We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
HOTEL an der Marienkirche
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Lubeck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 1 night on our way back to Hamburg. Lübeck is a lovely city and well worth a visit, it has a nice charm. The hotel is centrally located near the centre of the city which is quite small so it is easy to get around on foot. The hotel offers parking in a church car park across the street for 6 euro per night.

Our room was on the 3rd floor up a few flights of stairs. It was quite large with a lovely big window in the bathroom looking out to the Marienkirche. The room was clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was also excellent and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

Overall we would recommend staying here when you are in Lübeck, it is a lovely city.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hlst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 113 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2011

We booked this hotel based on reviews on Tripadvisor and found it was exactly as advertised and the reviews given by other travellers. We started our holiday in Germany with a one night stay here after we came in by train from Hamburg in the late afternoon. We walked to the hotel from the station but could have taken taken a bus from the station to just up the road from the hotel (three stops). We had a friendly welcome and help with carrying our bags up to our fourth floor rooms which were comfortable and had everything we needed. We went straight out to the beautiful Christmas market and walked around the town, enjoying the atmosphere. The hotel gave us a recommendation for the Miera Restaurant (www.miera-luebeck.de) where we had a wonderful evening and meal. After an excellent breakfast we did some sightseeing, walked around and had coffee and cake at Niederegger which we absolutely loved. The service was good and our cake and our sons waffles wonderful. We wished we had a longer stay in Lubeck!

Room Tip: If you have a long trip or heavy luggage ask for a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knowthegoodstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Our experience at this hotel was great. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location was convenient to the sights. And the breakfast buffet was one of the best I have experienced. Oh, and the room was clean and comfortable. Only possible downside was that the bathroom seemed a bit too small. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HansJuergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The location directly opposite the Mairenkirche can't be beaten, and the hotel is central to everything in Lubeck. With luggage, it's a 20 minute walk from the railway station but is very easy to find. As noted elsewhere, the hotel has a simple clean scandinavian-style decor. It is friendly and the staff are very helpful. The single room was small but not cramped and amply large enough for one; the en-suite bathroom was clean and modern. The hotel has free maps of the local area and everything is within walking distance. If you don't have a laptop or other wi-fi device it's a 10 minute walk to the other end of the town to the nearest Internet Cafe (which is cheap and friendly) There are countless sites in Lubeck itself - the Hofe and Grange style housing in the east is less well-known but worth seeking out. The closest supermarket - Rewe - is just a short walk away and well-stocked; handy for getting supplies for picnics or an onward train journey. The view of the town from the other side of the water (particularly at dusk) is a highlight. Breakfast is an immaculately presented array of meats, cheeses, salmon, etc.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
2  Thank fitzrovians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

2 niights at this hotel in late May. Situated right in the old town perfectly sited to explore Lubeck, only a short walk away from the main pedestrian street in the old town and all the sites in it. It is about 900meters from the train station (pretty easy walk).

The hotel is situated right in front of the huge red brick Marienkirch, which is a very impressive church from the outside!

The room, though small, was modern, spotless, nicely decorated and had good sound proofing. Staff very friendly and helpful. Cannot think of anything negative to say about our stay, and for the price we came away really really happy, No lift though in the hotel.

We did organise the stay with the hotel directly and when we first called the person spoke little english, so we called again later and spoke to another whose english was much better. Our fault for speaking little to no German.

The included Breakfast - for such a small hotel - amazing. It ranks up there with some of the best breakfast spreads we have experienced on our travels. To have such a great selection was really impressive. It set the standard we judged the other breakfasts on this trip!

If we go to Lubeck again we will stay here for sure, we definately recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mapeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Enjoyed two nights stay in this very small hotel in a great location in Lubeck. My single room was very small but well designed and decorated, so very comfortable. The owners were very gracious and helpful, even to the point of helping me with my internet. Free parking was a plus. The breakfast buffet was beautifully presented and delicious. The hotel location, while very central and convenient, was very quiet. Lubeck is well worth a visit and this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank majorswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

we stayed four nights at this small, family owned and operated hotel. We felt very much at home here; in fact, the owner prepared and reserved a special breakfast table for my wife's birthday and included some Niederegger marzipan as a gift. A very thoughtful gesture. Breakfast was excellent and the room was very clean. Even though we were directly across from the Marienkirche, it was quiet at night. The hotel is located in the heart of the old town, within walking distance from all the sights. We'd definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Marienkirche.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lubeck hotels
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel Lubeck
Atlantic Hotel Lubeck
#1 of 56 in Lubeck
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phoenix Hotel Alter Speicher
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Hotel Luebeck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Luebeck
Holiday Inn Luebeck
#4 of 56 in Lubeck
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Senator Hotel
0.2 mi away
CVJM - Sleep In
CVJM - Sleep In
#43 of 56 in Lubeck
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL an der Marienkirche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL an der Marienkirche

Address: Schuesselbuden 4, 23552 Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Location: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Lubeck
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Lubeck
Price Range: $112 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HOTEL an der Marienkirche 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your HOTEL an der Marienkirche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing