We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for the price, very good!!”
Review of Grenzmotel

Grenzmotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grenzmotel
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Flensburg
Kirkkonummi, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“for the price, very good!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

convenient, good value. I would love it even more if there had been a microwave in the room and wireless internet. But anyhow I would gladly spend another night there. Good bed and very peaceful.

the room was a bit chilly when I got there, I had to turn on the heaters myself... but no big complaint... NOTE that the television is the smallest I have ever seen!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtoKiiskinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
16
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Slagelse, Denmark
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed overnight on our way south. Prebooked by mail, quick response and very good information about the location, where to eat etc.. Late arrival, but no problems finding the room. Very clean, good bed and silent.
Bathroom was ok.
We didn't order breakfast but got it anyway as at "breakfast to go" basket to have in the room. We didn't regret that, actually very good for a quick breakfast before moving on.
Absolutely recommendable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

After having driven for 10 hours straight, we were looking for a cheap motel at the border. We found Grenzmotel after a fast search on Tripadvisor, entered the address on our GPS, and found it without any problems near the border shopping center in Harrislee.
The reception was closed (8 PM), but we were able to book and pay for a room on a machine that hang outside the reception door.

The room was simple, but clean, and everything worked as expected. The reception was still closed when we left the next day, so we just left the key in their mailbox.

Absolutely recommended if you are just looking for a cheap and simple stay near Flensburg.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Torlokken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed overnight here while passing through from Denmark. We chose the hotel because it was pet friendly and we were travelling with our dog.

We arrived very late (around 1am), but that was no problem as a sign was left at the reception when we arrived, indicating which room was ours. They key was handily left in the door to our room.

There is easy parking near almost every room, which made loading/unloading nice and easy.

The room was fairly spacious and very clean. The bed was comfortable, and there was a good shower. There was also a TV (which we didn't use) even a selection of wines and foods from a minibar.

We left fairly early again in the Morning and met the incredibly friendly owner, Michael, as we left.

It's a very simple motel, but definitely worth the money. We would stay there again, when passing through, with or without our dog.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanderlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Fairly cheap hotel. It is in no way fancy or spectacular, but it's there and quite frankly you don't need anything else, especially if you are only there for a single night and then off again.

Situated in Harrislee in between a couple of car dealers, a few production facilities and a single restaurant. The neighbourhood is definitely not something to get excited about, but it's quiet and close to the border shops (300 meters or so).

Upon arrival we found our room with the key in the door and a receipt on the small table. Great! There's a check-in machine as well, but we just went straight to the room, as we have arranged everything via e-mail with the owner. Meet him the next morning - A cheerful and happy guy and very pleasant to talk to as well. Asked us if everything was OK and wished us a safe trip.

The room was spotless with a roomy bathroom (with a shower). It had soft, but comfortable beds with a caramel on the pillow. There was no waste bin in the rooom(?), but I found one in the bathroom. There was a small table with some brochures and 2 chairs. A 14" TV in the corner. I've read that others found it to be rather small for the room, and they are absolutely right, it is WAY too small for the room and you can barely see what's going on when laying in the bed. I couldn't find anything on when you are suppose to check-out. We checked out at 11:30AM, but I guess you can make arrangements with the owner. Besides the TV the only downside to this room was a noisy fan. It wasn't so loud that it became an issue, but they should do something about it and they probably will, as I expect it to be an easy solved problem. We asked for breakfast (you should order it via mail before checking in), but there wasn't guests enough for them to set it up, so we had some breakfast in one of the border shops and it was OK. All in all an experience just as expected, but since this was one of the cheaper hotels/motels in the area I'll rate it with 4 stars.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fairly quiet and from what we could see they all looked the same. There are 3 buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndersRiedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
168 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We actually didn't speak to anyone from the motel during our stay. They had prepared our room and left us a message at the reception, and there was no one there again when we left in the morning.

The room (in a bungalow-type building) was simple and clean.

Considering the simpleness of the room, the location (which is great as it's not far from the highway, but it's in the middle of nowhere) and the fact that breakfast was not included, it was maybe a bit pricey.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heodeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanton, Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

This motel is a nice chance to get away from all the hustle and bustle of the city. I was visiting from the USA and was so pleased to see the "country" side of Germany. The motel room included every utility you need when traveling. The stool and shower are in the same room (not all bathrooms are like this in Europe). My only suggestion is if visiting Europe for the first time to take a handfull of washcloths. Most rented rooms in Europe only carry towels. This is a very clean, efficient, nice priced room that is great for students traveling, couples on a weekend getaway, or a family looking for some fresh air. I recommend Grenz!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetbcharmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flensburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Des Nordens
3.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Flensburg City
Ibis Budget Flensburg City
#8 of 26 in Flensburg
424 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arcadia Hotel Flensburg
Arcadia Hotel Flensburg
#6 of 26 in Flensburg
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#1 of 26 in Flensburg
175 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Fruerlund
Hotel Fruerlund
#14 of 26 in Flensburg
33 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel am Wasserturm
Hotel am Wasserturm
#17 of 26 in Flensburg
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grenzmotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grenzmotel

Property: Grenzmotel
Address: Am Oxer 19 | Harrislee, 24955 Flensburg, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Location: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Flensburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Flensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grenzmotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Grenzmotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing