We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel at a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Steigenberger Conti-Hansa
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Kiel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Overall the hotel facilities are good, rooms adequate, but be sure to take the right elevator. There are two different ones, leading to different parts of the hotel. Parking the car in the underground parking area (charged) and getting up to our room, we needed to use both, one up to lobby level, the other further up. Having the car stand just outside the hotel entrance while taking your stuff out is not a good idea, as you are blocking the driveway. That could have been arranged better. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful, speaking excellent English. I see other reviewers complain about expensive internet charge. I don't know when they visited, but I cannot remember having been charged for the wifi, which worked excellent (May 2012). Breakfast buffet is excellent in a nice restaurant. Lobby area OK with lots of meeting rooms, so obviously a business hotel. Location is excellent for a stroll to the city centre. Kiel is a ferry town where loads of cars and people travel through, but don't stop, so don't expect too much city life.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Torger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (903)
There are newer reviews for Steigenberger Conti-Hansa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 903 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a pleasant modern hotel with helpful polite staff but free internet for 30 mins only and then exorbitant charges. Such places should be avoided when most up to date hotels supply internet with the tv and the fresh air.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrSteve_fromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Most hotels seem to provide their directions on the basis that all motorists have GPS and this hotel was no exception so it took a while to find. However, there was a good welcome awaiting us from the reception with an efficient check-in, including clear instructions to their garage parking (extra cost of 18 euros). The Bistro Bar food was quite OK and the bar staff were courteous and welcoming. The bedroom, shower etc was also alright and the breakfast (extra cost of 17 euro per person) good. I found an excellent disabled toilet on the ground floor. Wifi costs 15 euros for 24 hours. I was surprised to learn that the hotel had debited my husband's bank account in mid-May for the room reservation - at least 10 weeks before our actual stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosalindLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Semi-friendly experience at the reception. I don't expect to be treated like royalty but a simple "thank you" and "please" go a long way when you're in the hospitality business. Maybe it's just northern Germany ... ;)

I ended up with a bathroom without shower tub. Not that I dislike rooms for the physically challenged but I really don't like my bathroom flooded when taking a shower. I heard the ladies (at the reception) asking if they should sell this room to me and one of them said: "why not"? Not acceptable on quiet night! Why not just give the upgrade? Same effort, different experience... and a return customer (not likely now). They didn't know I speak German fluently since I always approach hotels in English (Been living in the US for 15 years, BUT it gives you great insight into how they treat their [foreign] customers).

There is no thermostat in the room so in summer this can be a problem (quite typical in Europe, actually). Thankfully, it was cool enough at night during my stay to cool down the room.

Internet is not cheap [different account for cell phone and computer]. On top of it ... unpaid parking is a problem forcing a parking spot in the cramped underground parking area. Not sure what the price is; i'll find out tomorrow and will update this review if necessary!

So far the negatives. I had a decent stay overall. The rooms are adequate but nothing to write home about. This hotel was recommended to me by a (local) colleague but I'll certainly do some research [and make my own choice] next time around in the area. I'm sure there are better deals out there...

One other positive (I'm scrambling): the location is great. Very close to downtown and some good bars/restaurants. Not the hotel's merit. Well ... maybe management's for choosing a strategic location :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCGenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Great hotel to stay. Harbor and city center at walking distance. Clean rooms. Pleasant staff. I didn't have diner at the restaurant, because it was almost empty, but for 2 tables with elderly ladies playing cards. The breakfast was very good. Parking available at extra price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dutchfarmeress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Steigenberger is a large hotel chain in Germany catering mostly to business travelers and this one is no exception. There was not much to complain about during our stay: Nice room with a (slightly obstructed) view of the harbor. Good beds and bathroom. There was a safe and minibar in the room and buffet breakfast was excellent. Staff was friendly. Location is good, old town and water front are in easy walking distance. Somewhat annoying: only half an hour WiFi is free.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

There is really nothing wrong. If there is one issue, the bathroom seems to be the aftermath of an interior designer. All very posh, modern and of excellent quality. The room 128 had a safe, a quiet AC and a room away from the street.

The room had wall to wall carpet, while I prefer wooden, but the room came with plastic wrapped slippers, so you do not have to walk in the steps of the sweaty feet of a former occupant.

While we did not like our Steinberger hotel in Erfurth, Thyringen - this is a place where I will be back. I am in Kiel 4-5 times year and I felt I had found home.

The hotel has an underground garage with cameras so even your car is well looked after. Breakfast is hearty and keeps you going for most of the day. The hotel chain should send the manager in Kiel to Steinberger Erfurt as an uncover boss!

Sleep in this hotel was perfect!

Room Tip: It is not dead center of KIel, but otherwise "a bulls eye" for sleeping and a hearthy brea...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phagerup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiel hotels
0.9 mi away
IntercityHotel Kiel
IntercityHotel Kiel
#10 of 37 in Kiel
223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#1 of 37 in Kiel
378 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Birke
Hotel Birke
#2 of 37 in Kiel
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Maritim Hotel Bellevue Kiel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astor Kiel by Campanile
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel tom Kyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Conti-Hansa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Conti-Hansa

Address: Schlossgarten 7, 24103 Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Kiel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kiel
#2 Green Hotel in Kiel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kiel
Price Range: $108 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Conti-Hansa 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Conti-Hansa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Conti Hansa Kiel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing