We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ringhotel Schwarzer Baer
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Wittenberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2006

We really enjoyed staying at the Schwarzer Baer during our January trip to Wittenberg! First, the one bad thing - no elevator, so getting to our room involved 4 flights of stairs. Other than that we have no complaints. The location is right on the Schlossstrasse, only a few steps from the Schlosskirche (where Luther is buried), the Rathaus, and Luther's Church. Lutherhaus and Melanchthonhaus are about a kilometer away - a great walk in the summer, but we admit to taking a taxi due to the cold! The rooms are spacious by European standards, and the bathrooms excellent. The beds are very comfortable. Our room was right on the street - I can see where this might be a problem during tourist season, what with street noise. Most of the rooms however do not have windows that open onto the front street. The breakfast was wonderful - typically German with outstanding bread, cheese, and cold meats, but there were also some blood sausages and liverwurst (corn flakes available for the faint of heart!) Right below the hotel is the Kartoffelhaus Restaurant, which is a must. There I had the most incredible potato blinis and caviar ever! There isn't a 24 hour desk, but again we didn't find this a problem. Right across the street is the Cafe San Marco, which has great coffee and hot chocolate - especially important if you are crazy enough to travel to Germany in the winter. The Schwarzer Baer was a great experience, and we recommend it.

9  Thank Revlisag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bronzedrachen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Serge-Olivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zum Hof hinaus war das Zimmer sehr warm und etwas laut, da dort wohl die Küche lag.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stahli15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Beste Aussicht vorne, aber tagsüber und am frühen Morgen lauf (Straßen- bzw. Bachreinigung)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thilopum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed May 15, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wittenberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Brauhaus Wittenberg
Brauhaus Wittenberg
#3 of 13 in Wittenberg
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alte Canzley
Hotel Alte Canzley
#4 of 13 in Wittenberg
55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Stadtpalais Wittenberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luther-Hotel Wittenberg
Luther-Hotel Wittenberg
#1 of 13 in Wittenberg
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Am Schwanenteich
Am Schwanenteich
#6 of 13 in Wittenberg
51 reviews
0.6 mi away
Acron-Hotel
Acron-Hotel
#11 of 13 in Wittenberg
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringhotel Schwarzer Baer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringhotel Schwarzer Baer

Address: Schlossstrasse 2, 06886 Wittenberg, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony-Anhalt > Wittenberg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Wittenberg
Price Range: $84 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ringhotel Schwarzer Baer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ringhotel Schwarzer Baer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing