We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“miserable”

Hotel am Schwedenkai
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel am Schwedenkai
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Kiel
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Can´t believe they are still in business...No radio or alarm clock in room. No tissues - Kleenex or whatever - use the toliet paper! Miniature bathroom dimensions. Dirty wooden floor. Absolutely no sound insulation from outside or neighboring rooms. Impossible to sleep the night through due to noise. Hotel staff unaware of surroundings, advised 40 minutes, which turned out to be a 12 minute taxi ride. Scrimpy breakfast - stale breakfast cereal. Small children could do a better job than the monkeys who run this place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Hotel am Schwedenkai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 31 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights before going on a cruise. Next to pedestrian area with all shops, in walking distance to the cruise terminals. Nice view on an inner harbour. Room must otherwise be quiet, but was very loud due to city festival (Kieler Woche) in the arena right outside. Wifi available for a reasonable fee.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sauserle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

The Hotel Am Schwedenkai is very well situated in Central Kiel. The rooms have bing windows and you have a nice view on a basin and the Kieler Förde. The rooms are clean, the floor in the room is hardwood and the breakfast was good, too.

Unfortunatelty, the walls are paper thin and the doors, too. I was not able to sleep well. Once I was awakened in the morning by other guests taking their breakfast. Another time my room neighbor listened to music and I could understand the lyrics of the songs. Another downside is that the interiors are cheap.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Roundtrip_Rob1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roland M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vegassternchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Connie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiel hotels
0.2 mi away
Flaemischer Hof Hotel
Flaemischer Hof Hotel
#12 of 37 in Kiel
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Lueneburg Haus
#27 of 37 in Kiel
12 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Wiking - Kiel
Hotel Wiking - Kiel
#30 of 37 in Kiel
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astor Kiel by Campanile
0.6 mi away
Rabe's Hotel Kiel
Rabe's Hotel Kiel
#25 of 37 in Kiel
19 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Berliner Hof
Hotel Berliner Hof
#7 of 37 in Kiel
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Schwedenkai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Schwedenkai

Address: Holstenbruecke 28, 24103 Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Location: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Kiel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Kiel
Price Range: $105 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel am Schwedenkai 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel am Schwedenkai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing