We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marzipan Heaven!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Niederegger

Cafe Niederegger
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Lubeck
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
189 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Marzipan Heaven!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

On the way up from where the bus parked we passed 2 small Niederegger stores. But right behind the old Rathaus is the main store wich also has a wonderful cafe and restaurant upstairs. This store is tremendous and sells every possible type of marzipan. I stopped in the cafe for coffee and cake and it was a marvelous. You need to give yourself at least half an hour to shop because of all the different types of marzipan chocolates and gift boxes they have in the store. There is also a counter for some pasties. Staff is extremely nice and helpful, but it always help to say a few words in German. Eventhough I spent a small fortune on bags of marzipan I wish I spent some more! I was really looking forward to shopping here and it exceeded my expectations! Of course it would becuase this is the home of marzipan and where it was invented.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelCrazyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    319
    108
    36
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Elegant Cafe, well-stocked store, and interesting museum - 2 branch Cafes are near by.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Real Marzipan over there taste much better than candy-sized ones available in NYC. Much more flavored and softer.

Stores are totally full during days with tourits - I went there just before the closing time where no one was there! So plan well to save time and to reduce stress!

I had Marzipan flavored coffee and one of the marzipan cake with my German friend at the cafe in the plaza. They are flavorful, nice texture, not sweet (of course, they are European!), and beautifully decorated.

We went to the museum on the 2nd floor, that taught me that each almond from different countries have different textures (like anyother things). It was fun to see someone making decorative items in front of myself.

I do not like sweets that much but when I realized my cake plate was empty!

They also have light meals.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PhiaPhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Niederegger Marzipan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

If you are coming to Lubeck, you simply must visit Niederegger marzipan. This place changed my mind about what true marzipan really is. The cafe has great coffee and the most amazing cakes. Located opposite the Town Hall, it is a great place to sit back and relax whilst enjoying the finest marzipan I have ever experienced.

Helpful?
Thank nas780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Toscana, Italy
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

As the shop is usually very crowded I think the best way to experience this place is to choose a (big) slice of one of their excellent cakes to taste while seated in the inner café accompanied by a cup of tea or coffee.

The place is expected to classic and romantic but as most of the customers were turists, the atmosphere was indeed quite informal and cosy.

In spite of some others reviews, the prices were quite cheap (circa 3 EUR for a huge slice) and anyway they are displayed. Staff people did understand English and was very polite.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had breakfast here - cappuccino and cakes. One cake was the local speciality: Rote Grutze - it was very nice but the coffee and the other cake were decidely average. We were a bit disappointed overall and did not return to this cafe (or any of its many branches.)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank elleric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Niederegger also viewed

Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
 
Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
 

Been to Cafe Niederegger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing