mixture of lifestyle and dining culture in the newly designed KOCHWERK Lübeck restaurant with adjacent sun terrace. Due to the skilful mixture of modern “living room and British club” atmosphere, this is perfect for a dynamic business lunch or a relaxed, enjoyable evening. The kitchen offers you the “best of” local and international specialities. The tasty cocktails in our modern bar with lounge flair and SKY TV channels are also recommendable. Conferences and family celebrations also find the suitable setting in our 10 flexible event rooms for up to 350 people. WLAN is available to you free of charge throughout the entire hotel.35 free parking spaces at the hotel and an underground garage with 65 parking spaces ensure a relaxed arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Luebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Lubeck lübeck
Scandic Lubeck Hotel lübeck
Holiday Inn Lubeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing