We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant with charme”
Review of Im alten Zolln

Im alten Zolln
Ranked #31 of 441 Restaurants in Lubeck
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Im alten Zolln, the traditional pub in the historic city centre of Luebeck. As a historic institution since 1589 we are the oldest existing pub in Luebeck. Between opera and classic caricatures, meet people in our historical interior. We are a meeting place, a patron of musical events, friends of the german card game “Doppelkopf” and a home for literature. We sing, laugh, make music and most importantly chat.
Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

In week 42 my family and I (6 persons) visited Lübeck and wanted a place for a local/traditional evening diner. Our choice was “Im alten Zolln” and we were located at a table outside (our wish) The waitress was very sweet and helped us with the menu, which actually was quite fun reading. (Actually mentioning that slow service could occur) It consist of informative information about the old restaurant and with funny/ weird comments to each dishes Hilarious!!!
Sitting outside, close to the road Mühlenstraße, was a mixed experience; nice sitting outside in cosy environment, but annoying to be close to the road with some traffic load.
The food (classic/local) is made from basic and was plenty and tasty. (Okay, they did have some “junk-meals for kids I guess)
The “Lübecker Labskaus” is a “must taste”!!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank V6017EJpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 131 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2018

This restaurant offers sturdy German fare and house brews. The terrace was full on a Friday night. Service was friendly and attentive.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2017 via mobile

Well, we came around five in the afternoon. Almost hungry, but we waited half an our to order our food. Perfect, because the waitress was so stressed, like they just opened, when the internetsite said it was opened the whole day. It was a perfect, nice friendly women who served us❤️And the food was ok

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank p3jansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile

Very good Beer - Dunkel- and historic rooms. Nice atmosphere but THE food was poor. Staty with THE drinks.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank sonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

We got in around 8pm, 4 international people speaking german and we were told we could take any free table on the upper floor. So we went upstairs and switched to english because not everyone in our group speaks well german. As soon as they heard us speaking english and before we sit at a table we were immediately told in a very rude way that the kitchen is closed and we will not be served any food. Note that other people were eating and it was only 8pm. Never in my life have I encountered a place where the kitchen closes at 8pm, the night before a national holiday. Plus I find it very strange that they told us only after we got to the upper floor and spoke english. I guess they want to "keep it german". Either way, very racist. Would not suggest to any "not german".

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank daf_mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Im alten Zolln also viewed

Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
 
Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
 
Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
 

Been to Im alten Zolln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing