We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveler rating
89
112
33
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
112
33
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old post office shopping street old building modern decor make your own the room was nice good size nice location comfortable rooms expensive hotel few steps clean hotel stay there again yogurt waterfront city reception
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 248 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2017

Very central located, 5-10 min walking distance to shopping, restaurants, the cosy harbour etc. Cheap and convenient parking in parking house across the street, €10 per day. Friendly and serviceminded front desk.

Booked a classic room for 2 nights, one night on “Take Offer” including dinner. Nice room, simple decor, a bit sterile, but light and “nordic”. Comfy beds. Clean all over. Room facing the busy street with views to the high eastern part of the city. Some traffic noise as window was kept open during night due to lack of aircon but not much traffic during night.

Large modern bathroom, not very functional due to lack of storage space. Some splashing on floor from shower. Had to manually activate floor heating as it was switched off. Corridors a bit gloomy. Lift a bit dirty and unpleasant.

The large, pleasant atrium is the covered inner yard of the old building, very successfully modernised. Excellent breakfast. Dinner was tasty and delicious but restaurant service confused and non-professional.

All in all a hotel with high ambitions but a little way yet.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eagle_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrin B, Stellv. Marketingleitung & Verkauf at Hotel Alte Post, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017
Google Translation

Sehr geehrte/r Frau/Herr " Eagle_dk",

schön, dass Sie unser Gast waren und sich anschließend die Zeit genommen haben uns zu bewerten und uns Ihre Eindrücke zu schildern.

Seien Sie versichert, dass wir Ihre Kritikpunkte bzgl. der mangelnden Ablagefläche im Badezimmer, der Sauberkeit im Fahrstuhl sowie der Servicequalität im Restaurant sehr ernst nehmen und entsprechende interne Gespräche führen werden. Diese von Ihnen genannten Kritikpunkte entsprechen nicht unseren Qualitätsstandards und Ihre Eindrücke, Kritik oder auch Lob helfen uns dabei, Defizite zu erkennen und zu beheben sowie vorhandenes Potential zu stärken!

Wir würden uns sehr freuen, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen, nicht zuletzt um Ihnen beweisen zu können, dass eine Qualitätssteigerung in unserem Hause möglich ist.

Mit besten Grüßen
Ihr Hotel Alte Post

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night and had a clean and comfortable room. It's right at the Citycenter next to the police station. If you airrive by car you have to find a parking space at a random place in the city.
The breakfast was something I'd would like to have everyday for the rest of my life.

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank KrestianTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2017

The hotel is located in a former post office, and has a nice design.The rooms are simple (even slippers are missing, so don't forget taking some with you), breakfast is rich and the prices decent.However the reception service is terrible, some of the employees are using an unapropiate tone of voice!

Room tip: Choose a room in an upper storey
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank teoca2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2017

We went on a prolonged weekend. One night as regular guest and second night as "deal.dk" guest. The service was the same and we could have the same room, which of course we liked. The rooms were nice and simple decorated, and as a Scandinavian this is appreciated compared to other German hotels further south with all shades of brown velvet in the hotel and rooms.
We had a quiet room overlooking the courtyard, we can imaging the rooms towards the street would be noisy.
There are kind of two restaurants in the hotel. There is the "real" restaurant, 1871 where we had OK burgers, and then there is the restaurant (in the same room) where we were served "the deal" dinner. The meal was simple, but not bad and you had to pay for dessert, hmmm...... Next morning breakfast was fine, all basic food was there,, but nothing extraordinaire.
The bar at the hotel was really good, and the bar/lounge area is very good.
The hotel is situated perfectly compared to the city and to the harbor area. We can recommend to take a stroll along Flensborg fjord, very nice area.
You can´t park in front of the hotel, and be prepared to be yelled at by a lady from the next door neighbor, the police station, if you try. You have to park just ½ block away, no trouble and the parking is 10€, found it OK. Ask for directions in the reception.

Room tip: Choose room towards the courtyard for quietness
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Britta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2017

First off the positives, the hotel is fine, quite scandinavian minimalist I like the conversion and reuse of the Old Post Office and finally, the location in central Flensburg is great.

The downsides are - No car parking, you have to pay 10 euros a day to specifically park in the Karstadt multi storey over the way and that's actually hard to work out how to get to. Second, the food is not good at all. Breakfast looks presentable but the hot food was cold and of the two mornings I stayed, the coffee machine was not functioning day 2. The dinner on night one consisted of rubbery chicken, 3 pieces of sweet potato and a cheapo maize corn on the cob straight from the freezer bag.

Finally, do not ever stay here with the deal.dk offer. The price on that offer implies that the rooms are about 1800kr a night full price and the dinner is 300kr. The dinner served is substandard, something not even on the standard menu and they try to push a wine option of 27 euros. You can easily find this hotel on the usual websites for about 800kr a night and then you have the option of the whole town to find somewhere nice to eat. (I like Hansens Braueri down the road).

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePinkTie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrin B, Stellv. Marketingleitung & Verkauf at Hotel Alte Post, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017
Google Translation

Sehr geehrte/r Frau/Herr „ThePinkTie “,

vielen Dank, dass Sie unser Gast waren und sich anschließend die Zeit genommen haben uns zu bewerten.

Wir bedauern, dass wir nicht in der Lage waren Ihnen einen rundum angenehmen Aufenthalt bei uns zu bereiten.

Das Hotel Alte Post verfügt auf Grund der zentralen Lage über keine hauseigenen Parkplätze. Wir kooperieren jedoch mit dem „Parkhaus Flensburg City Süderhofenden“, das sich nur 1 Min. Fußweg vom Hotel befindet. Diese Kooperation ermöglicht es uns, unseren Hausgästen Ausfahrttickets für 10 Euro anzubieten, unabhängig davon, wie lange diese ihr Auto im Parkhaus stehen lassen möchten. Wir weisen sowohl auf unserer Homepage als auch auf der Buchungsbestätigung auf die Parksituation hin und geben zudem die genaue Adresse des Parkhauses an. Darüber hinaus stehen auch unsere Mitarbeiter an der Rezeption gerne für Fragen bzgl. der Parksituation zur Verfügung und stehen jederzeit gerne mit Rat und Tat zur Seite.

Wir bedauern sehr, dass Ihnen unser Frühstücksbuffet und das Essen in unserem Restaurant „1871 - Grill & Buns“ nicht zugesagt hat. Ich kann Ihnen jedoch mitteilen, dass es in der Zwischenzeit einige Änderungen und Optimierungen im gastronomischen Bereich gegeben hat. Unsere Gäste können sich seit kurzem sowohl morgens als auch mittags und abends an unserem neuen Buffettresen im Atrium des Hotels bedienen und aus einer großen und abwechslungsreichen Auswahl an kalten und warmen Speisen wählen. Durch den neuen Tresen bleiben die verschiedenen Gerichte länger warm bzw. kalt und frisch.

Unsere Zimmerpreise variieren je nach Buchungslage und sind tagesaktuell. Der Preis für ein Komfort Doppelzimmer ohne Frühstück liegt zum Beispiel zwischen 135,00 Euro/Nacht und 195 Euro/Nacht.

Wir würden uns sehr freuen, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen, nicht zuletzt um Ihnen beweisen zu können, dass eine Qualitätssteigerung in unserem Hause möglich ist.

Gerne stehen wir Ihnen auch für ein persönliches Gespräch jederzeit zur Verfügung.

Mit besten Grüßen
Ihr Hotel Alte Post

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews