We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in town”
Review of Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Kiel
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best in town”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I have stayed at hotels many times in Kiel, but this hotel is by far the best. The location is perfect in the heart of town, very close to the railway station, shopping centre and ferry connections til Sweden and Norway.
The hotel is very modern, with extremely comfortable rooms. Good beds, inviting bathrooms, and a very good breakfast. Staff is very friendly and helpful.
If you're planning a hotel stay in Kiel - this is the place to go.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ketil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    106
    24
    3
    8
See reviews for
41
103
21
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The hotel lived up to all expectations we had formed from reading reviews on Trip Advisor. The room was excellent, clean and spacious and the bathroom had an excellent shower. We had a very good dinner, great service and were even given a discount for all our meals in the hotel. The breakfast buffet was superb. The location could not be faulted and we were able to walk to many of the sites and shopping areas.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anpatlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Wow - this hotel is amazing!! It should be a five star in my opinion. The staff are so helpful and friendly, and the hotel itself is beautiful. Very modern and contemporary and located right on the harbour. If you have a few spare hours, the 7th floor is a must - a gym, sauna, and relaxation are with an outdoor terrace! Fabulous! The breakfast buffet is delicious - hot foods made to order, and plenty of cereals, fruits, meats and cheeses.

Parking is available at a very cheap rate very close by with a secure entrance to the hotel, however it is a public car park and does look a little dodgy

Room Tip: For a little extra (I think 20euro) upgrade to a room on a higher floor with a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTIC H, Marketing at Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Dear Naomi75,

Thank you very much for such a positive feedback.

We truly hope we will have the privilege to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,
ATLANTIC Hotel Kiel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Arrived in Kiel by bus from Hamburg so it was a perk (but also a bit of a concern) to see it was literally next to the station. Bus ride was 1st class but having a hotel near the station could mean noise. Wrong. Hotel was super silent with super service and sizes of room and bathroom. My rate was around 130 euros for a non-view room. The whole of the decoration was new. Within a few minutes they ironed my suit with a huge smile.

It sounds overboard but I wish other hotels got it like they do here.

At night, jogging in the gym with a beautiful view of the canal. The sauna afterwoards was 5 stars. All clean, fresh, working.

By the way, breakfast was included in the rate and it was not Holiday Inn fooilishness. All fresh, including omeletes custom made.

The location was perfect too. I jogged along and across the river and noticed there are two malls, cinema complex, and the train station right in front and on the side of the hotel.

I went to the Blue Angel (across the street) and saw a live band play by the water -- one of my best business trips.

Congratulations, I am a fan.

Congrats to the awesome helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlanticHotelKiel, Assistentin Marketing at Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Hello Guest,

Thank you very much for such a positive feedback . We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. And thank you for lobbing our staff, too.

We truly hope we will have the privilege to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,
ATLANTIC Hotel Kiel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Very good for a business trip, well alocated, in front of the Railway Station, close to the fjord.
Clean, big rooms and good staff.
Breakfast also good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenitoMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Huge rooms and the standard is high. Nice location. One disappointment, I ordered a pizza from the roomservice and got a frozen pizza from Dr Øtker, thats bad for this fantastic hotel. The cleaning was superb

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sinnvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

The service was very good and friendly, it is a very moder property with all services required perfect for a visit to Kiel for pleasure or business. The room are also very modern and have good internet connection and a nice view of the port. Breakfast was really good maybe they could improve the coffee as it tasted burned but other wise the resta of the food was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiel hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Birke
Hotel Birke
#2 of 37 in Kiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Steigenberger Conti-Hansa
0.1 mi away
IntercityHotel Kiel
IntercityHotel Kiel
#8 of 37 in Kiel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Hotel tom Kyle
2.2 mi away
Maritim Hotel Bellevue Kiel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Berliner Hof
Hotel Berliner Hof
#7 of 37 in Kiel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel

Property: Atlantic Hotel
Address: Raiffeisenstr. 2, 24103 Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Location: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Kiel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Kiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Atlantic Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ATLANTIC Hotel Kiel is the first address for your business or private trip to Kiel, right at the heart of the city centre. This superior hotel will transform your visit to Kiel into a veryspecial experience. The hotel has spacious, stylish furnished bedrooms, a restaurant with nordic and international cuisine, an excellent wine cellar and a roof lounge bar with open air lounge and a stunning view across the Kiel fjord. Eight modern and spacious function and conference rooms can be booked for events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing