We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly hotel with great city centre location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IntercityHotel Kiel
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Kiel
Dudley
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice friendly hotel with great city centre location”
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Me and my friend went to stay in Kiel for 3 nights as our friend lives there. We wanted something central so we didn't have to use public transport everywhere and this hotel was perfect.

We were greated at reception by very friendly staff, explaining where everything was and that we had free bus passes to use around the city.

The rooms were really nice and clean, the only downside was that the beds were not very comfy. The bathroom was small but very clean and modern looking.

The staff in the hotel were always very helpful and spoke very good English.

I can recommend the Italian restaurant across the road called Vapiano's it was lovely and such a good set up.

We also went on the train to Hamburg for the day which took about 1 hour 15 minutes and the train station is next door to the hotel so not far to walk.

Really enjoyed my stay in Kiel and at the Intercity hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller021985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    111
    71
    12
    4
See reviews for
13
86
31
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

This hotel has 2 floors. The entire upper floor was being renovated during our stay. The hammering began at 7:30 AM. And didn't finish until just before 5PM. Thank heavens they don't work weekends. The hotel staff were thoroughly unsympathetic. "They're only painting on that floor", I was told. There was no point to changing rooms, I was told. On checking out, one of the desk staff told me, "This happens to all of us at hotels sometimes".
Oh yeah- and you have to run the shower for 15 minutes to get warm water.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidpVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kiel hotels

Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I only stayed for one night so the location suited me. The rooms are fairly small and basic but if if you're looking for cheap & cheerful, look no further. Staff were friendly and helpful but the buffet breakfast was a bit chaotic at the peak 8am-8.30am slot so avoid that, if you can. Food was plentiful and well presented. Parking was in an adjacent multi-storey which accessed the hotel on the 3rd floor. The hotel bar was rather characterless and empty but practically at the rear of the hotel, the Madeira Bar provided a good range of food and drinks.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandora8082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

The hotel itself has a great value: perfect location for a short city break, clean rooms, tasty breakfast, free publick transport ticket offered for every stay, nive views from the seaside rooms.
The only thing, why I can not give 5 points is: on the first morning (Saturday) a housekeeping man entered our room after a short knocking at 09.15 am. OK, I did not hang the "dnd" sign on my door from outside, but usually I do not expect anybody enetering my room so early in the morning. The same situation repeated on the next morning. Well, now I understand, that I always should use "dnd/clean my room" sign to avoid such situations. But it's the first hotel where I experience such policy.
Another point would be a wi-fi access that is 4,5 Euro per one hour. hmm...novadays trand is to offer it for free, but 4,5 Euro - is very expencive, even if the hotel doesn't want to be trendy.
All other aspects of our stay were very good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaAnton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remshalden, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Even though the Hotel was a bit in Stress due to the Kieler Woche, we had a warm welcome at the reception, got our keys and due to my Bahn Comfort Card an upgrade
in a business room with harbour view. Even with some fruit and a bottle of water! This was a refreshing thing especially as it was around 30C!

Unfortunately this Hotel does not have a airco, so it was very hot in the room, but windows can be opened so a little breeze came inside! The room size was a bit small but nevertheless worth the value!

Especially i want to say a compliment to the breakfast staff, every thing was there and the ladies seemed to be happy to work in this.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey*NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

I have stayed at the Intercity Hotel repeatedly on business trips. This is your average chain hotel. Basically, everything is average. I found the rooms to be a little bit too much 80's style, but in Kiel 80's interior is actually a plus. The hotel is next to the train station which is nice. If you don't like surprises (up or down), this is your place.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roundtrip_Rob1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiel hotels
0.9 mi away
Steigenberger Conti-Hansa
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#1 of 37 in Kiel
362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astor Kiel by Campanile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Kiel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kiel by Golden Tulip
2.5 mi away
Hotel Birke
Hotel Birke
#2 of 37 in Kiel
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IntercityHotel Kiel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IntercityHotel Kiel

Property: IntercityHotel Kiel
Address: Kaistr. 54 - 56, 24114 Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Location: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Kiel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Kiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IntercityHotel Kiel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterCityHotel Kiel is located in the city centre in the immediate vicinity of the station. Ferry and cruise terminals and a shopping centre can be reached on foot in a matter of minutes. The market place with the town hall, the maritime museum and the Sparkassen Arena can also be reached easily on foot. The free use of local public transport with the FreeCityTicket, included in the price of your room, as well as free use of the neighbouring fitness and wellness club, the Meridian Spa, are available to you throughout the whole of your stay at the InterCityHotel. All 124 sound-proofed rooms of the hotel in Kiel offer modern business comfort, WiFi, and most have a view out over the Firth of Kiel. Three air-conditioned conference rooms catering for up to 80 guests, with daylight illumination and an unforgettable view, equipped with state-of-the-art technology are at the guest's disposal. For all InterCityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your IntercityHotel Kiel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercity Hotel Kiel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing