We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dorint Charlottenhof Halle Saale
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Halle (Saale)
Certificate of Excellence
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very nice, centrally located”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

In staying in several small hotels across Germany on one trip, this was probably my favorite. It is located a block off the central mall area, and there is a cineplex right across the street. The rooms are large with great full size street-side doors that tilt in from the top. The breakfast/dinner buffet was fairly nice with a nice assortment of dishes. If there is ice cream available, try it, it is delicious. The only issue for our room was that there is a Mexican restaurant bar adjoining, which was directly below our room. Since the streets are narrow and there are buildings across the street, this made for some fairly loud noise, but only until 10:00pm or so. On the Friday night of our stay, there were fireworks from the roof, although I don't know the reason and I forgot to ask.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfitworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorhal, Geschäftsführer at Dorint Charlottenhof Halle Saale, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear bfitworld,
We thank you a lot for your praise and your recommendation.
It would be a pleasure to us if we could welcome you again here.
Yours sincerelly,
Dr. Bertram Thieme
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    86
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
36
16
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

When I stayed in this hotel it was full due to a function in the city. Perhaps under this strain a few cracks appeared.

The rooms are fine, great size. Normal German problem though - single beds pushed together, single duvets, pillows which offer no support.
Breakfast is a wonderful spread. Dinner there too was top notch. One night I particularly enjoyed a fillet steak. The roof whirlpool is great too, I was especially lucky to have it to myself while snow fell.

My room had no kettle, the hotel had run out. Neither were more study pillows available.

Be aware of two things if staying in this hotel,
1. Wifi is not free anywhere in the building. I purchased a 24 hour pass as I had work to do, but in the room the signal was very weak unless standing by the door. Perhaps another floor is better, I stayed the 2nd.

2. The 4th floor is half smoking. So while you might request a non smoking room, if it is on the 4th floor you cannot escape the odour.

Otherwise the hotel is perfectly fine.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrekker12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trnava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

High quality hotel. Its pretty expensive for such a kind of city for the first look, but i think the prices correspond with the level of hotel services. The hotel has its own parking garage, the stuff is very helpful, everything worked well. Its good hotel for bussiness purposes. The bar is very expensive too, but you will get really good beer :) What makes really difference, its the breakfast. Big variety, total quality! Its exclusive and rare indeed. Incomparable with hotels in big, well known cities. I really recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ondrej_Kascak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The hotel itself is a standard 4 star rated Dorint, nothing to get excited about.

However the bar bill for 1 drink was exorbitant, never again will I visit this place...
Check out the photo attached, this is double or even triple the cost of the same drinks in any other bar in Halle

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DimaEastGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
333 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

A very enjoyable stay at this well managed hotel. The receoptionists were very efficient, friendly and willing to assist with enquiries. The room was good and well furnished. Cleanliness good although some maintenance was needed in the bathroom. Dinner in the main restaurant was superb - one of the best steaks I have had for a long time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalonia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

It has been our first stay in a hotel of the Dorint franchise so we were not sure about what was the standard to expect. We feel that we have received what we have paid for: the room was a bit bigger, the breakfast a bit better… but then the price has been also a bit more expensive too. There were plenty of guests at the hotel, but nevertheless it was remarkably quiet.

The number of guests did show at the time of arrival, when we were told to leave our car on the underground car park, only to discover that the 30 or so parking spaces were all occupied. We still wonder why a modern hotel like this had a car park so small, and why the staff doesn’t have a way to check if there is any space left or not before asking a client to drive down.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jules_et_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

This quiet and modern hotel can be considered as a marvellous business hotel by its situation right in the city center of Halle very close to the railwaystation and at short distance from the Leipzig-Halle international airport.
Very friendly staff - great breakfast - very clean - all facilities like f. ex. the Spa - very quite location
unfortunately Internet wireless does not work in the rooms, which for this kind of hotel - a real business hotel - is very bad

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kunstliebhaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halle (Saale) hotels
Nördliche Innenstadt
Dormero Hotel Rotes Ross
Dormero Hotel Rotes Ross
#3 of 19 in Halle (Saale)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
TRYP by Wyndham Halle
#1 of 19 in Halle (Saale)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
City Hotel am Wasserturm
#5 of 19 in Halle (Saale)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
H+ Hotel Leipzig-Halle
#4 of 19 in Halle (Saale)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Nördliche Innenstadt
Ankerhof Hotel
Ankerhof Hotel
#6 of 19 in Halle (Saale)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Apart Hotel Halle
#10 of 19 in Halle (Saale)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Charlottenhof Halle Saale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Charlottenhof Halle Saale

Property: Dorint Charlottenhof Halle Saale
Address: Dorotheenstr. 12, 06108 Halle (Saale), Saxony-Anhalt, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony-Anhalt > Halle (Saale) > Nördliche Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Halle (Saale)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorint Charlottenhof Halle Saale 4.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Dorint Charlottenhof Halle Saale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing